Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

2.4 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (34 reviews)

Product number: 19478

The Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 34

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Awful piñata cake tin"

    27 November 2016

    Horrendous. Cake mix made following the instruction on the tin, but the sponge mix is way too weak to hold its shape, very difficult to ice the whole cake unless you have professional equipment. If I could return this I would. Complete waste of money. If I could give it zero stars I would.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and can understand your frustration over the results.We can see another customer has achieved great success and has shared her method. I have so far made 3 piñata cakes using this pan. I used the cake release from Lakeland and also put a circle of grease proof paper in the bottom of the pan to help the cake come out of the pan. I have also done my own recipe for the cake - 250g of butter, sugar and self raising flour, 5 eggs for the top cake and the same for the bottom cake, just instead of 250g of self raising flour, 125g of plain flour and 125g of self raising flour. This just makes the bottom cake a bit more solid! Hope this helps people with the cake tin! We hope that you'd be willing to try again and will be on touch soon to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    5

    "A Brilliant Buy"
    Miss Danks

    02 November 2016

    I was a little hesitant of this tin after reading a review saying that the cake had stuck. However, after using the tin on several occasions, I have had absolutely no problems with cake sticking. In fact, they come out really easily. I grease it with butter (not margarine) and duct with flour - just as I would with any other cake tin. I love that I can use the tin to make cakes for so many different occasions, from birthdays to Christmas and other celebrations. And it never fails to get an "oooh" from the gathering crowd when the cake gets cut into!

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "An utterly useless gimmick!"
    M Sanderson

    06 September 2016

    A useless, gimmicky product. Despite baking paper on base and thorough greasing of pan, cake was impossible to remove without damaging. Worse still, the bit under the insert does not cook so you end up with brown, crispy sides and an uncooked base. My cake is in the bin and I will be starting from scratch, using a simple sandwich tin and cutting circles out of the middle - much simpler. Must do better, Lakeland.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear it didn't work for you and we'll be in touch to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "So disappointed with this cake tin"
    Miss Webster

    09 March 2016

    I bought the Cake Release and painted it on the inside of the cake tin. Then I part-filled the tin with my usual cake mixture. I cooked it at 325/170 for 50 minutes following the recipe on the tin. The cake rose unevenly round the inner bowl which would have been a problem to stick to another to form a Pinata. Fortunately I was just doing a dry run ahead of the party as it wouldn't come out having stuck to the tin. It eventually came out in two parts! It might work better with a heavier coating of Cake Release and a liquid batter but I can't risk it for my son's birthday party!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear it didn't meet your expectations and we'll be in touch to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Very disappointed"
    Mrs Keighley

    17 November 2015

    I wish I could say I used this tin more than once, but sadly I wasnt able to. After following the instructions fully (greasing with a butter substitute and flouring) the tin and the welded on cake I was unable to scrape off are now in the bin!! Thankfully I decided to make my daughters birthday cake the day before her birthday so was able to make a different one and didn't have an upset 6 yr old.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Absolutely rubbish."
    Miss Raggett

    30 October 2015

    First of all, I can't believe I spent £20 on this. I bought this as I have a charity bake sale/competition on Thursday at work and I thought a piñata cake would be a fun alternative. So many problems with this tin, first the enamel coating does not work well at all, no matter how much you grease or use cake release, this baby is not letting go - the pattern on the side doesn't help either. Then the cake overflows onto the sides of the top bit which means that I was constantly trimming the cake. In the end, the whole cake collapsed! It's now 12.30am and I have nothing to show for tomorrow!

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear using this cake pan has been such a disappointing experience and will be in touch soon.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Very Disappointed!"
    Dr Voss

    27 October 2015

    I bought this expensive cake tin trusting Lakeland and when my cake collapsed I looked online to see all the terrible reviews! I am shocked you are still selling it. I followed the instructions and my cake came out but broke twice then collapsed. On third attempt I used baking paper and left over night to cool so finally it didn't collapse. Not only was the tin a waste of money but I wasted cost of ingredients for two attempts :-(

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear of the problems you'd had, I'll be in touch shortly.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Would not recommend."
    Mrs Saggs

    27 October 2015

    I have shopped with Lakeland for many years and baked for many more, this product is awful, followed the instructions and both times the cake stuck to the tin and was useless. Would not recommend this at all, why it isn't non stick is beyond me, and for the money it cost ! Don't waste your money on this product. Very disappointed and will be requesting a full refund. Waste of my time and money.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review, I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the results. I'm glad that my customer services colleagues were able to put things right.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    5

    "Perfect cakes"
    Miss McAdoo

    31 August 2015

    I have so far made 3 piñata cakes using this pan. I used the cake release from Lakeland and also put a circle of grease proof paper in the bottom of the pan to help the cake come out of the pan. I have also done my own recipe for the cake - 250g of butter, sugar and self raising flour, 5 eggs for the top cake and the same for the bottom cake, just instead of 250g of self raising flour, 125g of plain flour and 125g of self raising flour. This just makes the bottom cake a bit more solid! Hope this helps people with the cake tin!

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    5

    "worked perfectly!"
    Mrs Rimmer

    10 August 2015

    After reading the reviews, I was nervous about using the piñata cake pan. A lot of the reviews mentioned that the cake had stuck, so I greased and floured the pan really well. I did not use the recommended recipe as I have to make an eggless cake. I successfully baked 2 cakes, which didn't stick in the pan at all. I used butter icing to stick the 2 cakes together and filled it with loads of sweets and it was a great success!

