HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

£7.99

3.9 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (39 reviews)

Product number: 20348

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 39

    Sign in and write a review
    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "Great Product"
    Jayne

    10 July 2019

    I have been using this in my washing machine and dishwasher every 3 months for years. It really keeps them clean and removes any build up of limescale or sludge.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "First time i have bought this."
    Mrs Stirland

    21 May 2019

    I have only used one of the two bottles that arrived. Very pleased with the result, left my washer clean and fresh. would buy again and recommend this product. thank you Lakeland.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "No more lime scale"
    Mrs Weighill

    23 April 2019

    We live with very hard water, this prevents unwanted build up of limescale, magic!

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "Swear by this!"

    16 March 2019

    Love watching the dirty water go round your machine drum! I try and use this in my washers and dishwasher every couple of months. Our washing can be pretty muddy and oily from work and our small holding so am sure this helps our appliances longevity!

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    1

    "HG Service enginner"

    12 September 2018

    I am not happy to be using this product, the powder solidified in the detergent dispensing drawer I hope that no blockages occurs machine in my washing machine as a result of using this 'cleaner"!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review and for taking the time to speak to me this afternoon. I'm sorry to hear this product isn't suitable for your washing machine. Our store colleagues will be happy to put things right for you.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    3

    "Mixed feelings!"
    Deborah Clark

    15 May 2018

    Brilliant results on my dishwasher, been using for a few years now. However, last year I got a new washing machine, this cleaner doesn't dissolve! I tried it twice on different temperatures and the powder is a yellow ball. I called the company of my washing machine and the reason is that it is a cold water feed in the drawer so it doesn't dissolve. My previous washing machine had good results, but now I have to find an alternative. Please can this be added to the packaging as its a waste of money to buy a product that won't work.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm delighted this product works really well for your dishwasher. I'm sorry it isn't suitable for your washing machine and I'll be sure to pass your comments on to our Buyers. I hope you find a suitable alternative.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "Excellent"
    Mrs Webb

    11 February 2018

    This product stopped that awful smell after one use. It came as a twin pack so is very good value for the money. I have used other cleansers but this is the best one...so far!

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    1

    "Should have read the other reviews before buying/using"
    Ms Roberts

    10 January 2018

    Washing machine did not smell but thought it a good idea to give it a clean & saw this product. After using it, like many other customers, machine smelt awful. Guessed & seems to be the case that the cleaner had dislodged sludge in the machine/pipes which then caused the smell. Used baking powder & white wine vinegar @ 90 degrees then with sterilizing tablets. Smell went away, came back a week later. Sterilizing tablets again & was a little improved, did a wash & much improved. Would be helpful if product info warned that it could make things worse before they got better & to do it twice.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. I'm wondering if the HG Service Engineer is not quite completely working it's way through it's full cleaning process - could I ask you to check the washing machine trap as bad smells can also filter up through the soap dispenser drawer rather than it being the drawer itself or the drum itself. Please follow the recommended use frequency and you should achieve a good result.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "Set washing machine to 90°C for optimal results"
    Ms Reynolds

    25 September 2017

    For the first bottle, I followed directions exactly (using a 60°C cotton wash), but the results weren't very good. Trying again with the second bottle, I set my washing machine to a 90°C cotton cycle with an extra rinse, producing impressive results. Now the programme cycles are far shorter, the spin cycle extracts more water, and the pump doesn't seem as noisy. The only drawback seems to be the cleaner itself. In my washing machine's drawer, there is a lumpy yellow-brown precipitate left behind; I've remedied this by breaking up pieces so they're flushed into the drum.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your feedback.We're pleased to hear you've achieved great results but to get the best from your cleaning solution it is recommended you set your washing machine to 60c on a COLOURED wash. The testing of the product would have been quite specific to determine this. If you feel it's not performing well under these conditions, it's possible the build up has become such it would need more than one treatment. The residue of the product is easily dealt with by flushing however, once the washing machine is conditioned and cleaned on a three months basis, as directed, your'll find this will no longer happen.We hope this information is helpful.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "Spring clean machine"

    26 July 2017

    Does what it says on the box! Easy to use.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "Excellent product"

    08 August 2016

    Our dishwasher had been playing up and not completing the programme cycle which probably meant the hose needed a good clean. Used this product and no more problems with our dishwasher.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "15 years old .... and still going strong!"
    Mrs Lyddiatt

    05 May 2015

    We bought our dishwasher in March 2000. I have used HG Service Engineer powder regularly on it, as recommended by an engineer who had come to service the previous dishwasher, which had probably only lasted about 8 or 9 years before it became too clogged to use. He explained that it was necessary to clear out all the debris that accumulated inside it. We replaced our washing machine in June 2013, which had been bought in 1998, also regularly cleaned with this powder. I strongly recommend that you buy this product and use it regularly. It's brilliant!

