Mad Millie Kefir Kit

£9.99

3.6 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (18 reviews)

Product number: 71791

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 18 of 18

    Sign in and write a review
    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "Kefir kit"
    Marion Elliott

    11 August 2020

    This review is for an older version of this product

    Brilliant little kit to get you started and give you confidence. Not quite as tasty as the supermarket but an awful lot cheaper. You can reuse time and time again. One little tip use full fat milk if you want your kafir thick. I used half water and half semi skimmed milk first time trying to reduce the calories, but it just wasn’t tasty. So it’s worth the extra calories for the taste and thickness I just don’t have quite as much

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "lovely kefir"
    Wendy

    30 July 2020

    This made tasty kefir and refermented 3 times. The kefir was great on it's own or in smoothies. Very easy to make

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "Kefir kit"
    Mrs Baptista

    05 June 2020

    Great product, made several batches of drink kefir and also cheese kefir. I will buy the refills !

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    3

    "The culture is the best part of the kit"
    Alison Anderson

    19 December 2019

    The freeze-dried culture makes great kefir. I've used soya, oat and coconut milk successfully so far. I do warm the milk slightly first and then put the jar in my airing cupboard. It still takes around 2 days rather than the 24 hours suggested. I'm not so keen on the rest of the 'kit'. For a repeat batch, the jar isn't big enough to hold 1litre of milk plus the 68g starter. Also the lid doesn't fit that well and when you shake the kefir it tends to fizz out. I'll probably give up on the jar and use a Lakeland fermentation jar instead. These have much better fitting tops.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    1

    "Didn’t work for me"
    Dr Grier

    05 June 2019

    I followed all the instructions precisely, but after 2 days there was absolutely no change in consistency. I then transferred to the fridge where it still remains as I’m not sure what to do with it! I’m so disappointed it hasn’t worked as I’m keen to find a probiotic to add to my diet.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Many thanks for your feedback. We're sorry this didn't work well for you and we're glad our customer services colleague was able to put things right for you. Using whole milk can make the consistency thicker.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "Super easy to do"
    Miss Gradidge

    18 March 2019

    I'm in love with this it tastes so good and was super easy to make. I am now on my 7th batch from my first sachet of culture. As long as you always leave around 62g you can always make more. I gave the other sachet of the culture to my mum so she is now mad about it to.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    1

    "Not impressed"
    Prue

    18 January 2019

    I bought this kit a few months back along with your electric yogurt maker. A couple of days ago I thought I'd give it a go. I followed the instructions to the letter and the consistency has not changed at all. A pity because it's not a cheap kit and now I've wasted a litre of milk which as it's been sitting in my kitchen for 2 days I shan't be drinking. I'll stick to my electric yogurt maker which does work.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear this didn't work correctly and for any disappointment this caused. We've been in touch to offer a full refund.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    4

    "Useful kit"
    Mrs Freddi

    27 December 2018

    This makes it easy to make kefir. The jar and shaker are clever for keeping it. The only problem is that it is very hard to pour once shaken! It dribbles everywhere. A spout would help but I don’t know how you could seal this!

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "Mad Millie Kefir Kit"
    Mrs Fairbank

    14 November 2018

    In conjunction with the book this was very helpful as the dried grains helped me get started.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    1

    "Insufficient detail on allergens"

    18 May 2018

    I bought this for making water kefir as I’m very dairy intolerant. There was no indication, until I opened the jar and looked at the packets of culture, that they contain dairy. I cannot now use it and face paying a lot more money for water kefir grains. It should be clear before purchase that this contains dairy.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're very sorry to hear this and we'll be in touch shortly to get this sorted to your satisfaction, and we very much appreciate your feedback and all reviews are passed on to our buying team.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    1

    "not terribly impressed"
    Mrs carter

    09 February 2018

    1st batch [made with coconut/almond milk] - after 72 hours the taste changed slightly but the consistency did'nt. 2nd batch [made with cow's whole milk] - after 72 hours neither the taste nor the consistency has changed at all. Its sitting on my kitchen bench looking and tasting exactly as it did 3 days ago! Very disappointed, have now ordered kefir grains from Ebay, going to culture my own I certainly wouldn't recommend this product

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you've had disappointing results from this kit.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "Kefir made easy!"
    Mrs Durant

    07 February 2018

    I love this kit as making kefir is very easy. Kefir tastes great and my digestive system has surely appreciated it. Great product.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "Never heard of this before ..."
    Georgina Sillett

    05 February 2018

    and haven't tried it yet, but something to look forward to doing. Looks fun and healthy too.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "Excellent."
    Imogen Howson

    04 September 2017

    I'm very happy with this. The instructions are clear and helpful, the jar is a good size and quality, and I appreciate the foolproof nature of the starter sachets. I found that plain kefir is too sour-tasting for me to drink it by itself, but it's delicious mixed with maple syrup or honey.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    1

    "Cheap for good reason"
    Mrs Colman

    30 July 2017

    Being new to Kefir making I wanted a product that was inexpensive if my attempts proved unsuccessful. While the product did produce fair results, I have since discovered through further research that Kefir grains do not respond well to metal. The coil in this kit is metal, as is the jar lid. I would have expected the manufacturer to be aware of this important detail. The instructions which come with the Mad Millie kit are basic, more comprehensive information can easily be found through an internet search. I would avoid this purchase and buy a fermenting jar and Kefir grains separately.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your feedback. We've spoken to our suppliers regarding the metal parts of this product, they've advised they're grade 304 stainless steel, which is inert and perfectly safe for use in Kefir. It's widely used in the dairy industry. They've also added a cautionary note to say:reactive metals such as iron, copper, zinc and aluminium should be avoided.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    4

    "So Easy & Tasty"
    Mrs Anscombe-Ho

    26 February 2017

    A clever kit, that is great for a beginner's introduction into the world of kefir making. Tastes just like the shop bought products. The kit comes with two sachets of cultures, a glass jar with lid, a metal wire ball, cheesecloth and instructions. Customer services were fabulous when I'd informed them one of the sachets of cultures was empty. A great purchase and would not hesitate to recommend.

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    4

    "Easy to use"
    Mrs Robinson

    13 February 2017

    Found the Kefir maker very easy to use. Although I had to put it in the airing cupboard as the kitchen was not warm enough. Just worried that as the glass jar is plain my husband will put in the recycling bin. Also the glass jar will not fit on the fridge shelf (fridge door currently full).

    Mad Millie Kefir Kit

    5

    "Mad Millie Kefir Kit"
    Maureen Sanders

    18 July 2016

    I was thrilled to find the Mad Millie Kafir Kit – in Lakeland. I had been told of Kefir’s benefits by my daughter, but her results (with grains) tasted foul! Yours was so much better and easier. I love it and have tried several ways to use it, my favourite is a glass with added honey and fruit puree, blended well - currently, soaked and stewed apricots, prunes and cranberries. It is delicious. Shall use it in scones soon - but will this kill the good bacteria? One unexpected benefit - it is so filling that I have no desire to eat between meals! I hope the refills will be readily available.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the feedback and taking the time to speak to me. You can substitute milk or buttermilk with the milk kefir when baking scones etc. The spare cultures are available, ref 71846.

Back to product page