OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

4.5 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (37 reviews)

Product number: 23943

The OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 37

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Great"
    Jan Morgan

    23 July 2019

    So handy to keep in the kitchen. I always take off the lid when I walk to the compost heap - so I don't loose it. very easy to clean and just the right size so it doesn't become smelly.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Glad I replaced Red Apple compost bin"
    Rhoda Martin

    04 July 2019

    This may be compact but more user friendly than previous Lakeland Red Apple Compost Bin. Being smaller, needs emptying more frequently but reduce seed for separate filters. Less cost, lid stays open and easy to flick down when finished using it. Takes up less space in my very compact kitchen and very easy to clean. Highly recommend.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    4

    "Just the job!"
    Mrs Rose

    19 November 2018

    Unobtrusive and not too big - this bin fits snugly out of the way on kitchen worktop

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Compost bin"
    Mrs COLQUHOUN

    30 August 2018

    Very Pleased With this neat and tidy bin .

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Neat little"
    Mrs Horrocks

    17 May 2018

    Whereas this bin is a little smaller than I’d imagined, it is just perfect for sitting under the sink, though pretty enough to leave on the work surface. Ideal!

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    1

    "does not last well"
    Dr lewis

    09 February 2018

    I am disappointed with the longevity of this product. I bought it about a year ago. We have looked after it carefully as it is a good-looking product, and it has always been hand-washed and never in the dishwasher (which is sometimes too harsh for plastic items). Firstly, it gets dirty quickly and food waste clings to the sides and bottom of the bin. (It can be removed by a good scrub but see comments above.) Secondly, the plastic on the rim is starting to split. Thirdly, the handles are coming loose.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review, we're sorry the compost bin is starting to deteriorate. We do hope you've been able to return this to store for a suitable replacement.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "OXO Good Grips Compost Bin"
    Mrs Agass

    08 November 2017

    I bought this bin for my daughter to use in her new home. It is perfect for a small family. The design is smooth and has very clean lines with no rough edges that will collect waste food. The lid can be detached for easy emptying and the bin washes out easily. It also looks good on the worktop or kitchen window sill.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Good description"
    Mrs linda whitehead

    28 August 2017

    Delighted with this good quality bin which is easy to clean and carry. Blends into my small kitchen. I love how the lid remain upright,which enable the peeling to go straight into the bin.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    1

    "Needs a design rethink"
    Sherri Eckworth

    28 June 2017

    I can't fault the AMAZING Lakeland customer service team who've helped me with replacing my item more than once but sadly it's the design that's faulty and needs to be addressed by the manufacturer. There is a gap (albeit teeny) between the bin's inside and outer covering and water gets into it. I've washed mine both by hand and in the dishwasher (it's never been submerged and left) and when I tip it up to empty it, I can hear the water which simply won't come out. Other than that, it's a great size, sturdy and has been ideal for our needs but I'm now going to be looking for an alternative

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear of your experience and we'll be in touch shortly.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Perfect compost container"
    Mrs Davies

    07 February 2017

    For years I have made do with small vegetable trays to put my pellings in and I am delighted with this container. It is a perfect size and is very easy to keep clean, it looks attractive as well.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Great gift!!!"
    Ms Barnett

    13 January 2017

    I was given one of these as a gift as my partner disliked my piles of peelings on newspaper, waiting to be taken out. It is a very well designed, both in looks and practicality, an easy to clean product. It also matches other products in the OXO Good Grips range, as well as the Lakeland fat trapper. It slots easily under my kitchen boiler cupboard, too.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Good quality Small compost bin"
    bekey2015

    05 December 2016

    Very good quality small compost bin. The shiny gloss white finish (lime green inside) is very easy to clean, either by hand or in the dishwasher. The lid is easy to open, can remain upright and is easily detached for cleaning. The bin is on the small side so may not be suitable for a large family. With two of us, we generally empty every other day.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Lovely buy!"
    Mrs Benson

    29 November 2016

    This is a lovely item, it is designed beautifully, looks good, does the job it is made for and is so easy to clean.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "oxo good grips."
    Mrs Whitford

    07 July 2016

    I find Oxo good grips a real asset to my kitchen,smart & clean to look at so its on show along side my sink.I did wonder if it would be big enough , but its perfect for me.I can flip the lid open with the back of my hand when needed ,so easy.I just love it.Thank you.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "EXCELLENT!!"
    Mrs RICHARDSON

    19 May 2016

    I bought this to replace my old compost bin. It is so easy to empty and clean. The lid just pulls off. I wash the bin and lid in hot, soapy, water. It looks clinically clean on the worktop and is an absolute asset in the kitchen. If you want a compost bin which can be dropped without being damaged and washed in hot water then this is one for you

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Marvellous"
    Miss Wright

    12 May 2016

    Excellent product, easy to fill and empty. cleans out under the tap. Have not yet discovered how to take the lid off to empty it as do not want to force anything and break it. But can still empty it easily.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're pleased you find this simple to use and empty, but sorry you're having difficulties removing the lid. To remove the lid: lift the lid up and place your fingers around the hinge, pull the lid upwards away from the bucket and the lid will come away. We hope this helps.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Sink compost caddy"
    Mrs S M Pannell

    25 February 2016

    Brilliant product.. Easy to clean, neat and lid detaches easily for emptying. Very pleased with mine..

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Good looking bin"
    Mrs SHIRLEY DAVIDSON

    14 July 2015

    Small enough to fit neatly beside the sink but large enough to take my usual biodegradable liner. A great improvement over the ugly brown bin provided by the council. Very pleased indeed with this purchase.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Good small bin"
    C R

    13 July 2015

    You need to take into account this is small - wish they also did a larger one as on those mega veggie peeling days it fills up fast; that said its a great design. it's easy to clean and looks smart - which hopefully will last and the white plastic won't yellow over time. I found that using a bag as liner seemed to cause condensation but I didn't want to have to wipe it out each time. All in all I'm very pleased with it.

    OXO Good Grips Food Compost Bin - White 2.8L

    5

    "Wonderful - best bin I've had"
    Mrs Turner

    27 May 2015

    Am really delighted with this bin. It is small enough to fit in a tight space yet holds more than I envisaged by looking at it. Due to being plastic it is so easy to rinse or wipe clean and needs no liners. The lid can easily be opened by 1 finger so ideal if one's hands are full. As the lid on this one is so easy to open and close and will stay open I can stand next to it and peel vegetables straight into the bin. My previous one was stainless steel but food stuck to it and so needed liners.Thanks Lakeland for making my life a lot easier and my kitchen cleaner and tidier.

Back to product page