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "It does work!"
    Andrew

    14 October 2014

    I moved into a rented flat some weeks ago and struggled to eliminate a really unpleasant smell from the washing machine. (As things turned out, the smell was coming from both the washing machine drum and ALSO the outlet pipe from the washing machine). Probably a host of previous tenants hadn't even bothered to clean the appliance. In any event, I decided to try 'HG Service Engineer.' The pack comes with 2 separate tubs of powder. Used 1 tub @ 90 degrees (not 60 degrees as recommended) . Result? A distinct improvement, but decided to repeat the process. Result? Smell gone.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    2

    "Directions misleading"
    Declan Hamilton

    07 August 2014

    I bought two packets and followed the instructions to the letter. Despite 3 applications, the drum has clear signs of soap scum residue, and my last whites wash came out with dark specks, which is the problem I was trying to eliminate. After contact with Lakeland it was suggested that I use the fourth application on the highest temperature. This seems to have worked, but the instructions with the product specify 60 degrees. So, it seems that if you want this product to work you have to use it at 90 - and it can take up to four applications.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for your feedback, I'm sorry that it had taken further treatments to get it fully clean. Sometimes, the first couple of cleaning cycle loosens all the build up and then it needs another cycle to be able to clean it fully. I'll be in touch shortly.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "THIS WORKS !"
    Marilyn

    28 July 2014

    Have used this product for a number of years. My plumber informed me liquid detergent can cause a bacteria build up in your washing machine shorting it's life. I have resorted back to powder or cubes & the help of this great product. My washing machine has stayed looking young and sweet smelling!

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "Fantastic"
    pamela

    19 November 2013

    Used one bottle and was disgusted how much gunk and scum was left in the machine. Gave the machine a good wipe and decided to use the other bottle which left the machine SPOTLESS and drum smelling like new. Can't wait for the next HG clean!!

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    1

    "Smelly Washing Machine"
    Joanna

    16 July 2013

    I have used this product before but this this will be the last time. My washing machine was just beginning to smell and the calendar said it was time for a clean. So I used this product as per the instructions. Now my machine smells much worse than it did before, in fact it smells awful. I wouldn't recommend it at all. I wonder if it has changed in some way or is it that now we all wash at 30 bacteria builds up?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the cleaner hasn't been as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help. We've spoken to HG about this and they have confirmed that nothing has changed in the formulation. It may be that the washer needs another treatment to get it fully clean. Sometimes, the first cleaning cycle loosens all the build up and then it needs another cycle to be able to clean it fully. We'd also recommend every few washes running the cycle through a hotter wash to reduce the build up that regular 30 degree cycles can cause.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    1

    "Did not work in my Washing Machine"
    Melanie

    16 July 2013

    Really disappointed with this product, did not work at all, I live in a hard water area and use the 2 bottles - I have been left with a machine and clothes smelling like rotten eggs, horrible. Had to go to the supermarket, purchased own brand which was a lot cheaper I must add and its cleaned the machine and left it sweet smelling. Would not recommend this product.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product.Our buying team have advised that in hard water areas it can sometime take a couple of treatments to shift those stubborn build ups with your washing machine then needing another cycle to be able to clean it fully.It does sound like you've persevered so we're sorry it's not given you the expected result and will be in touch soon to help.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    1

    "Unpleasant perfume"
    Ms Silver

    05 March 2013

    I used this product once and never again, because it has a very strong, sickly, persistent fragrance that then transferred to my laundry for several washes. Why don't they make things like this unperfumed?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the smell, which may be caused by the build up of limescale in the machine, needing more than one application of the mixture. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

    HG Service Engineer Dishwasher & Washing Machine Cleaner

    5

    "No nasty niffs now!"
    Angela

    09 February 2013

    This product is amazing. Follow directions carefully. My washing machine always grows black mould in the water inlet and dispensing drawer I have tried everything to remove it and have cut myself on the sharp plastic. This stuff works! I removed the drawer and sponged some on (wear gloves) and left for 5 mins and rinsed-all gone! Squirted some in the water inlet and cleaned round with a washing up brush-more difficult to do but good results.Put the rest in machine and ran on 60 degree full programme (don't have 65 degree as directions say) perfect results! Used in dishwasher too! Great!

Back to product page