Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

3.2 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (19 reviews)

Product number: 70869

The Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 19 of 19

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "Really useful - better than the smaller set"
    Mrs Warner

    20 November 2019

    With cake release the cakes turn out with no problem and the tins can just wipe clean. I have found cooking 6 layers out of a 4 egg sponge mix gives me the best proportions and allows me to include a full rainbow of colours. So I fit all 4 tins in the oven at once, when they come out I wipe out two of the tins and refill them. Given that they only take about 10mins to cook because they are so thin this is no hardship. In contrast when I baked 6 smaller and deeper cakes with the set of 5 smaller tins my cake was like the leaning tower of Pisa so I had to split it into 2x 3-layer ombre cakes!!

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "Recipe makes too much"
    Mr Jannoo

    25 May 2019

    I bought this cake pan set to make a multi-coloured layer cake and used the recipe linked from the product page. The recipe made far too much batter meaning that it billowed over the edge of the pan and dripped down to the oven floor as it cooked and the cakes themselves look terrible. Thankfully this is the first trial run of the recipe rather than the final celebration cake. Reducing the recipe by a quarter (to 6 eggs and 330g each of butter, flour, sugar) would probably make it about right. On the plus side, the pans themselves are good quality and the cakes have released easily from them.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    3

    "Wilton easy layer pan set"
    Mrs Whittall

    22 May 2019

    I found them not deep enough I like my cakes layers thicker.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "Very Pleased"
    Mrs St John

    03 February 2019

    Used to make a chocolate orange mousse filled cake. Really happy with this set, easy to handle and clean too

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "Best pans"
    Mrs Dixon

    22 January 2019

    I bought these for Christmas, for my baking mad husband. He'd often said he'd like to try a multi layer cake and these pans were the ideal thing. They've been used twice and each time have produced lovely cakes. Cleaning up is a doddle, nothing sticks. In all, great value for money.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    1

    "waste of money"
    Mr Flynn

    20 November 2018

    was really looking forward for making rainbow cake, tried 2 bakes both a complete disaster nothing like the picture. Cake both times came out like to shallow. wished I had read the reviews first

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear the cake tins aren't suitable. Our store colleagues will be happy to put things right for you. Please do take along your receipt or bank/card statement.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    1

    "Worst buy"
    Mrs ORCHARD

    23 February 2018

    I should have read the reviews before buying, as they are not deep enough and the image on the box does not match how deep the cakes would be. Not only a waste of money for the tins, I wasted cake mixture as well. I love Lakeland goods, so very disappointed by these tins.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry the depth of the cake pans caused disappointment and we trust you've been able to find a suitable alternative.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "Useful set for creative baking"

    02 December 2017

    Bakes evenly, easy release and washes out easily. Useful for party cakes.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "Making life easy"

    03 November 2017

    Excellent tins, easy release and takes the hassle out of a multi coloured cake.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    1

    "Misleading product"
    Ms Parker

    25 August 2017

    The cake pans are far too shallow. I made a four layer cake to only be disappointed that the outcome was nothing like the pictures shown on the packaging. Will not use these again. Waste of money and time.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment and we'll be in touch soon, to help.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    1

    "Disappointing"
    Ms Kay

    18 October 2016

    Bought these set of tins aiming to make layer cakes but found them too shallow, disappointing as I bought them to do baking with my 5 year old daughter. Waste of money.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to give your comments on the tins, I'm sorry that you'd felt they were too shallow. I'll be in touch shortly.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    1

    "Too shallow!"
    Mrs Mellars

    04 October 2016

    Bought these tins and the Wilton food colouring as I was keen to make some multi coloured sponges. I am extremely disappointed in them as they are far too shallow. My usual cake mix was nowhere near enough and when I doubled the mixture it was too much and spilled over the edges on baking needing lots of trimming. I have also had difficulty in removing the sponges from the pans. I note that the smaller set of pans are deeper, so why make these so shallow?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry this layered pan set isn't suitable for your baking needs. We do have a range of different sizes that maybe more suitable. Please return this to your local Lakeland Store and our colleagues will be happy to help. Don't forget to take your receipt as proof of purchase.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    1

    "Far too shallow"

    07 September 2016

    The sponges are far too thin and don't come out when baked very disappointed, why the others are 1/2cm deeper is beyond me, maybe this will make a difference?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear of your experience and we'll be in touch to help.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    2

    "ok but waste of money"

    22 August 2016

    The pans are very shallow, despite the instructions saying one mix is enough I found it inadequate and needed to double up the mix quantity. The non stick is good and the pans themselves are fine but IMO just using a regular set of cake tins would be as good. Unfortunately I no longer have the receipt or packaging.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the tins, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    4

    "Excellent for pizza"
    Richard Dudley

    13 June 2016

    These pans (8" diameter) and the smaller ones (6" diameter) make excellent pizza tins. Make the dough as usual and place in the well oiled tins. Cover and let the dough rise - it will expand to fill the tin. Add sauce, cheese and toppings, then bake. The oil gives a slight fried bread texture to the base and makes releasing the pizza easy (especially as the tins are also non-stick). The non-stick is across the whole tin - so no rust under the rim when it comes out of the dishwasher. The pans are not very deep and have rounded edges. Great for pizza, but I'd think not ideal for cakes.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "Deceiving size :)"
    Mrs Duffield

    16 May 2016

    I was a little sceptical when I saw how shallow these tins looked,but when placing 4 on top of each other it barley fits in my cake storage box! Just used basic sponge mix but need to make at least 1lb cake batter mix next time! works really well with the Wilton color right system, well worth the buy,my kids loved the end effect.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "Good set of pans"
    Mrs Caroline Morey

    12 May 2016

    I bought these pans to make an ombre cake for my daughter. I used a 5 egg Delia all in one sponge recipe. I would advise only making a 4 egg recipe as I had a bit of overspill on the sides which I had to trim off. The cake looked and tasted really good though. I weighed out 4 batches of mix to colour separately and it took a bit of time for me to feel happy with the colours but they came out well, I would say I needed a darker colour than I thought. You also a lot need more buttercream/frosting than you think if you want to make nice smooth sides as well as in the middle of the sponges.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    1

    "Disappointed, these are dreadful."

    05 April 2016

    I made a special trip to the Cribbs store today, as my daughter requested an ombré cake for her birthday tomorrow. Nice idea, but in practice just doesn't work. Tins are so shallow they are hard to pick up with an oven glove & if the handles are supposed to assist with this, they just don't. In the end it was easier to remove the whole shelf from the oven & slide the tins off! Plus they needed to go on 2 shelves of the oven & it was a dilemma whether to use the fan with such shallow cakes. Also had to guesstimate what size cake to make. All in all a big disappointment.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you had difficulties using these tins but hope the finished cake was a success. We'll be back in touch shortly to put things right.

    Wilton Easy Layer 20cm Cake Pan Set

    5

    "perfect size"
    Carole Jones

    10 October 2015

    I looked at the five layer cake pan set but found the diameter to small. When I saw this set I bought it right away as its the same size as my usual cake tin. I just made a plain sponge to try it out and it was great. Used cake release and the cakes came out perfectly. Will try different flavours and colours next time. Will be great for birthday and Christmas cakes as some of my family don't like fruit cake.

Back to product page