Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

£4.99

2.4 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (33 reviews)

Product number: 62532

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 33

    Sign in and write a review
    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    3

    "Mad Millie’s sourdough culture sachet"
    Mrs Malone

    09 February 2021

    Agree with all other reviews. Disappointed with the measurements on enclosed card. Gloopy mess , running off my work surface. Will have a go at baking it but not expecting much.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment but you can adjust it by adding a little flour to make it more manageable. If you need any further help please just let us know.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    4

    "Followed the video (2.47mins) made a perfect loaf"
    Mrs Donley

    25 January 2021

    Thankfully read all the reviews and so ignored the measures written on the card inside the sachets. As others have said, watch the short video from madmillie and use 480g flour to 375ml water, proved for 24hours, folded and rested for second prove of 2 hours. Heated oven with an old cast iron casserole dish in to 230 degrees c . Baked for 35mins kid on then removed lid for 15-18 mins. Lovely sourdough loaf with well developed crust. 4 stars rather than 5 due to £4.99 cost of sachets- seen it cheaper elsewhere. Otherwise would buy again. Remember - ignore the packs written instructions.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    3

    "First attempt,disaster"
    Mrs cosslett

    22 December 2020

    could be good if it works....I followed instructions to the latter,ended up with a liquid mess and it was dripping off work surface,googled the product and found that a lot less water is used,contacted lakeland but they insisted the quantities given were correct ,so now am going to give it another go ,having seen the irish bakers guide to sourdough (you tube ) if you add extra flour you can make the dough dry ,sourdough is meant to be wet,so didnt want to go down this route...I think this product is genius if it works as making a starter is alot of pfaff...watch this space for attempt 2!

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "Very Disappointing"
    Miss Hughes

    10 December 2020

    I followed the recipe included using the metric measurement (not the American cups) and with strong white flour. The result was a pourable mixture not a shape-able dough, much more like a normal sourdough starter. After the required 1-2 days maturing it was still pourable and I had to add a lot more flour to make it into anything resembling a loaf. It baked into a rather dense bread with a very faint sourdough taste. The sachets contain a small amount of dried yeast plus some cultures similar to the sort you get in live yoghurt, very expensive for what they are!

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry you found that the mixture was too runny.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    2

    "Like Others Said; A Gloopy Mess"
    Mrs Roberts

    10 December 2020

    I am experienced at breadmaking. I adapt traditional loaves for the bread maker. This has been a disaster and Lakeland keep insisting the instructions are correct even though so many reviews say otherwise. A gloopy batter type consistency as others have said. This has been my 4th attempt now. I added half the amount of everything and started a dough only mode. It was obvious when kneading it was still ‘wet. So I gradually added more flour until it came together. I left it overnight set up for a French bread mode which worked well.But we shouldn’t have to go to this trouble.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry you had this trouble with the mixture.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    3

    "Trial and error but a victory of sorts!"
    Miss Alderson

    17 November 2020

    Hi had same problem as some. Mixture way to sloppy. Had to add lots of flour at second stage to get some control. Bread was lovely however. Next time I used ratio of 2 parts white one part wholemeal. Better but still gloopy. Next time I'll be sure to add more flour right at the beginning to get the consistency needed shown in their video . It's been a fun learning curve!

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're glad you managed to produce a good end result.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    2

    "Wet Dough"
    Helen Jacks

    17 November 2020

    I used exactly correct measurements as recipe. I always make my own bread, so am used to breadmaking whether by machine or by hand. 750 mls of water just gave me a runny wet dough, unable to roll into a ball just a wet flat messy dough.

    A person icon A note from the team

    You could try to mix it in the container you're baking it in, but we're sorry this was runnier than expected.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "Yes this made me feel quite mad.. and frustrated!"
    Ms colyer

    17 November 2020

    I am used to making bread regularly and thought I would try sour dough using this culture. I used the measurements on the guide exactly by referring to grams and mls not cups so the conversion was not the problem. I ended up with a thick batter which ran off my board practicly. I had to add a great deal of extra flour. I am waiting for it to rise and hoping it won't be heavy. The recipie / instructions are wrong. Please look into it Lakeland!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Please be assured that the instructions are correct, but can add more flour to make the consistency thicker. We hope this will bake well and won't be too heavy.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "In packet instructions incorrect"
    Mrs Hollis

    20 October 2020

    Like some of the other reviews here I followed the instructions carefully and although it says you end up with a soft dough after two days I had what looked like wallpaper paste. I used the grams and mls instructions rather than the cups and there was clearly too much water. Lakeland - can you at least not put a sticker on the packet when it’s in the shops telling people the correct amounts? Disappointing as it uses a lot of bread flour and 2 days for it to rise.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry this wasn't as expected- although this should be fine once baked we'd advise that more flour can be added to the mixture if necessary.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "Strange Culture (Maddening !)"
    Mr Pickup

