Rectangular Baking Stone

£18.99

3.1 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (21 reviews)

Product number: 70057

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 21

    Sign in and write a review
    Rectangular Baking Stone

    1

    "Another one bites the dust..."
    Mr Savur

    30 March 2020

    When our previous pizza stone (also from Lakeland and bought perhaps 10 years ago) broke after being dropped in November 2019, I did not think twice and just bought this new one. I should have read the reviews first! We use a pizza stone to bake pizza made from scratch at home, so it is always at room temperature. We also put the stone in a cold oven to heat up for about an hour while the dough is proving and the sauce simmering. On this occasion, just when the pizza was ready to be taken out, I was surprised to see the stone had an irregular shaped crack in it, luckily between the two pizzas.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We’re very sorry to hear your baking stone was faulty and will be in touch shortly to get this sorted to your satisfaction.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    1

    "Was great whilst it lasted"
    Miss Alfringhaus

    29 December 2019

    Used this stone since August, for baking bread. Have never washed it,always put it into cold oven before heating it up. Dough was in airing cupboard before placing it onto stone,never knocked it, and always let the stone cool completely before taking it out of oven! I'm glad it didn't break when lifting out of oven, it certainly could have smashed oven door or floor tiles! I never read the reviews before now, but surely, so many complaints about this problem, and they are still being sold without warning of this! I hope I can find the receipt

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We're really sorry to hear this has happened and we've been in touch to help you further.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    5

    "Awesome piece of kitchen kit"
    Ms Bond

    27 November 2019

    This is the second one of these I have bought. Both have been brilliant; the previous one lasted several (5+) years and only split because I put a pizza straight from the fridge on it when the stone was hot. I use a cookie sheet topped with greaseproof /reusable baking liner to transfer pizzas, then whisk the liner away after 5 mins cooking, and leave another few mins to finish. Perfect, and perfect for reheating soggy delivery pizza the next day. Lovely crisp crusts and bases.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    4

    "Good value for money"
    Miss Miller

    28 June 2019

    This is the first baking stone I’ve had. Used it so far to make pizza and bread and it has worked well. My only criticism is that the rack doesn’t fit on my oven so I’ve just been putting the stone on one of my racks. Otherwise it’s a great product and a very reasonable price.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    5

    "Too wide for an Aga Range Cooker Oven"
    Mr Spence

    11 June 2019

    Made this purchase based on 5 star review dated 4 May 2019 which suggested the item fitted an Aga oven. This is not the case. When measured, the dimensions of the stone are exactly as advertised and will not fit inside an Aga. The problem isn't due to Lakeland but poor advice from a contributing customer.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry this wouldn't fit your Aga range oven.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    5

    "For pizza"

    04 May 2019

    Works well for pizzas in the Aga, holder is also useful.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    1

    "Stone cracked after several uses"
    Mr Torres

    12 March 2019

    After reviewing different comments about this product and following the instructions perfectly, the stone cracked after 5 or 6 uses. I normally use the stone for baking bread, the shaped loaf is always at room temperature before I put it in the stone and the stone is Heating up in the oven (Starting with the cold oven) always for at least 1 hour to reach maximum temperature. Very poor material unfortunately, the product is not really suitable to bake good bread loafs

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're very sorry that the stone has cracked. We understand you're heating the baking stone up slowing in the oven, but you could try warming the dough slightly on the stove before placing on the baking stone. We also suggest Waiting until stone is completely cold before removing it from oven. Too much moisture from the dough can also cause it to crack.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    2

    "Mine too keep cracking"
    Mrs Gove

    19 November 2018

    I am having the same issue as many others. I bought one a couple months ago and had to get a replacement as the first one cracked. I have just experienced the second one cracking after only a few uses. I keep mine in the oven to minimise handling and always bring up to temp from cool. I never wash it nor even wipe with a cloth. I use it each week to bake bread on which is why the square in most convenient. I will be looking for another replacement

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm sorry to hear of your experience and pleased our customer services team have put things right for you.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    3

    "Great while it lasts, but............"
    Mrs Foster

    13 November 2018

    I read most of the reviews but thought I would try this stone above others, being from a trusted retailer. My stone also broke after about one year and I expected it to last longer. I kept it in the top of the oven for safety while it was not being used and so it was always heated from a cold oven. Maybe these stones are not supposed to last longer than one year!?

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    3

    "Nice Idea"
    Mrs Morant

    13 November 2018

    This was a very good idea but I'm afraid that we haven't got on with it at all! Every single pizza has stuck, badly, to the stone when cooked! We have tried different ways of doing it , and, like another reviewer, we bought a proper scoop to remove the pizzas but no success. We have two pizza trays and I think we'll be going back to them.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review on the Rectangular Baking Stone 70057. We're sorry to learn the pizza has stuck on the stone after every use. Our product team have suggested to prevent sticking, make sure the pizza dough is thoroughly kneaded and smooth with no air bubbles or bumps. Mix and knead your dough until it is smooth and glossy. If the dough sticks to your hands when you pick it up, add more flour. The team also go on to say Corn meal can keep your pizza from sticking to the hot surface. Sprinkle corn meal over the surface of the stone before inserting the pizza. The corn meal acts as a separate surface for the dough to sit on, and keeps it slightly above the hot stone. We'll be in touch shortly to help

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    1

    "Cracked on first use"
    Mr Fenton

    27 October 2018

    Followed the instructions as given. Pre-heated the stone in the oven at 200c for 1hr before use and had cracked before I took the first pizza out. Will be returning for a refund tomorrow. It's a shame but I suppose I should have listened to the other reviews and invested in a better quality product.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm sorry to hear of your experience. The stone should be put in a cold oven and brought up to heat - it isn't suitable to frozen pizzas. The number of reviews are a very small percentage of the number sold. I'll be in touch to help.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    3

    "Great, until today!"

