4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

£9.99

2 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (64 reviews)

Product number: 19395

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 64

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "Went rusty"
    Mrs Moloughney

    09 February 2018

    These look beautiful but I used one and found it almost impossible to get the dough out. As I was in a rush I left it and used other cutters. The one I used went rusty! Never used them again.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry the cutter went rusty and trust you've been able to find a suitable alternative - following our offer of help.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "shame about the rust"
    Mrs Cannon

    29 January 2018

    I used these cutters once to cut icing snowflakes for my Christmas cake. The cutters worked well. I then washed them and left them to dry on a metal rack.. I was very disappointed to find they had rusted. I have tried to clean off the rust but the intricate design of the cuttters makes it impossible. I am very disappointed.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We’re sorry the product went rusty but hope the replacement we’ve arranged performs much better

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "Disappointed"
    Mrs Bentley

    05 January 2018

    I bought these so my grandchildren would be able to make what I thought would be amazing Christmas biscuits. How wrong I was! It was impossible to get the dough out of the cutter. Is there a special trick to getting them out whole? If so, why are there not any instructions included with them? Or a recipe for a dough that helps?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment and we'll be in touch to help. The best tip is to make sure the dough is well chilled before trying to cut

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    5

    "Beautiful cutters!"
    Claire

    06 November 2017

    I'm astonished to read so many negative reviews about these cutters! Yes, they are more fiddly than a simple cutter, but they are far more detailed. They are sturdy and well made. I think it would have been a good idea to include some instructions and possibly a simple recipe, but apart from that, I love them!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review and for your suggestion. The best tip is to make sure the dough is well chilled before trying to cut. Thanks again.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    4

    "Success!"
    Mrs hyde

    09 October 2017

    Like others, I srtuggled at first but then used a gingerbread recipe & used a cocktail stick to gently poke out the gingerbread from the cutter while holding it close to the baking parchment

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    5

    "EASY REMOVAL OF COOKIES FROM CUTTERS"
    Ms Loveland

    28 September 2017

    The easiest way I have found to remove dough, gumpaste, fondant etc. from fiddly cutters is to roll out whatever you are using, cover with plastic wrap and cut through that. It stops anything getting stuck in the cutters and makes the whole project so much easier.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "Snowflake cookie cutters"
    Mrs Doherty

    16 December 2016

    I bought these beautiful cutters with great expectations! But what a disappointment! I tried everything under the sun to get them to release the dough, flour, icing sugar, butter, oil, heat, chill, twisting without success! I just wish they came with directions. I mean it's obvious that people are going to struggle having now read the reviews but they are still being sold! Surely you should find and publish the best practice guide, especially if you are still selling them in light of the negative reviews. Not happy!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment. The comments only reflect a small percentage of the cutters sold, most are successful. We'll be in touch to help.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    4

    "Worth persisting, it really is. They make great cookies."

    08 December 2016

    I used a shortbread recipe and despaired of getting a cookie. I came online, looked at reviews, thought a bit and... 1. Chill the dough 2. Don't use too much flour underneath 3. Dip the cutter in a little veg oil (it doesn't spoil the biscuit at all) 4. Cut your snowflake and remove cutter carefully so the the cookie remains behind 5. Use a fish slice thing to lift up the cookie and push out the 'holes' using a skewer/spoon handle. They went down a treat with the governors! After noting the rusting problems... Wash the cookies and dry on kitchen towel in the warm oven after baking.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    5

    "Fabulous"
    Sarah

    05 December 2016

    These are great. I used them to make gingerbread biscuits and once rolled out, cut the shape and pushed out the irrelevant bits then held the cutter a couple of millimetres off the baking sheet and gently poked the actual shape through with a metal skewer. All of them turned out complete and dusted with caster sugar, look great. Recipe: 4oz plain flour, 1 generous tsp ginger, 1 tsp mixed spice, 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda, 2oz butter (rubbed in) and 2oz caster sugar, add 2oz syrup, mix into a dough and roll out. Perfect every time cooked at 170degrees fan for about 8 mins till golden brown.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're delighted they've turned out so well and thank you for the tips and recipe.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "Useless"
    Mrs Clocherty

    27 November 2016

    I bought these while in the U.K on a visit. I got home and this morning made my usual biscuit mixture up. Then I hit problems. No amount of pre flooring the cutters, no amount of adding extra flour to the mix could overcome the problem that you just cannot cut out the shapes. They cut but then you're left with the shape inside the cutter no amount of pushing, twisting or prodding realeases a usable biscuit. I am really annoyed as now I have a set of cutters that cost me £10 and I guess unless I pay for postage to send them back to the UK I will have to just throw them in the bin.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    3

