Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

2.8 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (115 reviews)

Product number: 10619

The Clear Microwave Multi Steamer has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 115

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    4

    "Margaret"
    margaret

    16 July 2012

    We love the steamer it is great for our family as we have two teenage sons who can manage vast amounts of rice by themselves.We have had it just over a year and have used it mostly for rice and vegetables.We have not used it for anything with a sugar content.However it has cracked in several places,we are still using it with care but this has taken the silver lining off such a useful kitchen item.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with the multi steamer and will be in touch soon to help.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Microwave Mulit Steamer"
    Alison

    04 July 2012

    I love my microwave multi steamer, very useful for one person household. The inner container in mine has cracked extensively and the outer one has just started. I bought it 3 years ago and tend to use it at least once per week. So cost per use seems OK to me. I am ordering a replacement as it is so handy and easy to use.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    5

    "The most useful thing in your range"
    Chris

    02 July 2012

    I'm on my 5th now. The external bowls crack, inevitably, after about a year of daily use. The lids and a spare internal bowl for separate loads are still handy. And there it is, it works, it's fast, it's very light, it rinses and stores easily. Take out the internal basket + it's a casserole with a lid. I use it every day. Tougher would be better, but possibly make it heavier and more trouble to store. One for your boffins.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    4

    "Fab Steamer but"
    Ruth

    29 June 2012

    I love these steamers and i am on my second one but they do have there faults. as mentioned in other reviews mine has cracked too. It has also discoloured after steameing carrotts. I still love my steammer and it makes the best rice.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We're sorry your steamer has cracked. We'll be in touch shortly.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    4

    "maureen"
    Maureen

    22 June 2012

    Had one of these bought me by a friend at xmas as she was stuck what to buy for me! its been absolutly wonderful and used most days, has started to show cracks but still in use, have read the reviews on the red ones which sound lots better than the clear ones so well done lakeland for improving on what we though couldnt be improved on, you are indeed a brilliant customer friendly firm. thank you

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    1

    "Recycling"
    Sue

    21 June 2012

    I had 5 clear multi steamers, all of which cracked / split. Don't throw them away. They make great patio pots for bulbs & plants! I have changed to the red steamers & no problem so far. I love them.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "think I have made a mistake"
    Richard

    15 June 2012

    I bought one of these a while back & it worked perfectly for a while & was the best thing ever, & then it cracked recently i thought I had done something wrong but I can now see from the reviews it was a product flaw. i ordered another one in the sale today & I not sure i should have done that given the flaw & that the cracking wasn't me doing something wrong. can you help?

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you've experienced this problem and thank you for taking the time to discuss this by phone today.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    5

    "Has been a wonderful product"
    Alison

    11 June 2012

    Like other mine is now cracked and had it's day but it has seen a lot of action and served me well, they are not expensive and nothing lasts forever so will be happy to buy the red one next time, it seems that the plactic is too hard and needs a bit more flexability, cook perfect rice EVERY time :)

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    2

    "Poor quality plastic lets its down"
    Mrs Dick

    23 May 2012

    I get great results for rice, potatoes and fish fillets. But I have just thrown away my third steamer, as like the first two, the plastic has cracked after about one year's use. A good product until the plastic fails - don't expect longevity.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review and taking the time to speak to us on the phone. I hope the red version we've sent proves to be more satisfactory.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Really good until it cracked"
    Lucy

    09 May 2012

    Great for cooking rice until it cracked, leaving our microwave flooded with boiling water. This does seem to be a common problem as my mum's cracked as well - what a shame!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm sorry you and your mum have experienced this problem and will be in touch soon to help.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Great but they do crack (and be careful!)"
    Miss Pooky Knightsmith

    08 March 2012

    This steamer cooks rice perfectly every time. I use mine often. I'm going to buy a new one as, like other reviewers, mine has cracked and now leaks. I'm lost without it though so happy to buy another one, and perhaps a back up too! A word of warning - ALWAYS use oven gloves to remove this from the microwave and remove the lid with extreme care as the steam gets VERY hot.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Shame about the base!"
    Julie

