Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

£6.99

4.4 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (25 reviews)

Product number: 72470

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 25

    Sign in and write a review
    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    4

    "Good quality"
    Mrs Hassall

    07 August 2020

    I bought this jar for making milk kefir.I previously used a jar with a muslin held in place by a rubber band. this jar looks rather more attractive on the working surface and keeps it sealed. The only minus is that the shape of the jar where the top screws on makes it slightly difficult to empty the jar properly.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "love it"
    Wendy

    30 July 2020

    This review is for an older version of this product

    I have used this jar for making kefir, sauerkraut and kimchi. Each batch has been very successful. I am going to buy 2 more because it makes it much easier than using muslin cloth and elastic bands. I am going to get the larger one for kombucha

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Excellent"
    Jacqueline Whiteside

    29 July 2020

    Fabulous containers and a fraction of the cost at other retailers

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Very pleased"
    Mr Masters

    23 June 2020

    This product is well made and is easy to use. I found it easier to squash the contents in with the end of a rolling pin instead of using a weight as suggested. Not sure if the recommended method would compress the contents enough.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    4

    "Wonderful design except ..."
    Curzon Tussaud

    01 April 2020

    Very pleased with jar except for a major error; I have a wonderful collection of odd ramekins here and not one will pass down through the neck of the jar to weight the kimchi down. That lost you 1 star.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. The opening of the jar is 8cm wide - hope you find something to suit. I can recommend our Pickle Pebbles - https://www.lakeland.co.uk/72690/Masontops-Pickle-Pebble-Fermentation-Weights-4-Pack

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Stylish and neat"
    Mrs Melville

    23 February 2020

    Brilliant for fermenting. Having the vents is so helpful as I used to forget to release the top on my containers and I now don’t have to worry.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Lakeland Fermentation Jar With Air-Release Valve 1L"
    Mrs Alexander

    10 February 2020

    Ideal for home pickling with the air-release valve for added safety.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    4

    "I've made kimchi and sauerkraut"

    30 January 2020

    I've made cumin flavoured sauerkraut in these, and kimchi. Easy to use. But remember not to put them in the dishwasher.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    1

    "Disappointed"
    Mrs Crosby

    28 January 2020

    Bought this yesterday . Comes with a leaflet insert which tells you to weigh down the cabbage with a ramekin filled with baking beans. Well I have both but none of my ramekins fit the jar so I used a tin wrapped in a plastic bag. Just not working as the tin is narrower than the cabbage surface area. Looked on website and saw that you sell glass discs at double the price of the jar and do they even fit?. No mention of this on site and not shown as frequently bought together.Save your money and buy a proper kit.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear this hasn't been suitable for you and your feedback has been passed to the buying team.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Perfect jar for fermenting vegetables"
    Mrs Marshall

    16 January 2020

    Kind bought this jar for fermenting my own sauerkraut and other vegetables. The size is perfect and great shape. Has a valve for releasing air. Another great product from Lakeland.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Ideal"
    Mrs Lightfoot

    20 November 2019

    Easy to use and looks great.vent works well and is reassuring when fermenting.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Excellent and easy to use"
    Mrs Fijalkowska

    09 October 2019

    These fantastic jars make fermentation so easy - they are simple to set up and easy to clean, and have given great results.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    4

    "Great jar"
    Mr johnson

    08 February 2019

    I use for my soughdough starter it’s great

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "I'm new to fermenting..."
    Mr Wicks

    25 January 2019

    … but this product makes it easy. I'm on my second batch of sauerkraut; the first was just cabbage and I enjoyed it; for this one though I'm adding a couple of bay leaves to see if they add flavour. I reserve a couple of outer leaves of the cabbage then lay them on top of the shredded cabbage and weight it down with some beach pebbles wrapped in cling film because my ramekins don't fit the jar either. It works for me. Have a look at their blog https://www.blog.lakeland.co.uk/fermenting/

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    3

    "How big is your ramekin?"
    Mr Haines

    05 January 2019

    The instructions for the 1 litre jar advise that one should use a ramekin to hold down the vegetables but all the ramekins I have are too big to fit through the neck of the jar. It's not a huge problem but you should change your advice. (I'm still waiting for my kraut to become sauer so can't comment further).

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review and I'll be sure to pass your comments about the instructions on to our Buyers. I hope you find the kraut delicious!

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Versatile"
    Rachel

    04 January 2019

    I use this jar to make fermented carrot and ginger or kimchi, using old glass marbles (clean of course) to keep the fermenting veg in place. My husband has now pinched it to successfully make kefir! I'll have to get another one,

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Great for Kefir"
    Ms Cottee

    18 December 2018

    I have three of these jars one being the larger 1.4lt and 2 x 2lt all look sleek and cool. The big size is great for 1 litre of milk to make kefir as it leaves enough headspace for the fermentation. The smaller ones are ok for 750mls each. The jars and tops have been through the dishwasher without damage, although I remove the rubber gasket inside and wash those separately. To make really creamy thick kefir I use the semi-skimmed sterilised milk from leading supermarkets.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "Amazing product"
    Mrs Gearing

    23 October 2018

    We have made sauerkraut before using the traditional German pot, it was lovely sauerkraut but way too much to eat, unless you were going to have it with every meal. This jar is not only the ideal size but so much easier. I have so far made kimchi - recipe included in the jar and beetroot and cabbage sauerkraut from a recipe I got on the internet, both were incredibly simple to make and with these jars you put in the ingredients and wait, that's it so simple and so delicious.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "They work a treat"
    Neil Chantrell

    21 October 2018

    They do just what they are supposed to do, easy to clean and stable on the work surfaces. I have some fabulous chilli sauces.

    Lakeland Fermentation Jar with Air-Release Valve 1L

    5

    "My fermentation jar"
    Miss Lindo

    06 May 2018

    This goes with my fermentation book and I am beyond happy with this jar. It is beautiful to look at and the glass it is made from gives it it's joire de vive (do not speak French) but I am sure you will understand my joy. Thank you again Lakeland.

Back to product page