Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

£59.99

4.4 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (188 reviews)

Product number: 16147

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 188

    Sign in and write a review
    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "So Neat"
    Mrs Jennifer Trumper

    28 June 2019

    I used to own a large bread maker which was not used that often as it could not be left out on the worktop as it took up so much room. I saw this one in the shop and was surprised at how neat it is. I purchased it and have been delighted with the results. Only complaint is the markings on the measuring cup, I have given up using it as it is almost impossible to see the marks. Not a huge problem as the quality of the bread is so good. A great little machine.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Very impressed - so far!"
    Ms Walker

    28 June 2019

    The instruction booklet with the machine is extremely good, covers everything needed and is very easy to follow (unlike many instruction booklets that come with products these days!). I do think that the markings on the measuring cup are a little difficult to see, e.g. especially when the cup is filled with flour, and perhaps this is something that could be improved. The breadmaker is compact, just right for a small kitchen and ideal for 1 or 2 people. It is also smart to look at and I hope I shall get a lot of use from it

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Excellent Breadmaker"
    Mrs Newberry

    13 June 2019

    The size is ideal for the two of us. It is a neat and compact size. I am still experimenting with flour combinations but each loaf has been delicious. I use Muscovado sugar and mixed seeds with a combination of Spelt brown, malted brown and some strong white. The result is a delicious, malted loaf, full of goodness! The only complaint is the paddle embeds itself in the loaf. I was hoping to buy a spare at Chester store but was told out of stock until mid September.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Perfect bread maker for a single person or small household"
    Mrs Michie

    09 May 2019

    I live in Beijing (China) and my kitchen here is compact, to say the least. Buying decent bread in China is a real problem, so I thought I should make my own. I bought this smaller Bread Maker from Lakeland about a year ago and brought it out to China. It has served us well. I even made Hot Cross Buns!! The machine is easy to use and the instruction booklet is very clear with a range of breads one can make. I often use the 'dough' option in order to make Ciabatta. Now I am going to sacrifice a bit of kitchen worktop space and get a bigger machine.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "compact 1 lb bread maker"
    Mrs Phillips

    29 April 2019

    received my bread maker yesterday, made my first bread today, half gone in one sitting, not good for my diet, but it is so lovely eating really fresh bread, first class bread maker.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Brilliant breadmaker"
    Mrs Glynis Forbes

    18 April 2019

    I have had my compact breadmaker for nearly a year and I absolutely love it. It is easy to use and makes an attractive looking loaf. I live alone, so (unless I am cooking for guests) half the loaf lasts me two days and I slice and freeze the rest. I normally use the basic loaf recipe and halve the recommended amount of sugar as otherwise it is too sweet. I also weigh out the flour as the provided cup filled twice does not give anywhere near the required 320g, and I replace 30g flour with rolled oats which improves the texture of the final product - delicious!

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Fantastic, wish I’d bought this years ago."
    Mrs Duffy

    15 April 2019

    This bread maker is great and so easy to use. I have made several of the loaves, all were lovely, well baked and just the right size for 2 people. Next try will be to make pizza dough. Often thought about having a bread machine but never bought one till now. So sorry I didn’t buy this one years ago.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    2

    "Going downhill!"
    Mrs Selby

    06 April 2019

    I loved the first few loaves I made in this machine. They were well risen very tasty. Since then I’ve never had a decent loaf ! They’ve either imploded or been small . At first I used the Laucke bread mix which was fine mixed with Carr’s bread flour. Latterly I’ve been using just the bread flour, not one loaf has been any good. I’ve had advice from customer services and followed it but still the loaves are not up to scratch ,about two thirds the size of the first ones. I’ve tired adjusting everything,water ,salt,sugar,yeast flour and baking time. We have eaten them all however!

    A person icon A note from the team

    We'd advise to make sure the yeast is as fresh as possible. Always add the liquid first and the yeast last. We'd also advise luke warm warmer as water which is too hot or cold can kill the yeast, as can letting it come into contact with salt.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Bread - can I make banana bread?"
    Miss PERKINS

    30 March 2019

    I am loving my new breadmaker and now wanting to experiment further beyond the included recipes. Wondering if anyone has found a banana bread recipe which works? Thanks!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We hope you're able to find a recipe which works and we'd love to hear about it if you do!