    27 February 2012

    Steamer was great to use but unfortunately the base has cracked despite not being used that often . This seems to be a common complaint. Is there a better base available ? Julie

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone. I hope red version I've sent proves to be more satisfactory.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    2

    "cracked & leaking"
    Helen

    23 February 2012

    I was looking to purchase a new steamer as ours has cracked & leaks, Having seen this problem is not unique I may re-consider......shame as it was great for a short while.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to learn of the problem you'd had. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Great idea - shame it's cracked"
    Jo

    09 February 2012

    I was introduced to this item by a friend who swore by it, & I had to have one! I love it as it makes cooking rice so simple & mess-free, although I haven't tried adding other ingredients during cooking in case it damaged the plastic. I am disappointed that despite taking care, it has cracked after only six months of moderate use. It looks from these reviews that unfortunately this is quite common, so I can't give it more stars. I'm hooked on the idea, so I'll have to replace it, but might try the red one next time.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Multi Steamer"
    Lynn

    01 February 2012

    I love my multi steamer but it has cracked. I checked your website to see if it is still available so i can purchase another although i have not had it a year yet. I saw from the other reviews that this appears to be a common problem. I will try the new red version next time and hope this lasts longer.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Good but needs replacing"
    Dina

    18 January 2012

    This steamer has served me well for a year or so, purely for vegetable steaming. But I have noticed many cracks all over the bottom just like the other reviews have said. Before it starts leaking I am replacing it, I don't want an accident in the microwave! I do believe it should have lasted a while longer than it did as I have only put it into the dishwasher about twice in its lifetime! Always washed it by hand instead. Oh well. :)

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to learn that the steamer has developed cracks. I'll be in touch with you shortly.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Another cracked bowl"
    Gertrud

    12 January 2012

    I was just going to order a replacement microwave steamer because the bowl of mine has cracked. After reading the other reviews I realise that this is a common occurrence. I will therefore not order a replacement. Seems disappointing and is the first time I have not been satisfied with an item. However, I will still be placing an order for another food flask as this has been very popular with my son.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    3

    "Great shame it cracked!! Lost without it!"
    Emma Smith

    04 January 2012

    Have used this regularly for rice for just under a year, cracks started to appear about a month ago, I used it last week and to my horror it completely cracked down the outer layer, covering my microwave in hot starchy water! I've always hand washed it, and am completely gutted its cracked so badly especially whilst in the microwave!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks you for the review. I'm sorry to hear of the problem you'd had, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    4

    "Perfect Rice Every Time"
    Caroline

    15 December 2011

    I think this steamer is an absolutely brilliant addition to the kitchen, particularly for cooking rice. I always use to end up with soggy, overdone rice. With this, you put in the rice, add just enough cold water to cover it and then microwave on full power for 12 minutes and the rice is just spot on. Obviously, it will vary depending on the type of rice and the microwave. The only disappointing feature is that the inner, draining bowl seemed to disintegrate after one year, so I am just about to buy another. But I have to have one!

    Clear Microwave Multi Steamer

    1

    "Does the job - but cracks."
    Kathryn

    15 December 2011

    I'm on the second one of these, as I had to take the first one back to the store I bought it from after less than a year. It had cracked badly on the base of the outer bowl, and leaked boiling hot water every time I used it. The store told me I should only put it in the top rack of my dishwasher - which was all I had ever done! This one has probably been in my dishwasher six times and it has still cracked. So, if it isn't dishwasher safe then it shouldn't be marked as such. And as other reviewers have also noted that it cracks, perhaps it isn't microwave safe either. Sorry, I'm NOT impressed.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for your review. Foods with high sugar or fat content can reach very high temperatures in the microwave. Working with our supplier we developed the red microwave steamer which is slightly more flexible allowing it to withstand these higher temperatures. We'll be in touch to help.

Back to product page