Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

3.7 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (30 reviews)

Product number: 22492

The Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 30

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    5

    "Fantanstic kitchen accessory"
    Miss Blake

    26 August 2015

    I've had a red apple Lakeland compost crock for many years, and had no problems whatsoever. I've never experienced any difficulties with the handle coming off unexpectedly. The filters last ages too: I rinse them when giving the crock its weekly empty & clean. None have ever shrunk & I've often had up to six month's use from one. The red apple matched the accent colours I had in my old kitchen, but I moved 3 years ago and I'm now having a new kitchen fitted, so will now be buying the green version. Anyone want a red one? Used but in excellent condition!

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    3

    "Looks great, but could be better!"

    19 June 2015

    A good looking compost crock that could be so much better with a few design improvements: The handle comes off too easily. I have removed it altogether to avoid unfortunate accidents. The lip makes it really difficult to empty out properly and also hard to clean and dry. The filter turned mouldy quite quickly. I tried washing it (as I read in another review that this could be done) but it has shrunk and now falls out of the lid! I will be ordering replacement filters and hope they last a little longer.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'll be sure to pass on your suggestions to the buying team for their consideration. Many thanks.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    2

    "Great Looking , but..."
    Mr Payne

    20 May 2015

    Great looking item, didn't need to lurk in a cupboard. Sadly I won't be buying another. The handle is not fixed substantially, basically it balances, consequently the handle and the ceramic pot can become separated, and the pot does not bounce. A great idea, plastic might be tacky but it would survive being dropped. Anyone want a spare lid?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with the handle, I'll be in touch shortly.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    4

    "Apple crock"
    Annie

    09 April 2015

    I have had my crock for years. It still looks as good. Well it did until I dropped a heavy object onto it and smashed the lid. I use a recycling bag in mine. No mess. I took the handle off so that it was easier to put the bag in. I am now going to replace the crock.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    3

    "Apple compost Pot"
    Julia

    23 January 2015

    Unfortunately this good looking compost bin for the kitchen did not last long as the body cracked and then broke. We only had it for a few months. I know we weren't heavy handed, so this was a disappointment

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that it had cracked, I'll be in touch shortly.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    3

    "Looks great but easily damaged"
    Kate

    03 October 2014

    Really loved this when I first bought it! It's large, looks great and easy to change the filter. However after about 6 months hairline cracks started to appear all over and now, approximately a year after I first bought it, it's split into several pieces. I would understand if it had been bashed about a bit but it was simply sitting in the corner of my kitchen. Would love to buy another one however this has really put me off getting a ceramic one in case it happens again.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and have emailed to help.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    5

    "Wonderfully kitsch !"
    Alison

    27 May 2014

    I love this! I hated my old grey "council tub" and bought this so I don't have to try and throw away peelings in one hand whilst trying to open the cupboard under the sink with the other whilst trying to open the lid for the pot! Now I have this out on display as it's looks fab... easy to lift off the lid and put my peelings straight in - annoyed I didn't buy it sooner!

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    2

    "Initially good but hasn't stood the test of time"
    Rachel

    30 April 2014

    I purchased this a year or so ago and to start with I was pleased, however I noticed that over time that it started to craze, I now have what is almost a crack down one side. I have always hand washed the crock so I am sure it is not down to my care. As I said - lovely to look at but doesn't stand the test of time.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the crock is causing problems and will be in touch shortly.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    4

    "Love the look of it, but...."
    Louise

    22 April 2014

    This looks so pretty on my worktop, but it could be so much better: the lip on the pot makes it difficult to empty and to drain when you have washed it out. Same problem with draining the lid. I broke one of the knobs on the side trying to fit the handle on the first one I got, so left it off on the new one as the handle got in the way, kept coming off and did not make it easy to empty (in fact that was how my son broke the pot as he dropped it). We wash the filters and dry them no problem. I like this enough to have replaced it, and if it was just a bit better designed, it would be perfect.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for your feedback on the apple compost crock. I'll be sure to pass your comments on.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    5

    "The Big apple is awesome!"
    RJ

    28 May 2012

    This review is for an older version of this product

    I was looking something for my food waste and I came across this. Looks very pretty and neat. Such a fine investment it has been. So many people have complimented me and can hardly believe its a food waste container. Would definitley recommend it!!