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Not fit for purpose."
    Mrs Borowski

    30 July 2015

    I bought the cake tin from the Chelmsford store to make a piñata cake for my daughter's birthday. The sponge came out dry and crumbly and was difficult to remove from the tin despite being greased. The coating from the tin flaked off and stuck to the cake. It then collapsed when I tried to assemble it so the birthday cake ended up in the bin. I usually love the things I buy from Lakeland but this was a real disappointment.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and have been disappointed with this cake tin.We can see there have been some successes and customers have kindly provided feedback where this advice was shared: used butter substitute and flour as an anti-stick on the mould - Perfect result.My advice is just to follow the instructions provided. Our regular bakers swear by Cake Release ref 4198 - we'll be in touch soon to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    3

    "Great idea - Need 2 tins for stunning cake"

    01 July 2015

    Great idea Unhappy with the recipe supplied with product A lot of conversion required before you start - American recipe some differences on google The mix makes 2 halves - means putting half of the mix to one side while baking the 1st Cake bakes for 50 to 60 minutes Then tin to cool before baking 2nd half 2nd half won't rise as well as 1st! You require 2 tins for this mix - makes it a very expensive cake! As I had only 1 tin - 2 hours later & after cooling - able to decorate Had 2 attempts at the cake mix - 1st not good Celebration Cake look stunning once completed Good luck

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Terrible"
    Mrs Heer

    22 June 2015

    This cake tin was horrendous, we greased it well and still struggled to get it out. The cake didn't hollow in the centre as shown, resulting in the cake failing horrifically. Our family was looking forward to this cake and we were all left bitterly disappointed. This is not what I would expect from Lakeland.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the feedback. We're sorry to hear of the disappointment, I'll be in touch shortly.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Waste of money"
    Mr Mathison

    04 June 2015

    We bought this tin from the Truro store to bake a football cake for our sons birthday. The recepie provided was complicated and American Measurements. When cooked it did not hold its shape and stuck. Retried it with a four egg Victoria sponge cake mix and although the defenition was better, the tin, which was prepared as insrtucted again stuck!! I have made a lot of cakes, sponges etc and have never experienced such a poor quality tin. This is the worst product I have ever purchased from Lakeland, don't bother

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to hear of the problem you've had, I'll be in touch shortly.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Very disappointing"
    Mrs Grier

    03 June 2015

    I bought this cake tin to make a birthday cake for my daughter. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake itself was very tasty. However, the tin is a disaster. Having read the other negative reviews I made sure to grease the tin well for the first half. The cake stuck to the inset and most of the cake came away as I tried to carefully remove it. I greased the tin differently for the second half and this time the cake stuck badly to the tin itself and came to pieces. This is a very expensive product and I think Lakeland should review whether they continue to stock it.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and have been disappointed with the Pinata cake pan - we'll be in touch soon to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    4

    "very disappointed"
    Mrs bower

    20 May 2015

    Bought the pan to make family birthday cakes more interesting,only had one success,and that wasn't perfect,all the others have collapsed on cooling,had major problems getting cakes out of tin,very expensive for something that doesn't work,I'm gutted as I promised my granddaughter one for her birthday this weekend,will have to try a normal sponge and cut the middle out

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the results, I'll be in touch shortly.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    3

    "Expensive"
    Mrs Jago

    11 May 2015

    I thought this was expensive but thought it would be worth it for the amazing cakes it would produce, so asked for it as a gift. I was really disappointed. I greased and floured the pan but my first cake stuck and a chunk came out. The second cake was better but still took some effort to get out. The end result cake was good but for how expensive it was, I really hoped for something which worked a whole lot better.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    4

    "Lovely idea, practice makes perfect!"
    Mrs Williams

    14 April 2015

    I am not a seasoned baker, so I read the reviews and did a test run a couple of weeks before hand. It didn't work out so well but third time was lucky. First time I used the recipe supplied but I simply couldn't cook it for 50mins. It cooked far too quickly on the outside and not enough on the inside. I was also unfamiliar with the american measurements. Finally I used my own victoria sponge recipe and doubled the quantity. I was worried that the weight of the fondant icing decorations would crush the assembled cake but it survived and everyone was impressed by the result.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    4

    "The cake collapses"
    Miss Horrigan

    09 April 2015

    The 1st time the cake stuck to the pan even though I greased it with cake release. The 2nd time it only stuck a little bit but I made sure I greased the tin loads. When I baked a third one so that I had two halves it stuck a tiny bit. I was happy with the results. This was until I put the two halves together and they collapsed. The bottom half cannot cope with the weight of the sides and the top cake. I am very disappointed as I am a frequent baker so only tried this 2 days before my neice's birthday. I think I will stick to a normal round cake and hollowing it myself.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry the pan didn't work as you expected and we'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Pinata cake tin"
    Wendy Thomasson

    06 April 2015

    I was expecting such a lot from this piñata tin but unusually for Lakeland products this left me very disappointed. My cake fell to pieces on removing it from the pan,2nd and 3rd attempt came to the same fate. Gave up in the end.Very disappointed in it and at £19.99 I would have expected some sort of success.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon to help.

Back to product page