12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

3.4 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (16 reviews)

Product number: 3817

The 12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 16 of 16

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    5

    "White jam jar lids"
    Mrs Kemp

    18 January 2021

    Superb product rejuvenates old jam jars. Hygienic recycling without the bother .

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    5

    "Jam Jar Lids"
    Maureen Taylor

    19 November 2020

    These Jar lids are a good fit for the glass Jars, bought at the same time

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    5

    "Always so useful."
    Christine

    25 June 2020

    These twist off lids are just plain good! I've bought them before and will continue to do so. One is often left with a perfectly good jam jar but without a serviceable lid. These solve the problem nicely, saving unnecessary disposal of reusable glass.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    5

    "White lids"
    CAROLINE SAMBELL

    25 May 2020

    I needed WHITE lids for some jam jars. Lakeland was the easiest place to buy them. They arrived prompltly

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    5

    "White twist off jar lids"
    Mrs Narborough

    01 October 2019

    My stock of decent jar lids was depleted,now I'm ready for the next batch of preserves. As always excellent service,packaging not over done!

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    1

    "They did not work! Seriously disappointed."
    Mr Frost

    14 August 2019

    I have just started making this year’s jam and discover to my horror that none of the 36 white lids I have from you function correctly. As I rotate them on your standard jars they become firm and then loosen and continually rotate never securing. I have tried on several jars and the same problem occurs. Having now looked at previous reviews for this product I see it is a recurring problem! Our gingham tops work fine. Please can you assist with refund please.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm sorry to hear of your experience and I've passed your feedback on. I can see you've been in touch with our Contact Centre and we've arranged replacements for you.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    5

    "Twist and shake"
    Mrs Yeldham

    13 November 2018

    Always an excellent product and gives a professional finish to my jams and marmalade.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    5

    "white jam jar lids"
    Sue

    30 August 2018

    Another frequent purchase to fit the small jam jars. I use them often.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    4

    "Surprised at reviews"
    Rosamund

    05 November 2013

    I have been buying these lids for a few years now and have never had a problem. I use for marmalade, jams and chutneys and they have always screwed on well, so I am about to re-order. However, I do agree with one review that having those pop-up tabs on the top (to be sure of a successful vacuum) would be useful.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    1

    "frustrating lids"
    Maggy

    10 October 2013

    We bought half pound jars and lids on the spur of the moment whilst buying a maslin pan.On first use later that day we discovered that the lids do not seal firmly and some don't seal at all.After the effort of growing and tending to the fruits harvesting and preparation it is so frustrating that the contents are not sealed into the jar and therefore will not keep.It was only after doing all this that we read the reviews and found it was a common problem and like another reviewer we don't know where else to buy new lids that fit properly.Please can you sort this problem out Lakeland.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the lids do not perform properly and will be in touch shortly to help.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    4

    "Pretty good"
    Mrs Hodge

    21 February 2013

    I bought these for my dad who makes Marmalade every year and some of his jam jar lids were needing replacing. He was very pleased to hear that we could source a replacement. He says generally they are very good, but he found it impossible to tell whether the jars had sealed because they don't have those pop-up tabs. He would find these a better product if they had this feature. In the mean time, these have done the job, but time will tell whether the seal is good enough.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    1

    "Jam Jar Lids"
    Robin

    24 January 2013

    Do not buy these lids. Only a few of these lids fitted. I asked for another batch. I tested these in the store and they seemed fine, though I didn't want to screw them tight because I desperately needed lids and didn't want to deform them. On my return only half of them fitted. After nicely packaging them and travelling them a little, the rest have leaked and one of the lids just popped off. It may be that some of the jars are wrong but if you need to travel your preserves do not use these lids. This has ruined our gifts for people at Christmas and wasted a vast amount of our time.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the review and taking the time to call our customer services team. I'm sorry you'd been disappointed with the lids, I'm glad they were able to put things right for you.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    1

    "Pretty awful but no real alternative"
    Jessica

    23 August 2012

    I've been reluctantly using these for a couple of years and only about 50% of them actually work - many do not seal properly or tighten up, they just go round and round. So why keep on buying them? Well, they are not terribly expensive and I haven't yet found an alternative that works with the Lakeland jars, which are excellent value. Please, Lakeland, get some better ones in as there is a lot of waste and poor design on this one, I'm afraid.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that some of the lids do not perform properly and will be in touch shortly to help. We've also passed on your comments to the buyer.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    1

    "Must do better"
    Mrs Belmain

    26 June 2012

    I too have been ordering this product for a number of years and have noticed a deteriorating quality. I will not now buy them by mail, as there have been too many 'duds' among them. Last year I had to resort to reusing lids from a few seasons past and they performed better than the new ones!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    5

    "perfect"
    Ann

    13 February 2012

    Lakeland seem to be the only place I can find that stocks plain white lids for jam jars and they are the best way of getting that perfect seal on home made preserves. In addition if you want to enter preserves in shows such as WI you are required to use a brand new plain lid to gain a good seal (re-using a lid does not always ensure this as there will be a groove around the ruber seal that may leak). Thankyou Lakeland.

    12 Plain White Twist Off Jam Jar Lids

    1

    "Never had a problem before....until now!"
    Rebecca

    22 September 2011

    I've been buying these lids to go with the Jam Jars that Lakeland sell for some time and i've never had a problem. I bought a new batch this week for jam making. I filled my jars with newly made jam and went to seal the lids on but the lids didn't do up properly at all - they didn't catch to lock. Out of 12 only 2 worked properly. Make sure you check they lock properly before making jam or chutney. As i've said already, i've never had a problem before so this was obviously a bad batch.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for your review. The buyer has advised: The lids are twist off lids which should be turned until they feel tight and the plastic seal will then make the jar airtight. The tightening mechanism is different to that of a machine filled jam jar.

Back to product page