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    2

    "unable to find a replacement lid"
    Mrs Ganguly

    17 May 2012

    This review is for an older version of this product

    I have found my apple crock effecively containing the smell. But I have an issue with the lid. The colour seems to come off everytime I hand clean the lid, also due to the ineffective handle we managed to chip the lid and,now can't find a replacement one. I will be happy if you could produce some replacement lids for the product.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you've experienced this problem. Our buying team have suggested using a soft cloth with soapy water works well. I hope this helps and will be in touch soon.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    5

    "Love this crock!!"
    Peta Bosley

    22 March 2012

    This review is for an older version of this product

    Having redone our kitchen, I was banned from having a tacky compost caddy in the kitchen (;-0) and then I found this one. It really looks good and is a decent size too. One question though; we have had it for a couple of weeks only and the filter is a bit "furry" - can we rinse this without damaging it?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review on the compost crock.Our buyers have advised the filters can be washed providing they are thoroughly dried after washing to avoid excess moisture that may cause mould. Spare filters are available ref 21419 for a pack of 5.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    2

    "Apple Compost Crock"
    Mrs Hawthorne

    22 March 2012

    This review is for an older version of this product

    I love the usage and look of my Apple Compost Crock however, I too am disappointed, like a previous customer, to have found white mold on the filter after a couple of weeks of use of the product. Your product details say that the filters last 3-4 months and that they can be purchased. For many years I have been a great advocate for Lakeland, but why state that the filter lasts for 3-4 months when it doesn't. I must add that there is no way this hiccup will put me off buying your fantastic products.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you experienced this problem. Our buyers have advised you may experience some moisture build up from the scraps. Filters can be washed but please ensure they are thoroughly dried to avoid excess moisture that may cause mould. The Compost Crock is suitable for all food materials with the filter lasting 3-4 months. Bags can be used inside but please make sure they're biodegradable.We'll be in touch soon.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    5

    "Apple compost crock"
    Donna Watterson

    29 December 2011

    Really love this item bought a couple for presents and they loved them too look great in my kitchen instead of the ugly brown compost bin.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    4

    "Green Apple"
    Janey

    31 October 2011

    Love the look - but bits get stuck in the inside lip, when emptying. Not dishwasher proof as paint on leaf and stem peels off in dishwasher - seems OK everywhere else.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for your review. We don't recommend putting this item in the dishwasher

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    4

    "Apple Crock"
    Catherine

    03 August 2011

    Yes, the handle is a little slack, but I haven't bounced it yet. I use news paper in mine, I don't like paying for bags to throw away / compost. You can neatly tuck the edges inside! I also use paper bags that come with purchases and also some organic veg comes in compostable plastic (check the logos) It does have a few chips but a quick dab of nail varnish in an appropriate colour has sorted that. yes, the food does get a bit stuck but I am happy to wash it!!! Goes in after I have washed up to save water. Brilliant and Funky!

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    3

    "I like this but.."
    Sharn

    27 July 2011

    The charcoal filter shrinks and then keeps falling out. It would be good if we could buy replacements. I took the handle off soon after buying - it is inadequate for the task.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. Spare filters are available in pack of 5 for £4.29, reference number 21419, hope this helps.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    4

    "Green apple"
    Liz Counsell

    14 June 2011

    Love the pot - it looks great in my kitchen. One criticism, the handle is not secure. Nearly dropped it when it detached this morning. Will be very careful to ensure it's in place before picking up again.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    4

    "Lovely item"
    Mrs Gardom

    07 March 2011

    We bought this in the red apple design last year and it makes a charming addition to the kitchen and adds a splash of colour. It has been commented on by various visitors. It makes composting a delight! I would warn you to remove the lid before you carry the composter out (or don't use the carry handle as it does become loose) as we've had it fall off and have had to buy a replacement lid.

    Apple Crock Food Compost Bin - Green 3.3L

    3

    "Apple compost crock"
    Mr Tremain

    15 February 2011

    My wife purchased this in your Salisbury store back in September, it quickly became chipped (lid) although we are not heavy handed and carrying across the kitchen today it somehow became unhooked and smashed. My wife loved the design and it was much admired in the kitchen, but cannot see my way clear to spending another £20 on a compost bin. Why couldn't they be made in plastic - would still look great with a redesigned handle. Sorry but very disappointed. Also now left with surplus filters!

    A person icon A note from the team

    I'm sorry to learn of the problem you've had, I'll pass your suggestion on and be in touch shortly.

Back to product page