Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

£7.49

2.9 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (20 reviews)

Product number: 26580

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 20

    Sign in and write a review
    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    1

    "Disappointing."
    Mrs Robinson

    20 January 2021

    First time EVER, I am very disappointed with this Lakeland product. Lids are not as 'stretchy' as I had hoped and rather scared that my finger will go through them whilst trying to stretch to fit what I would call 'normal' items. I find them difficult, if not impossible, to use. Also find the lid sizes are not as useful as I thought they would be. Don't recommend.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Please be assured it is very difficult to break these. You could try using a bigger size, but we're sorry you found them difficult to use. Elasticated food covers might be more suitable.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    1

    "Waste of time"
    Mrs Leeming

    20 January 2021

    I thought these would be a really good alternative to cling film but for me they are a total failure. They slip off the containers and do not adhere to the sides. I have tried and tried with all sizes of bowls etc., and this morning I tried one final time but with no success. I resorted to cling film and threw these back in the cupboard in anger. They will be relegated to the bin sadly. It is very rare that I am disappointed with a Lakeland product but this is really is a failure.

    A person icon A note from the team

    These usually grip well, but this could be caused by grease on the bowl or lids, matt containers or you could try a bigger size, but we're sorry the lids proved disappointing.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    1

    "Worst product ever sold by Lakeland"
    Mr fink

    20 January 2021

    I am a Lakeland fan but this is the worst product they've ever sold if not the worst product ever, full stop. Unless whatever you are covering is exactly the right size for the cover, it slides off either immediately or in a kind of slow death roll. Add to that that only one of the covers is ever going to be the right size because all but one of them are ridiculously small. Oh and they aren't easy to clean, and are equally difficult to dry. I begrudge giving them 1 star because that is a gross exaggeration of their usefulness.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry the covers are too small for your requirements and you found them difficult to clean.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    4

    "No option to purchase individual sizes"
    Mrs Goodbody

    29 December 2020

    Very good product but it only comes as a multi sizes pack. I’d like to buy more but not more of all the sizes.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    1

    "A really frustrating product"
    Ms Born

    10 December 2020

    I received these at the beginning of September. I haven't used the large ones much at all (the smaller ones are bad enough - they are actually really difficult to stretch and it's hard to get them to stay put. It's a bit like a kitchen Krypton Factor). Yesterday I used a large one on a small rectangular dish, but they're supposed to stretch to fit any shape. I had to take something out of the dish just now and attempted to get the lid back on. After several attempts I thought I'd got there, but then the lid just tore and is now only fit for the bin. AVOID!!

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry you found these difficult to use. The elasticated food covers we sell might be more suitable for your needs.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    4

    "Very good"
    Miss Lipley

    03 December 2020

    I found these stretchy covers really helpful. They work well, but I wish they were available as packs of smaller or larger sizes, not one mixed bunch. They cling and fit pretty tightly, but with a little confidence and practice pulling them over the basin/plate/dish they do a good job of replacing the yards of clingfilm that ends up in the bin. Will buy again when available.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    2

    "The frustration of clingfilm, only kinder to the planet"
    Mark Sadler

    27 November 2020

    In this age of marvels, Lakeland have created a food covering that is significantly more annoying to handle than clingfilm, while also being kinder to the planet. You will press your belly against the edge of the dish that you are trying to cover, in an attempt to hold the lid in place, while you stretch the reminder over the circumference. You will watch the grippy sides of the lid slowly travel upwards until it pops off, in stark illustration of the futility of all human endeavour. A good product if you want to strengthen your finger muscles, raise your blood pressure and save marine life.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry this product hasn't met your expectations in fitting the bowls you have

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    1

    "Not fit for purpose, sadly"
    Dr Elias-Jones

    23 November 2020

    Great idea in theory but they really don't work 8/10. as others have commented they don't "stick" to the walls of the the dish so "ping" off. Need to go back to clingfilm. Rubbish

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with the silicone stretch lids. Your feedback has been passed to our buying team and we hope you find a suitable alternative soon.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    5

    "Better than clingfilm"
    Mrs BEARE

    04 November 2020

    I think these are brilliant! Reusable, stretchy, and NOT clingfilm.....at least I feel I'm making a small effort to reuse and recycle. I use to cover rising dough, pots in the fridge etc etc