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Good value for price"
    Mr Holder

    02 March 2019

    Still learning but would love to learn more from other users' experiences. Using the supplied recipes produces excellent bread. Paddle sticking (making extraction of loaf difficult) has been overcome by using a little oil to lubricate the axle before placing the paddle. When I purchased this I also bought the Carrs wholemeal readimix. Having done the arithmetic on proportions of solid/liquid, each and everytime I get top sagging. Has anybody met and overcome this problem? - I've got rather a lot of the Carrs product!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear the bread is excellent. You could perhaps try reducing the liquid by 15ml 3tsp next time or add a little extra flour. We hope this helps.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Marvellous small machine"
    Mrs Cole

    02 March 2019

    I have thought about getting a bread maker for some time but put it off saying" can't be bothered with all that messing about". How wrong I was, its so easy, just follow the instructions, a few easy steps and the bread is on its way. I have made several loaves since receiving my machine from plain white to date and walnut, I have also tried making rolls, not too successful the first time, but I think it was my fault. Having a go at more rolls this week end hoping for improvement.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Exactly as described!"
    Miss Reid

    28 February 2019

    Love almost everything about this bread maker, it’s only downfall is how irritating the paddle getting wedged in the bread is. Why does it do this every time? The bread is always fantastic but I end up butchering the bottom of the bread trying to get the paddle out.

    A person icon A note from the team

    The kneading paddle should remain inside the bread pan when the bread is released but occasionally it may remain inside the loaf of bread. If so, remove it using the hook before slicing the bread.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    4

    "New machine"
    Mrs Davies

    03 February 2019

    Just bake my first loaf and it came out to sweet and dense, not as good as the bread I make by hand. I measure everything correctly. Measuring jug is really hard to read the measures

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    4

    "Confusion!"
    Mr Pearson

    17 January 2019

    Machine easy to use, however first white loaf was fine but the next two with mixed amounts of white and whole meal both sank on the top. Lakeland’s expert told me “you cannot mix different flours”, yet the recipe for whole meal bread clearly uses two flours,! Also the diagram shows adding salt to the top of the flour but the recipe adds it with the liquid? Still on a learning curve however.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Ideal for me"
    Mrs Orchard

    02 January 2019

    Perfect size for my small kitchen: small enough to be placed on the worktop below a cupboard - even with the lid open - and when not in use tucks away into a cupboard taking up very little space. Small loaves are ideal for one person to use up before going stale. It does suffer from the usual problem that the base cooks crisper than the top, but I have resolved this by opting for light crust (which makes it much easier to extract the paddle as well) and then adding extra crisping in a hot oven. Still practising to perfect my ideal recipe, but all loaves so far edible (and tasty) so very happy.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Brillant Customer Service"

    30 September 2018

    Sorry but I didn't know where else to praise your customer service. They have handled my query regarding the problems I was having in a very professional manner and in 24hrs my machine was replaced. No hassle really just what what it says CUSTOMER SERVICE. Thank you to everyone in the team involved. At other stores Customer service response normally takes days then the stress of getting someone to understand the problem let alone to be offered a replacement. I am totally blown away with the service. Buying from Lakeland gives an added feeling of security to online purchasing.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    4

    "Very clever"
    Mrs DAY

    27 September 2018

    This item is compact and easy to use. It really does hide away on the smallest of shelves. I find the bread is better when cooked immediately after putting in the ingredients as sometimes the corners on a loaf baked overnight have pockets of flour in them. The only thing I find difficult is the very faint markings on the measuring cup bearing in mind how exact the quantities need to be for a good loaf. If these markings could be made easier and clearer then this would be a spot on bread maker.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm delighted to hear you find this bread maker so handy and easy to store! I'll be sure to pass your suggestion on to our Buyers.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    4

    "Husband's present"
    Mrs Robinson

    27 September 2018

    My husband loves his bread so I bought it for his birthday. First loaf was good but afterwards quite a few were flat and like bricks. Then my husband realised the machine was next to a boiling kettle possibly letting in steam through the vents. Next time we made a loaf the machine was well away from anything and We are now getting good risen loaves. Think we might have solved the problem. Use with good airflow around it. Although it's been a bit trial and error we are happy with the bread this small machine produces.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm delighted to hear you're now having good risen loaves! Thanks again for your feedback.

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    5

    "Perfect for a couple"
    Mr Anderson

    20 September 2018

    I bought this bread maker a few weeks ago after much research, including Which magazine. It was the right size for our small kitchen and suitable for the two of us. My wife wasn't too keen on the idea, and so it took months before finally deciding to buy one. First I baked the basic white loaf without using the time function to make sure it came out OK. We were both delighted with this first result, and my wife was already impressed! The next loaves were wholemeal, using menu 3 overnight. Absolutely perfect! Both my wife and I came to the conclusion that we should have bought this years ago.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm delighted this breadmaker works so well for you!

    Lakeland White Compact 1lb Daily Loaf Bread Maker

    4

    "A Good Work Out"
    Patricia

    07 September 2018

    The size of this breadmaker is perfect and can sit on the worktop without taking up too much space. On first use even having greased the paddle and pan I could not get the loaf out I tried shaking, I tried a spatula, I tried shaking it again then I had a coffee before shaking it again. Finally it released - a great work out !! It did make a beautiful loaf.I contacted Lakeland who have advised that I leave the loaf to cool a bit before trying to remove it. I will try again. Thanks Lakeland AGAIN for helping me with this problem. That is why I purchase from you - excellent customer service.

Back to product page