Lakeland Box Grater

£9.99

1.6 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (10 reviews)

Product number: 15164

Quantity

Quick! Last chance to buy

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 10 of 10

    Sign in and write a review
    Lakeland Box Grater

    1

    "Dangerous!"
    Ruth

    25 July 2016

    Bought this last year to replace cheap graters I'd used before. Today I have binned it after cutting across four fingers yet again. I've tried holding it different ways, and am always incredibly careful but it's just far too sharp to risk again. Not fit for purpose, in my opinion.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the feedback and taking the time to speak to me on the phone, I'm glad that your fingers are on the mend. The nature of the product does mean that it needs to be sharp so one with a guard may be more suitable like the OXO Good Grips complete grate and slice set, ref 19307.

    Lakeland Box Grater

    3

    "lethal"
    Michelle Whiston

    29 June 2016

    It's a good grater in the respec of it being very sharp but beware I grated my thumb quite badly Very easy to clean and it doesn't slide around the work top

    Lakeland Box Grater

    4

    "Amazingly easy to clean"
    Brenda Mancktelow

    26 January 2016

    I purchased this in 2015 as my old grater was so difficult to clean and moved about as all metal. This is strong with rubber non-slip base. After grating cheese, I put my hand inside the grater and drag my fingers down from top to bottom to remove all the cheese (if you do this from base to top you could catch your fingers). I then remove the rubber seal, wash it in soapy water, then wipe dry and hang it on my kitchen towel holder to 'air dry', I then place the grater in the soapy water and brush off any cheese, then place it in the dishwasher for a normal wash. All ready for the next use.

    Lakeland Box Grater

    1

    "A totally underwhelming purchase"
    Mr Butterworth

    16 November 2015

    I bought this grater a couple of months ago as a spur of the moment purchase without having read any of the reviews. The removable rubber base refuses to stay attached to the base despite my best efforts. The main grating surface is very sharp. Although I have lost skin off the tips of my fingers from time to time I won't complain as it copes with grating anything. The other grating surfaces are inadequate and unusable. The metal is so thin on the slicer surface that it cannot cope with slicing anything, bending as soon as it is touched. Very poor quality

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the feedback. I'm really sorry that you'd been disappointed with the grater, I'll be in touch shortly.

    Lakeland Box Grater

    1

    "Dreadful"
    Mrs Wilson

    11 September 2015

    I bought this grater to replace a well loved but blunt one, like the previous reviewer I too wished I'd read the reviews. The rubber seal around the bottom comes off and water gets trapped. The larger grater is lethal, my husband lost the tip of his finger and I lost a chunk of thumb. It is far too sharp and proud. The slicer didn't work and the smaller grater was useless - it wasn't smooth enough for the fruit to glide across the surface. Sorry Lakeland you have got it wrong this time - this item needs removing from your shelves before someone has a serious accident.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review and speaking with us today. We're sorry you've been so disappointed and had such difficulties with the grater. We've now updated the design so the rubber seal along the bottom comes off for easier cleaning but we're pleased we have put things right for you.

    Lakeland Box Grater

    1

    "Not worthy of Lakeland"
    Mrs worthington

    05 May 2015

    Oh how I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing this grater. I thought the rubber handle would be user friendly but it is actually too narrow to hold properly, the grater blades are razor sharp but odd design and the side for grating cheese did not grate very well and then almost took the skin off my fingers. The rubber "seal" around the base is actually a cover and needs to be removed before washing so I guess would probably very quickly become too loose to stay on. I will not be using this grater again. Wish I had kept the packaging as this would be going straight back for a refund.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you've been disappointed with this grater. We'll be in touch shortly to help further.

    Lakeland Box Grater

    1

    "Disappointing"
    Angela

    16 August 2013

    Sadly I have found this grater very difficult to use. I think the problem is that the blades are so proud and so sharp that it is hard for food to glide across them. Particularly citrus fruit gets caught and I usually end with chunks of peel rather than zest. It also eats my washing up brush as it clings to the bristles. I am going to have to buy an alternative.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the grater hasn't worked as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Lakeland Box Grater

    2

    "Disappointing"
    Elizabeth

    15 May 2013

    I bought this grater a few months ago to replace one we'd had as a wedding present over 30 years ago. This one grates efficiently enough, but when its washed, water tends to accumulate in the rubber base bit. I have had several incidents where old washing-up water has dripped onto a meal I was preparing. To get round this we try and remember to take the rubber base off before washing it, but that's a bit of a faff. I have now given up and gone back to my ancient but hassle-free grater from the last century.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review - we do hope you've been able to find a suitable replacement. We've now updated the grater so that the rubber base is removable for easier cleaning.

    Lakeland Box Grater

    1

    "Difficult to clean"
    Mrs Mencher

    05 March 2013

    Grates well, but is impossible to clean, so I've gone back to my old grater which just rinses off.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you've had difficulties cleaning the grater. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Lakeland Box Grater

    1

    "WARNING"
    Sue

    01 February 2013

    This grater is efficient but very, very sharp. I have twice cut the knuckle of my thumb when using it and now have to stop before the whole piece of cheese has been grated to prevent my fingers getting too near the metal.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. You do need to take care when using this type of grater.We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Back to product page