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    1

    "Rubbish lids"
    Mrs Troman

    30 October 2020

    These do not fit or stay on anything. They’re either too tight or too loose. After complaining to Lakeland, I was advised to buy the plastic throwaway covers. We’re trying to save the planet. Doesn’t seem that Lakeland is.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry these weren't quite the right fit for your containers. Please be assured the elasticated Covermate covers can be reused many times, but when they come to the end of their life they are recyclable.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    5

    "Very pleased and one question"
    Mrs Goulden

    29 October 2020

    I am very pleased with the stretch lids so that I won't have to use cling film any more. I can cover a halved melon without using a bowl. I have one question to ask Lakeland; can I use one of them for steaming a pudding in a saucepan?

    A person icon A note from the team

    They're made from silicone, but we've never tested them for steaming.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    5

    "Very pleased and one question"
    Mrs Goulden

    28 October 2020

    I am very pleased with the stretch lids so that I won't have to use cling film any more. I can cover a halved melon without using a bowl. I have one question to ask Lakeland; can I use one of them for steaming a pudding in a saucepan?

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    4

    "Mixed review"
    Mrs Hobbs

    15 October 2020

    I was really looking forward to using these. They look and feel great. Used a couple and they seem great but was really disappointed that the largest cover doesn’t fit over a standard dinner plate.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    4

    "Brilliant"
    Mrs Boden

    14 October 2020

    Had a few mishaps to start as they shot across the kitchen! I soon got to grips with them although I’ve got arthritis in my thumb joints so it isn’t quite so easy for me but I soon mastered them and use them almost every day.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    1

    "Rubbish product"
    Ms Kunte

    12 October 2020

    I usually don't give such bad reviews, as there are always some redeeming factors. But these lids are absolutely useless. They barely fit any containers. 1 is too big for anything, one is too small. The other 4 are odd sizes, so don't fit my bowls or other containers. Mind you, I have very standard tableware. Don't buy.

    A person icon A note from the team

    The covers have been tested to fit a variety of containers and can be stretched to fit, but we're sorry these proved unsuitable.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    2

    "Jury still out"
    Dr Mather

    21 September 2020

    Works fine if the container is an exact fit for the lid. Unfortunately most are not, although there is a certain entertainment value in watching the lid slowly unravel and ping across the kitchen. Needs a small, very specific part of the lid to be in contact with the container; lid slightly too small pings off, slightly too big falls off. Does not hold well on anything with a lip, sloping sides or an irregular shape. As this is a mixed pack, a couple are in regular use and the rest gathering dust. You could buy a lot of cling film for the same price.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear these haven't met your expectations. They've been designed to be reusable so they're better for the environment. They're also in different sizes to be used with a variety of items but we've passed your comments on to our buying team to consider.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    5

    "You won't regret this purchase"
    Mrs Virgo

    11 September 2020

    My husband and I have just celebrated our 60th Wedding Anniversary so we have had a lot of entertaining in the last couple of weeks and hence quite a few tubs and basins of food etc to keep fresh. These Silicone Stretch Lids have been excellent - all in all an excellent product - don't hesitate to purchase as they are money well spent

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    5

    "Great alternative to cling film"
    Mrs Oxborrow

    03 September 2020

    I swithered whether to buy as I thought they seemed a bit expensive but I'm glad I did. I've covered cans, cream pots, jugs, pudding basins, bowls and even square plastic containers with ease as so flexible. Will save me money in the long run as hardly ever have to use cling film now. Will be ordering more.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    1

    "Useless"
    Mrs Cummings

    28 August 2020

    I was really looking forward to getting these.what a disappointment.they are useless.practically impossible to get on any kind of container,no matter what the size. Don’t buy you will be disappointed. Would have given no stars,if it had been available.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry these proved unsuitable. We're not sure why you found this -they've been tested thoroughly to fit a variety of bowls and can be stretched to fit most shapes and sizes of containers.

    Lakeland Clear Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids – Pack of 6

    5

    "Another great product from Lakeland"
    Mrs Williams

    26 August 2020

    These Reusable Silicone Stretch Lids do exactly as described in the product features. There are 6 different sizes in each pack. I find that the first 2 smaller sizes are useful for 300g and 500g pots to cover yoghurt cream etc. They are particularly useful now that the supermarkets have stopped using plastic lids on yoghurt. Easy to clean as they can go in the dishwasher and good value for money

Back to product page