Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

4.9 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (11 reviews)

Product number: 71886

The Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 11 of 11

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Good for Me"
    Mrs Emery

    03 March 2018

    I'm new to Indian cooking and so far this has been good for me, but I know nothing about Indian cooking so I have nothing to compare it too, I'm very happy with the results though.

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    4

    "Misprint in the book"
    Mrs Wetherall

    16 September 2017

    I was very exited when I bought the book and cooked successfully a couple of dishes. Then I wanted to make some Cumin Rice on page 45. When I started to follow the Method I realized that something was wrong as it included totally different ingredients. I found that the Method was exactly the same as on page 44 which was for Mango,Coconut and Ginger Rice. I did contact Lakeland and they very kindly sent me the Method of preparation of Cumin Rice from Anjula Devis other book and offered to change my book but I am sure that this is not only my book but the whole batch of this edition.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're glad we were able to put this right for you. It doesn't look like anyone else has found the same, but the method is as follows: Melt the butter in a large pan, add the key spices and warming spices, and allow to sizzle for just 30 seconds. Add the onions and fry for 5 minutes, and then add the garlic and fry for 5 minutes, stirring continuously. Add the rice to the pan, stir well and pour over the 400 ml of hot water (or enough to cover the rice and leave an extra 2 cm of water above the rice). Bring to the boil, and immediately reduce to a simmer. Cover with a tight-fitting lid, and simmer until the grains are tender and the water has evaporated, usually this takes 5-7 minutes. Fluff the grains up with a fork before serving.

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Food So Good"
    Miss Russell

    02 January 2017

    I have had the privilege of eating food cooked by Anjula on a couple of occasions. The food was excellent, so to get the chance to prepare dishes created by Anjula, this book is a must! Easy to follow recipes and a nice variety of dishes to try. I recommend this book to anyone wanting to try authentic Indian food that is tasty too.

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Excellent Christmas present!"
    Carol Heathcote

    05 December 2016

    This was purchased as an extra Christmas present to introduce Indian cooking to someone who loves Indian takeaway meals. I was encouraged by the good reviews and feel sure that the recipes will be easy to follow. The fact that the book is spiral bound and stays fully open is an added bonus - it's a design that should be incorporated into all recipe books.

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Indian Cooking"
    Mr Booth

    24 November 2016

    Purchased this book about 6 weeks ago and have to say its really easy to follow. It explains when to add certain spices during the cooking at different times to give you the best flavour. And WOW is it good, can not believe the results i'm getting. I've made the Masala base, Chicken curry and the Samosas all have been successful. Highly recommended Mr D.Booth

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Fabulous authentic yet easy recipes"
    Kirsten Huesch

    21 November 2016

    I love this book! Clear instructions and fabulous recipes suitable for beginners to "seasoned" cooks together with mouthwatering pictures, this little gem really does bring authentic Indian food right into your own kitchen. The masala recipe is so useful and with a great range of recipes, I am sure there is something for everyone in this book. It makes a great present or stocking filler! Definitely 5 stars from me!

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Amazing and perfected!"
    Mr Chauhan

    15 November 2016

    I bought myself the book thinking I could learn and master some of my favourite dishes Anjula covered. All I can really say is she made it so easy to follow, make and try. The food was very tasted and was exactly what I expected. I loved the book so much that I even bought my mother a copy of the book. She loved the recipes and food too. Trust me, she knows her food! The Egg Curry, Lamb Dhansak and Burnt Aubergine and Tomato Curry being our favourite choices from the whole range on offer! Really worth buying the book!!

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Tantalising Tastebuds and A Must Have For Every Kitchen"
    Miss sahota

    26 October 2016

    This book is packed with real spice. An easy step by step guide for everybody from the beginner to the everyday cook. The dishes are packed with real punch and you can tell these have been created with true passion. I have cooked much Indian cuisine and up until now have found books too complex and the dishes not living up to expectations. My friends have also enjoyed using this book. Indian cooking made so easy that even the youngest of aspiring chefs can create these dishes. I am happily cooking my ways through the dishes and enjoying the aroma whilst doing so. A true gem of a creation!

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "A real little gem."
    Mrs Victor

    21 October 2016

    I have been trying to master the skill of cooking authentic indian food all my life & finally I feel Anjula has helped me on my way! The recipes are easy to follow & the results are outstanding, such layers of flavour. The taste of the “Quick and Easy Tarka Daal” is truly sensational, elevating such humble ingredients to the sublime takes such skill. Full of great tips to make it easier to cook indian food every day. I have cooked 10 of the recipes & they are all so beautifully balanced. I can not recommend this book to highly, a real little gem that every cook should have on their book shelf.

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Wow - amazing recipes"
    Mr Jones

    19 October 2016

    I've cooked a few things now, but I knew it was special when my 18month old son inhaled the Chicken Curry!

    Authentic Indian Food by Anjula Devi

    5

    "Good introduction to Indian Cooking"
    Mr Wood

    13 October 2016

    Written by an author who runs a cookery school, this is very much a "how to" book with a variety of recipes. There is a good section on spices and their impact in the dish plus a link to a video showing how to create a basic masala sauce and what each stage of the process looks like. I've tried several of the recipes and all gave good results. In summary a great book to learn the basics of Indian cooking but also useful to competent cooks as Anjula introduces a staged approach to adding spices which I find works very well.

Back to product page