    20 October 2020

    Followed the pack instructions to the letter, even looking up conversion weights. I have a pint and a half of batter. (No fish) . After reading the reviews, I wish I had read them first, but the pack was a present for me, so I didn't order it .A treat from the mother in law.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Please be assured that this makes a lovely loaf once baked, but you can add more flour to make it more manageable.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "Not suitable for all bread machines"

    02 October 2020

    I purchased this culture because the catalogue described it as being suitable for use in a bread machine. However, the included instructions are for hand baking and the Mad Millie website does not appears to give instructions. Customer Services did check on my behalf with the result that proving time should be extended to 20 hours! It seems therefore that you need a machine with a sourdough programme to be able to use this culture and it is disappointing this is not made clear.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. The bread machine will need a Sourdough programme for using this product and the bread maker's instructions will need to be followed. I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment and I'll be in touch to help.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    4

    "It got better"
    Sue Rose

    03 September 2020

    My first 2 attempts were a disaster. The dough was far too liquid. I got in touch with the company direct after the first attempt and they made a suggestion. It still didn't work so I contacted them again. They did some research only to discover that NZ cups and UK cups were different. I used 960g bread flour while the liquid remained the same amount and made two very lovely sourdough loaves. They reimbursed a pack of sourdough sachets so it all came good in the end. However they do need to update their instructions.

    A person icon A note from the team

    thanks for the positive feedback, i'm glad we've been able to sort it for you. your comments will be passed onto our buying team

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    2

    "Mad Millie Sourdough Culture"
    Mrs Austin

    27 August 2020

    I purchased this culture to reduce the amount of my precious flour feeding my starter during these difficult times. I followed instructions hydration seemed far too high so I reduced it. A sloppy mess that poured out over my work top couldn't form into a ball dividing it to leave half the mixture in fridge was a joke however i persevered making a complete mess. I hadn't read reviews until now and then found a video it appears you realistically should halve the amounts as in the video . As an experienced baker 1 sachet really only makes 1 loaf and should be marketed as such very disappointed :(

    A person icon A note from the team

    The recipe can be adjusted to make it more manageable, but please be assured the end result should be fine once baked.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "Trial and very much error"
    Sally

    27 August 2020

    As others have said, I followed the instructions to the letter (even the room temperature was right for a change) and ended up with batter rather than dough. Baked a nice looking flat bread but haven't tasted it yet. Very disappointed as I thought it might be a gentle introduction to baking sourdough.

    A person icon A note from the team

    You can certainly try adding more flour, but we're sorry it didn't work out as expected.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "Sourdough Culture Pks"

    27 August 2020

    I understood that the culture could be used in a breadmaker machine as well as a manual method. I used the recipe for the machine white loaf and added the culture. The result was a waste of time and materials as the loaf did not rise.

    A person icon A note from the team

    This can be used in a bread maker. The bread maker instructions would need to be followed, but the rest time increased to 20 hours. We're sorry this didn't work as expected.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    3

    "Good bread but the measurements don’t work"

    27 August 2020

    I used the quantities given on the instruction card and produced an unmanageably wet batter. I added quite a lot more flour and the resulting bread was good but I have to agree with the other reviews that say the figures can’t be right?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Although the instructions are correct you can certainly add a bit more flour to make the dough more manageable.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "Wet, flat bread"
    Mrs Anderson

    20 August 2020

    This product just did not work for me. I watched the video, read and reread the instructions and tried and tried again but it was inedible. I am a daily bread baker using yeast but this product is not for me

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry this didn't work for you.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    1

    "Disappointing"
    Ms Langtree

    20 August 2020

    I followed the recipe on the packet to the letter the first time. The water quantity given was inaccurate, in that 3 cups should equal to under 710 ml not 750 ml. The resulting batter (not dough) was a mess and could not be used. Lakeland should have checked this out as they do so meticulously with many other products. When I used the 2nd sachet, I used 600 ml of water which was about right. However, having made sourdough before from a proper starter, I could tell the difference straightaway. The resulting bread was not real sourdough, just some 'normal' bread. Disappointed with Lakeland

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We’ve checked and can confirm that the instructions and quantities have been tested and are correct but we’re sorry to hear this didn’t work well for you and we’ve been in touch to offer a refund.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    4

    "Halfway to sourdough"
    Meredith Robertson

    10 August 2020

    Like others I found the metric measurements produced a very wet dough - like focaccia in consistency. Couldn’t be kneaded or shaped. On the hottest day of the year it did get very active though, so I only let it rise for 12 hours and then used a loaf tin. The top burnt, because it wasn’t in a Dutch oven, but the bread was lovely and light and had a mild sourdough flavour. Next time I won’t let my toddler dump all the water in and adjust to get a proper consistency. A reasonable sourdough given you don’t have the hassle of maintaining a starter, but not as delicious as my rye starter.

    Mad Millie Sourdough Culture Sachets - Pack of 3

    5

    "Lovely Bread"
    Mrs Carr

    07 August 2020

    Followed the instructions exactly and got fabulous bread. Mixture was just right and certainly wasn't too wet ( as other reviewers have said). Will definitely be using again.

Back to product page