Doves Farm Vitamin C

£4.99

3.6 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (17 reviews)

Product number: 13122

Quantity

In Stock

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 17 of 17

    Sign in and write a review
    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    5

    "Added goodness"
    Ms KEEFE

    28 November 2018

    This is the missing link that I have found for breadmaking. It is a healthy to the mix. NB:Body does not store Vit C so needs replenishing every day.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    4

    "Odd packaging choice"
    Mr Tasker

    21 May 2018

    It's no accident that the commercial bakers all use vitamin C as a 'flour improver'; it works for me too. However I took the time to register here to amplify others' comments - this product comes in a half-full plastic tube which is too flimsy, in my experience, to last until it's empty.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    1

    "It didn't improve my hand baked loaves"

    03 May 2018

    I bought this only because a food writer raved about it. I noticed when hand kneading that the dough was lumpy and broke rather than stretching. When proved and baked loaves didn't rise properly and came out the oven heavy with a rock cake-esque lumpy crust. My white loaves were not white inside either. They were beige instead! I've just made a third loaf, now, with brand new packet yeast, in order to check it wasn't my yeast at fault. Conclusion: it must be the dough 'improver'. Not all experiments are a success! I'll stick to my old method. Maybe it's better in a bread machine?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for submitting you review. We're disappointed to note the Vitamin C you added didn't improve your loaves. We trust that your tried and tested method is still achieving desired results for you.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    4

    "great results but..."

    21 August 2017

    I find that 1/4 tsp is very effective in giving consistently good results when using 50/50 wholemeal flour and either brown or white flour with 3 tabs seeds but the packet contents last longer than the packet, I had to decant into a clean glass jar when the bottom of the plastic pack disintegrated

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    5

    "Very good"
    Jonathan

    03 December 2012

    This really does help the bread to rise.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    4

    "vitamin C the good and the bad"
    dominic

    09 November 2012

    I used this at a rate of 2 teaspoons a kilo- is this too much?- it made a soft textured more-ish loaf. Its a pity that it's marketed in a tube twice the volume of the contents. Customers don't need this elementary con trick- perhaps Dove could be as green as they are organic and change this!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. As a general rule, we recommend using one quarter of a teaspoon per 500g of flour. The container is of a handy size, allows settling of the contents and is clearly marked with the weight of the powder at 120 gms.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    2

    "BEWARE - FRAGILE PACKAGING"
    Mrs Donoghue

    03 February 2012

    I have received 2 of these packages and both have arrived split. The first arrived in a large box with other goods but had split along the whole length of the tube seam and Lakeland replaced it immediately. The second arrive in its own box, coddled in bubble wrap and extra packing, but was still cracked in 2 places. The problem is not the packing or the courier but the EXTREMELY FLIMSY AND FRAGILE TUBE WHICH IS SIMPLY NOT ROBUST ENOUGH FOR TRANSIT. I have declined another replacement or refund (most of the product is still useable) but would not order this product again for delivery.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry that you've been disappointed on two occasions. I think you've been extremely unlucky and hope you'll be able to regain confidence in the item at a later date.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    5

    "Excellent for Spelt Flour Bread"
    Mrs Sylvia Hebden

    19 July 2011

    Bread made with spelt flour (in my bread machine) is usually flat-topped and very dense. Adding half a tspn of Vitamin C to 500gms of flour certainly made an improvement. However, by accident, I once added a heaped teaspoonful to my ingredients (to which I always add a handful of oats + linseed flakes) and the result was amazing. The loaf was too big to fit into my breadbag, and was so light & fluffy, I now always add a heaped teaspoon to my mixture. Highly recommended!

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    4

    "Great product shame about the packaging"
    Jane

    13 June 2011

    This review is for an older version of this product

    Love this product, makes my loaves seem even lighter. My breadmaker makes great bread so no problem there but adding the Vit C does seem to make wholemeal loaves lighter in texture. One small gripe, why is the plastic tub so tall and long? Contents settle immediately to about half way down the tub and even though I have long and narrow measuring spoons it's a real effort to get the 1tsp measure down and filled. Have decanted to an old baking powder tub - much easier.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    5

    "No Problems Here"
    Lyn

    17 February 2011

    I bought this product after reading I needed vitamin C in my wholemeal bread to help it rise. I have produced lovely loaves which are light and enjoyed by my husband, who is the first to tell me if the loaf has a dense stoggy taste. Whether it is to do with the addition of the vitamin C I dont know, but I will certainly continue to use it.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    1

    "Disappointed"
    Mrs Penny

    13 September 2010

    I have just used this vitamin C in my usual recipe white bread and was very disappointed. It rose less than usual and had a dense texture. I used the same flour, yeast etc that I usually use, the only difference was the addition of the vitamin C. I know it's possible that I made a mistake with the measurements but I'm not sure I want to waste the flour trying again.

    A person icon A note from the team

    I'm sorry to hear that the use of the vitamin C was not successful. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    5

    "Works for me"
    Janette J McKilligan

    30 April 2010

    I make most of my bread in a bread machine and think it turns out a pretty good loaf. However, after a recommendation, I have started using Vitamin C and have found it really improves the softness of the bread. I used to find I got a nice soft bread with wholegrain flour whereas the white was a little bit denser. This product has helped in both cases but especially the white. Your yeast may already contain Vitamin C. The brand I use does not so this is a must.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    1

    "Don't waste your money!"
    Sylvia

    01 April 2010

    I agree with Bill. After having great success with Claybrooke Mill Dough Improver for my wholemeal loaves I decided to try Vitamin C. What a disappointment! Loaves turned out really flat and heavy. I have now gone back to the Claybrooke Mill and once again have perfect wholemeal bread - lovely and light and very well risen.

    A person icon A note from the team

    I'm sorry that the product didn't live up to your expectations - we'll be in touch shortly.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    5

    "Vitamin C"
    Jethro

    15 March 2010

    This has worked really well every time I've used it. Really nice fluffy loaves. To Bill - It sounds to me like you've used Vitamin C in place of yeast. It shouldn't be used as a substitute, hence your flat loaves.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    1

    "Doesn't work"
    Bill

    06 March 2010

    Sorry to contradict the other reviews here, but... I've made three loaves with this product, and all have been flat as a pancake. I had previously been using a different product (and I regret I cannot remember what it was!) - this was great. It made light fluffy loaves that my kids loved. But not this one, even to the exact same recipe. I'd avoid it. Not cheap either. Additional update: Lakeland were absolutely excellent about refunding the cost of this for me. Many thanks.

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    5

    "Lighter loaves"
    Debbie

    02 February 2010

    This is brilliant. I've been using a bread machine for years, but adding a teaspoon of this to each of my wholemeal/ seeded loaves has really made a difference. The bread is so light and soft, and seems to be rising more. Highly recommended!

    Doves Farm Vitamin C

    5

    "Great stuff!"
    Mrs Andrea Greaves

    20 January 2010

    I bake regulary and have a favorite white recipe and I recently saw this and tried it out. I guessimated with 1 teaspoon for a loaf and it worked really well making it really fluffy. Have not tried it on brown yet (maybe tomorrow!) but I imagine it will work just as well. it is also good to know the children are getting an extra bit of vit.C as well!

Back to product page