Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

£99.99

4.2 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (23 reviews)

Product number: 17883

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 23

    Sign in and write a review
    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    4

    "Reliable and responsive easily portable. Recommended"
    Mr Smith

    03 February 2019

    Bought over a year ago at the same time as a main ind hob in kitchen. I would like the simmer to be variable power as it's too high. It is programmed to time reduce & stop but it is so high it always boils over unless only a quarter pan full. The rest seem fine. I find the pan fry the most useful setting, being variable.it covers most needs. I do not understand why some of the modes are on off periods as opposed to 25% power or any other reduced power level. It needs a protrusion fitting at the back corners so it cannot be pushed to the wall causing overheating, or breaking of the grill. mine!

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "Quick"

    13 October 2018

    I was new to Induction but having used Lakeland’s now for a while I am liking it very much. It is very good looking. I have made it my main source of hob cooking. It is very quick to heat things. It is so easy to keep clean, just a quick wipe on a flat surface, unlike the gas hob which has become obsolete! If I was to change one thing about it, I would have the Mode activated by touching the symbol of what I wanted, rather than having to go through all of them till I got to the right one, and also to make a quick change if needed. Apart from that I am very pleased with it.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. I'm delighted this Lakeland smart touch induction hob works so well for you! I'll be sure to pass your suggestion on to our Buyers.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    4

    "A very good product"
    Mrs Timbrell

    12 August 2018

    The hob boiled very quickly and cooked potatoes for a bar b que to perfection. We have not tried the other settings yet, but are thinking of doing a stir fry and curry on the simmer setting.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "Compact, powerful, useful!"
    Miss Roberts

    20 July 2018

    Like many Rayburn owners I don't light the main stove during the summer months but I still want to cook. I have a microwave/oven/grill but wanted a hob - and this little beauty really does the trick. The induction hob heats a pan in seconds, the temperature dial allows you to control the heat accurately and the pre-programmed options make cooking very easy. I did burn a few omelettes to start with but once I was used to the speed and heat of this hob I was cooking not burning! This hob takes a small milk pan and my large fry pan. Very happy with this little unit.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "Excellent product"
    Mary

    02 July 2018

    This induction hob is an excellent product. It's easy to use and compact for easy storage. It has a variety of different settings which can be chosen or changed quickly and easily. There is a 3 year guarantee with this product.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    2

    "Good but not without problems..."
    Mr Soten

    03 May 2018

    This review is for an older version of this product

    First hob exchanged due to noisy fan, noise started when hob’s power-on button pressed and before selecting Mode. Hotpot mode heated up fast and simmered at 200w or 400w. Simmer mode was boil not simmer. Second hob only marginally quieter, returned/refunded due to electric current in pan when magnets operating – power level 200w, pan central in heating zone. Only happened with 12cm pan, not with larger pans nor with first hob. Proved presence of current with mains tester. Was hob faulty, was cause stray magnetic fields – I don’t know. Not sure if I’ll go induction after this – how safe is it?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We trust the information we've provided to you will be of help, in reassuring that the product is safe to use.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "Useful"
    Mrs Fawdry

    06 April 2018

    Good addition for a busy kitchen. Would also be very useful for caravanning. Easy to store when not in use.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "Excellent"
    Mrs Diana Coombs

    07 September 2017

    We have been refubishing out kitchen and this hob has proved invaluable whilst without a functioning kitchen.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "A whole new experience"
    S

    28 April 2016

    As many others we turn our Aga off in the summer and use the electric cooker, which has an ordinary ceramic hob. This is limited, and not very controllable. This induction plate is great, and once it approves of the pan you place on it (do the magnet test), works fine. It sears scallops beautifully, and the keep warm setting is so useful, especially when mellowing a bechamel sauce. Thank you Lakeland for the opportunity to experience a great product at a great price.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    4

    "Good hob"
    gsrprivate

    20 January 2016

    Bought this to replace previous model which expired with sensor fault after 2 years. Having been converted to merits of induction I missed it. This hob better. Seems less picky about pot positioning. I only use the Hotpot program as this gives me total control. I take the temperature settings with pinch of salt and run hob on power (watts) and this I would recommend to others. The 'Simmer' appears to operate at 120 degrees-of course does not simmer-water boils at 100 so simmer program boils. Depends upon the volume of the product being cooked. Must add that my hob is a refurbished example.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "Perfect for summer"
    Mr Ferrero

    10 October 2015

    I bought this to use during the summer when we turn down our Aga. It is light-weight but well constructed and I have since found myself using it on a number of occasions where I need more control than an Aga hotplate will allow. It has proven particularly useful for maintaining a temperature controlled water bath for pasteurising dozens of bottle of apple juice this autumn. I would certainly recommend it and and will be buying an additional unit shortly.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "A proper Lakeland product"
    Colin Shaw

