Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

4.5 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (15 reviews)

Product number: 17519

The Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 15 of 15

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Colour Pack"
    Mrs Chrissie Garside

    06 July 2018

    Perfect, just what was needed to make a Misha and Masha Birthday cake

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    1

    "Poor Quality"

    28 March 2018

    Very disappointed with the quality of these. I had purchased them to colour buttercream for a cupcake stand at a child's party. The pots varied greatly in consistency; some were very gel-like, whilst other pots (particularly the red and black) were like coloured water. Colour wise it took far more than a drop or a dipped toothpick's worth to colour - for the red we had to pour in half the pot before we could get a solid colour that was not a pale pink (and the amount of buttercream being coloured was 100g, not a huge amount to colour). Would not recommend and will not purchase again.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. Some of our customers have found the varying colours do have different consistencies and we've let our buying team know. For best results, more colouring is generally required, to achieve really bold colours.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Wilton icing colours"

    11 September 2017

    Very good- need only a small amount to get the colour required. Mixes well and no staining of hands ( as I found as I hadn't got any gloves ☺️)

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "A Little Goes A Long Way"
    Mrs Day

    04 July 2017

    These are the only food colours I ever use now. I use a toothpick to add the colours to icing as a little produces lovely colours. I do a lot of moulding out of fondant icing or marzipan and these colours, being a gel rather than liquid, are great as you can obtain strong colours without adding lots of liquid. They may seem expensive but they last much longer than the liquid food colours and so work out as much cheaper in the long run. I've had my set for years now and the colours seem to work just as well as when I first bought them!

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Fantastic result"
    Ms McCabe

    01 September 2016

    I used the colourings in cake rather than icing, as they were what I had available and was delighted. I made a cake for a friend from Guyana so that each slice of the cake was the Guyanan flag. The colours gave vibrant reds and greens which, when combined with the natural yellow of an uncoloured Madeira cake, gave me all of the main colours needed.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Great results"
    Ms Johnson

    25 September 2015

    I've had really good results with this set. Good strong colours and a little goes a long way. Bear in mind that the yellow is quite a dark egg yellow rather than a bright lemon yellow in this set.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Fantastic Colours!"
    Miss Milligan

    05 August 2015

    After trying numerous brands and types of colourings - Wilton are by far the best I've tried! Although they seem a little pricier than others, they are completely worth it and I have already recommended them to many people. The colours are easy to use and give a vibrant, desired finish.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    4

    "Only need a tiny drop for fabulous colour."
    Mrs Agius

    18 May 2015

    These icing colours are super. You only need the tiniest amount for bright, vibrant colour. The best part is, unlike the cheaper ones, they don't leave a nasty after taste. Very pleased.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Brilliant colours!"
    Joy

    23 March 2015

    These food colours are quite expensive but really good value in the long run as it takes so little to actually get a good deep colour. Liquid dyes and even gels can really change the consistency of the sponge mixture or icing but these require so little that it does not affect the mix. I can really recommend these although I have not yet tried out all the shades. I really hope that this does not join the list of Lakeland's discontinued items.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "best food colours"
    Anne

    16 March 2015

    I have been looking for food colouring for use with macaroons and found the supermarket cheap bottles useless and the tiny tubes of gel to small ,but today I bought myself a mixed box of Wilton food colourings from Lakeland ,Fantastic and you only need a small amount ,just need to play with mixing the colours to get the right shade for my 540 macaroons I need to make for my granddaughters wedding.would highly recommend.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Best ever food colouring!"
    Annette

    09 February 2015

    Used to make several rainbow cakes, one multicoloured brights and one degrade pink shades - absolutely delighted with the results. Used a tiny amount of colour (I dipped a cocktail stick in to control the amount) and you need only a tiny bit to get a really vibrant shade. Only slightly boring colour is the beige - otherwise an amazing set I would recommend to all!

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    2

    "Inconsistent"
    Xanthe

    04 December 2014

    Daughter made the 5 tier cake three times now in different shades for each, using these colourings. First cake had red and pink hues for the sponges and they were fine, 2nd cake was blue theme in the sponges. Lighter coloured sponges although 'blue' before being cooked turned greenish after baking. 3rd cake was purple hues-to lilac. Again, perfect set of colour shades before baking but after, the lighter purples turned a strange grey/green? Disappointing in sponges but for mixing with buttercream ready for piping bag all ok. Pity cant upload pics for visual critique :-(

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment with the icing colours and will be in touch shortly.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "What a great set"
    Charlotte

    17 September 2014

    This icing colours set is such a great investment, you don't have to use much to get strong consistent colours. Well worth the money and you get a great mix of colours.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Must have purchase"
    Daniel

    28 February 2014

    This review is for an older version of this product

    Bought these for colouring icing. Simply insert a cocktail stick into the pot, dab the colour onto the icing with the cocktail stick and kneed. Very little is used. The colour is very uniform and simple to use. I hope Lakeland stock these for a LONG time as so little is needed each time I can see these lasting a long time.

    Wilton Icing Colours 8 Pack

    5

    "Icing colours"
    Mrs Crisp

    15 November 2013

    Great little box of colours. Ideal to use individually or to mix your own. Excellent delivery, well packed.

Back to product page