    "Cracked it!"
    Mrs Kirstie Rann

    21 November 2016

    I'm not one to give up and have successfully used these cutters and offer the following tips. Chill your dough before cutting the cookies out - I found putting them in freezer for 5/10 mins was best. Ensure you have a floured surface to the extent that the dough moves freely around in the worktop and finally dip them cutters in cornflour each time before using on dough.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're pleased they're working well for you. We don't recommend putting the cutters in the freezer as this may cause them to break or shorten the life of the cutters.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    4

    "Success!"
    Clare Gainey

    19 November 2016

    Allow plenty of time to make these, fiddly but well worth the effort. I used 100g butter/100g caster sugar/1 egg/275g plain flour/ 1tsp. cinnamon. I used the end of a lollipop stick to push these out of the cutter starting from the centre and pushing out towards the edges. This actually added a bit of texture to the top of the cookie. If you roll the dough out and leave to firm up it is much easier to remove without breaking. Really glad I persevered.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    2

    "Stressed out customer"
    jill cunningham

    17 November 2016

    What pretty cutters - great for small Christmas gifts - but what hard work to make! It took literally hours to make biscuits with these, it was so stressful and I needed them for the following day. The only tip I can pass on was that the more I re-rolled the biscuit mixture, the better the intricate cut-outs actually came out. So a plain recipe - little fat - seemed to work best. And also, I imagine that working in a cool kitchen would have helped too. But why not provide a recipe with the cutters, or online - this would have been helpful, alongside any tips for using.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you've had difficulties with the cutters. We have had one reviewer who found flouring the cutters and stamp into dough, twisting it slightly. Turn cutter over and tap it sharply a couple of times on work surface to loosen the dough. Turn back and prod out out waste dough - hold cutter close to baking sheet and tap it gently with knife handle until it drops out. We do hope you'll give them another try. If you're still experiencing difficulties please return then to your local store and our colleagues will be happy to help. Don't forget to take you receipt, bank or card statement as proof of purchase.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    2

    "Very fiddly"
    Mrs Hughes

    06 November 2016

    These look nice in the picture but they are an absolute FAFF to use. The dough sticks to the intricate cutters and you have to poke each individual biscuit out from the cutter ruining the biscuit in the process. Stick to stars and hearts.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you'd been disappointed with this product and we'll be in touch shortly to help.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    5

    "Snowflake Cookie Cutters"
    Mrs Healey

    06 November 2016

    Love these detailed cutters I use them with gumpaste to make beautiful snowflake cakes not tried cookies yet just so happy they work with gumpaste.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "Snowflake Cookie Cutters"
    Mr Streeter

    28 December 2015

    I bought this cutters for use this Christmas Eve to make Christmas Cookies, oh oh oh I wish I had looked up the reviews before I bought them. No wonder they have been discontinued they are totally useless, They were not cheap. I expected more from Lakeland. I had fortunately bought different shapes, but really wanted snowflakes. Very very very disappointed.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "sadly useless"
    Dr Woodfine

    24 December 2015

    A wonderful idea - which i bought on impulse. I have struggled to get the dough out of these cutters, trying different recipes and to follow the tips on this page... I agree, they are useless!

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "Impossible snowflake"
    Dominic Dumville

    24 December 2015

    Argh! Should've read the reviews before buying. Unless you're a baking genius these cutters are impossible. I spent a few hours trying to make these work before frustratingly giving up. I bought them thinking they'd be up to the normal lakeland standard. They weren't. Unfortunately it seems I lucked out, buyung them just before they have been discontinued... Impulsive purchasing lesson learnt! No snowflake cookies for us.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "Life is too short..."
    Mrs Stevens

    23 December 2015

    An impulse buy which I now regret, as do other reviewers. I tried them this afternoon but was unable to get my shortbread dough out of the cutter, without resorting to a knife, which of course got the dough out but not intact. I see others have made suggestions as to how to create successful snowflakes, but for me, life is too short to be messing around with paintbrushes etc. Wish I'd gone for the star Christmas cake stack cutters now.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

    4 Snowflake Cookie Cutters

    1

    "I couldn't get these to work at all"
    Mrs Stitt

    23 December 2015

    I bought the snowflake cookie cutters for my children as I love baking at Christmas, but I couldn't get the shortbread dough out and ended up changing to Christmas Trees. Very disappointed. I definitely wish I had seen these reviews before I bought them. Oh well, Christmas trees looked and tasted excellent. Snowflakes are not to be.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and can understand how frustrating it must have been. We can see Mrs King kindly shared her successful tips and hope you'd be willing to try one last time before Santa arrives! .... works well with shortbread and sugar paste shapes. Roll out chilled dough to 1/4". Flour cutter and stamp into dough, twisting it slightly. Turn cutter over and tap it sharply a couple of times on work surface to loosen the dough. Turn back and prod out out waste dough - hold cutter close to baking sheet and tap it gently with knife handle until it drops out. Worth trying, be patient end result is great.

Back to product page