    02 September 2015

    I recently moved to a small cottage in France where I installed my dream,a wood fired heater/cooker which is fine in the winter but in the summer when the temperature outside soars to the mid 30s it remains dormant in the cottage. This induction hob is the key element of my summer kitchen along with a combi microwave oven. This has been so successful that I have just ordered an additional hob. I found myself using it even in the winter when I needed control over my cooking. Easy to clean and a joy to use did however have to buy induction pans Circurlon Infinite which are great.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "Portable induction hob"
    Jacqueline

    30 March 2015

    This is a great addition. It heats up fast and cooks brilliantly. I have no problem with searing steak. I like the variable temperature and like the fact that is easy clean. It looks very neat on the work surface too. I did have to buy two new pans that were induction friendly. I learned a tip and that is if a magnet sticks to the bottom of a pan, it is induction friendly. Overall I am more than happy with this product.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    4

    "Induction hob plus great service from Lakeland.p"
    Brian and Maureen White

    26 January 2015

    We bought this hob before an impending house move when we would not have a cooker. We liked it so much we bought a second and use these instead of a fixed hob. Being independent these can be moved to provide more work surface if needed at times. The hob takes a little getting used to but is safe especially where young or old live. The hob cools quickly after use so a carelessly placed item will not burn. One hob did develop a noisy fan but LL quickly replaced this. The range of cooking modes and the timer are very useful.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    3

    "If only it would keep quiet...."
    Lynne

    29 December 2014

    Good design and performance, but the noise! It beeps every time you touch it. Changing the simmer time from the default two hours to one, for instance, means 61 beeps! There is no way of turning the racket off. It would be fine if I had a visual disability. I don't. I can see what the temperature, mode and time are. I hate electronic beeps. So do my dogs. I always turn them off. Why is that not possible with this hob? I hoped to get used to it because it does not have the design weaknesses that resulted in the death of previous hobs. But the noise is not growing on me.

    A person icon A note from the team

    The handy dial allows you to increase or decrease timing and temperature in small increments and registers this adjustment by beeping. By doing this quickly, the time it's beeping is reduced but we can appreciate unexpected higher pitched sounds is not to everyone's taste. Sadly there's no way to turn this feature off.Well be in touch soon.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "First Impressions"
    Philip Murray

    05 August 2014

    A smart portable induction hob is difficult to find - especially in Australia. So brought this one back from a recent UK visit. Maybe a gamble reading the comments but OK so far. Unfair to expect it to really sear a steak as think this is to have excessive demands of the technology. It is not a barbeque. Only issue so far is the PDF instructions on the web site is more helpful than the paper copy coming with the device, which is also wrong in the safety instructions. In replacing the plug for an Aussie one, it clearly has no earth wire as claimed in the plug wiring diagram. A serious error.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    3

    "When it works it's great..."
    Charles

    09 May 2014

    The flat glass construction of this hob is great - attractive and easy to clean. Unfortunately the first unit we had wouldn't switch on at all. The second one worked well with clearly laid-out controls and plenty of power. Unfortunately, as mentioned in another review, when attempting to sear steaks with a cast-iron griddle, the unit's thermal protection cut-out activates long before cooking temperature is reached-occasionally when using a frying pan too. Infuriatingly our unit has just gone BANG and died. Thank goodness for Lakeland's superb after sales service :o(

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the review and taking the time to contact our customer services team/store staff. I'm glad they were able to put things right.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    5

    "cooking without a kitchen"
    Mrs Jowett

    08 May 2014

    Our kitchen renovation stretched from three weeks to three½ months and without this wonderful hob I'd have flipped! We have an induction hob on our range so all my pans, all sizes, 'worked' ...a wonderful slow-cook casserole on keep warm setting as well as the quickly boiled kettle. It's not going in the loft now I have my kitchen back; it's far too useful!

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    4

    "Happy Now!"
    Irene

    21 November 2013

    At the second time of trying I have an hob without the rubberised leg missing and the hob is working just fine, although the instruction book is not at all clear, I understand that there are a few errors and missing text from this, and is being re-printed. (I would love a copy of the new instructions when available please) Thanks to the very efficient and helpful customer services I have contacted within the past 2 weeks, the staff whom I have spoken to have gone out of there way to understand and find a solution to any problems I have had. Top Marks to the staff.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're glad that we've been able to sort things out for you. The updated instructions will be put onto the web page for the hob as soon as possible.

    Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

    4

    "good but..."
    Michelle

    12 October 2013

    The replacement hob works fine now but we have had to have 3 to get one that was not faulty

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review.We're glad that the hob you now have is working fine.

Back to product page