    04 May 2018

    We brought 2 of these and they do definitely make a difference to the finished pizza. Unfortunately, we took one of ours out of the oven tonight to find it was in 2 pieces. Split right the down the length. We’ve probably had them about a year but only used about once a week at most. Was surprised that others seem to have had a similar experience. So, should I expect the other one to break? If so it’s becoming very expensive to enjoy home cooked pizza. Very disappointing.

    A person icon A note from the team

    The stones can crack because of sudden temperature change. We'd advise placing the stone in a cold, rather than preheated oven and not to put frozen pizzas on the stone. We'd also recommend minimising handling- you could try keeping it in your oven all the time and avoid washing the stone.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    1

    "Two out of two broken, it's not looking good"
    Mr Hague

    07 February 2018

    It cooks well but, like several other reviewers, mine broke the second time I used it. I returned it and the replacement has also broken second time out. And, yes, I do know how to use a pizza stone and always heat it correctly. Do I try a third one or give up? I'm not sure.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review on the Lakeland baking stone. We're sorry to learn you've not had much look with our stone. I've taken advise from our product team who've advised the following: Place a baking stone in a cold oven on the lowest rack. Allow at least 30 minutes for the stone to heat before baking. Let the dough come to room temperature before baking. If cold dough is placed directly on a hot stone, the abrupt change in temperature may cause the stone to crack. We'll be in touch with you shortly to help

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    4

    "Stoned love!"
    Mike

    01 November 2017

    And so trying to give this a decent review it tells me I've used too many words. And so in as few words as possible - It works, it gets hot, you need something to shift the bread around, that is called a "Peel", like a large flat shovel - Lakeland don't do them but it is possible to find one - look around you need it or suffer burned fingers / broken hot stone. without the Peel it's next to useless with a peel it's brilliant! Anybody want to buy a lot of loaf tins?

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    3

    "Great while it lasts"
    Antonio dos Remedios

    09 January 2017

    I bought one of these and was very pleased with both the bread and the pizza that it helped me make - well-baked loaves, and firm, crisp pizzas. My only negative thought was that any oil from the pizza toppings immediately soaked into the stone, changing the colour and staining it permanently. There was, however, a bigger problem: it broke after about 9 months. Assuming this was just a faulty one, I contacted Lakeland, who replaced it immediately. This new one broke after about a year of use. I was very pleased with the stone for a while, but I'll find its replacement somewhere else.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear of your experience and we'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    1

    "Avoid"
    Mr Wilson

    29 December 2016

    Followed instructions and seasoned as recommended. First time in real use it shattered. This is little more than a ceramic tile with a wire support. Might as well go to a diy store and buy a garden slab and stick that in your oven. It would be more durable and probably deliver better results.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear of your experience - this sounds like thermal shock due to a sudden change in temperature - we'll be in touch to help.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    5

    "Best pizza stone"
    Mrs Rogers

    06 December 2016

    Produces amazing pizzas! I heat the stone up first and then put my dough on it and quickly add my toppings. It produces a really firm base (not soggy like others). It's also great for reheating pizza- instead of using the microwave. Also really good for making your own bread. Need to purchase another one for when I make more than one pizza! Best product I've ever bought from Lakeland!

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    5

    "Good for bread"

    01 April 2016

    We've not tried using this for pizzas, but just for bread which was the purpose of buying it. Its working out extremely well, the bread is cooking evenly, rises well, and has a nice crust all over. Very pleased with it.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    3

    "Brilliant!! but..."
    Mr Permaul

    22 March 2016

    Can't fault the pizza you get from this, however I bought two of these and on both occasions they cracked while making a pizza.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear of the problem that you've had, The pizza stones needs to go into a cold oven and slowly preheat for 20 mins, I'll be in touch shortly.

    Rectangular Baking Stone

    5

    "Excellent product but..."
    Mr McIntyre

    05 February 2016

    This is a great pizza stone and is the only one I have found that is not round and therefore far more versitile as even my irregularly shaped pizzas will fit on it. However, how frustrating that Lakeland does not also sell pizza peels (the paddle tool for getting the 'raw' product on and off the stone. I don't now how, if following the instructions, one is meant to transfer a homemade pizza onto the hot stone; the only way is with a peel. I ended up buying a short-handled peel online (only about £10) and this has made a huge difference. Please Lakeland, sell these alongside the stone.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're pleased you find this Baking store more versatile. I've passed your suggestion forward to introduce a Peel in to our range to help with the pizza base being placed and removed from the stone.

Back to product page