Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

£12.99

3.9 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (12 reviews)

Product number: 72423

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 12 of 12

    Sign in and write a review
    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    5

    "Perfect size"
    lisa hartshorn

    26 May 2019

    This tin is perfect, bakes evenly and washers easily. Can not recommend enough.

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    5

    "Perfect size."

    11 May 2019

    Only used it once for the first time yesterday. I made a Mr Happy cake. It made my family smile. Easy to use and the cake came out easily.

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    5

    "Did the job!"
    Mrs Griffiths

    11 April 2019

    I was asked for a Death Star cake, I used this tin twice to create a sphere, it worked perfectly and slid out oif the tin easily.

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    3

    "A little disappointed"
    Mrs Pearson

    08 March 2019

    I bought this tin to make an LOL cake I wished I had read th3 reviews as I followed the 4 egg mixture advice on th3 packaging and it simply want enough. On the plus side I didn’t have any trouble releasing the cake. I’ve given 3 stars hopefully with more use that will increase

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. Due to the shape of the pan it may be beneficial to reduce the cooking temperature of your oven by 20-25C to ensure the cake bakes evenly.

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    4

    "All three shere tins"
    Mrs Turvill

    23 February 2019

    I ordered all three sizes to make a BB8 robot cake. These tins were ideal and I successfully made my cake. I certainly will be using them for many more projects. My only criticism was when making the largest cake it was difficult to estimate the cooking time and it took far longer than I expected.

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    5

    "ELSA cake"
    Mrs ALISON HIGSON

    10 October 2018

    Used this along with the medium to create the shape for an Elsa cake for the dress...

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    5

    "Love these pans!"
    Stephanie

    29 March 2018

    I have these pans in all the sizes and love them all! Initially, I had issues with the cake sticking to them but this was resolved by placing strips of greaseproof paper in a cross shape across the pan. If you make these longer than you need, you have handy little tabs to help ease out the cake! You will have issues with baking your cakes in these, as obviously the middle is deeper than the sides. I bake on 160C for these pans and once the top has firmed up a bit, I place a circle of greaseproof on top. This allows the cake to continue cooking as normal, but prevents the top from burning :)

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    2

    "Doesn't cook well!"
    Holly

    24 February 2018

    I too was dubious about buying this after reading the reviews and know why! I followed the unicorn cake recipe to a t and after 1 hour in the oven it was nowhere near being cooked in the middle. I kept adding 5 minutes to the time and then eventually covered in tinfoil and added another half and hour. In total it took 2 hours to cook. I still don't know if it has worked as this is for a friends birthday cake on Saturday. Fingers crossed!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review on the Lakeland Large Hemisphere Cake Tin. Oven Times will vary and I'm sure the finished unicorn cake will be a great success. We'll be in touch with you shortly to help.

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    2

    "Disappointing Instructions"
    Mrs Tonks

    06 February 2018

    I recently bought this pan to make my son’s birthday cake. Following the instructions on the packaging I used a 4 egg cake mix of my usual fail-safe recipe (8 egg cake mix total for 2 cakes), but this didn’t give a very risen result. I then noticed on Lakeland’s website a recipe for a unicorn cake using the same pan which advises a larger cake mix. Can Lakeland please sort out this conflicting information.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Sorry the 8 egg mix didn't rise enough. We see the unicorn recipe is for 11 eggs. It depends on the rest of the ingredients in the recipe and the size of the eggs. For a simple sponge mix weigh your eggs in their shells and use the same weight for each of the other ingredients - butter, self raising flour and caster sugar.

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    5

    "No problem"

    16 October 2017

    Having read the previous review I ordered this tin with trepidation, but being spurred on with the picture of my 6 year olds face when she saw the finished ‘Lakeland’ unicorn cake I went ahead anyway. I used a 4 egg Victoria sponge recipe, baked it 155 degrees C , after 40 mins covered the top with a circle of baking parchment and then gave the cake another 20-25 mins cooking time. The cake was perfect. Now, I’m pretty useless at baking, nor am I a trained cake decorator, so if I can do it, anyone can. The tin is great (just make sure you grease and flour it well).

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    5

    "very pleased with this tin"
    Lesley

    16 October 2017

    Baked a cake in it for the first time yesterday and was very pleased with the result. I am making the unicorn cake so followed the recipe given there with a couple of changes. I substituted 60g of cocoa powder for flour to make it chocolate. I weighed the eggs in to the mix adding just 300g and I cooked at 160c in a fan assisted oven for 1 hour, tested (not done), then cooked for a further 30 mins testing at 10 minute increments and it came out perfect at first attempt. I also used Wilton bake easy cake release spray rather than greasing and the cake slid out no problems thanks Lakeland

    Large Hemisphere Cake Pan

    1

    "Large hemisphere tin"
    Mrs MaryJane Mann

    04 October 2017

    I bought this tin to make the unicorn cake for my granddaughters 2nd birthday. I can honestly say it's the worst tin I have ever bought. I have made lots of cakes during the years(trained cake decorator) and I have never had so much trouble baking a cake as I did In these tins. First one came out raw in middle so I baked the second one lower temperature and for longer. This was no better. In fact I baked 4 in the end and wasted so many ingredients that it cost me a small fortune. Soooo disappointed and a waste of a lot of money. Sorry Lakeland but you let me down this time.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon.

Back to product page