Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

2.4 stars out of 5 based on reviews. (34 reviews)

Product number: 19478

The Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling has been discontinued.

Share

  • Sort by

    Showing reviews 21 - 34 of 34

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Frustrating cake tin"
    Karen

    20 March 2015

    Tin itself is fine but I have tried this 5 times and the base is not strong enough to hold the weight of the cake and it collapses, frustrating when you are making it for a birthday the next day. A lot of wasted cakes and sweets, not the best design Lakeland has had, disappointed in the product.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for the feedback, I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the results you had. I'll be in touch shortly.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    4

    "Worked well!!"
    Rhianydd

    21 January 2015

    Was a bit nervous about using this after reading the poor reviews but am really pleased with it. I used a normal chocolate sponge cake as my base so it would support the rest of the cake better. I baked the piñata bit in the tin with my normal chocolate recipe and it came out well - but top tip I used lots of the cake release spray and make sure you grease the insert bit both top and bottom. I then filled the inside with mini eggs and used chocolate buttercream to sandwich the 2 cakes together and also decorate. My daughter is very impressed & can't wait to eat it at her b'day party tonight!!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thank you for placing your review. I'm delighted to hear how pleased your daughter is with her cake and hope her Birthday party went well.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Awful product!!!!!"
    Louise

    29 December 2014

    I've tried this three times now with the exact recipe and instructions on the packaging and it has fallen to pieces every time!!! The shape is flawed- the cake cannot withstand the weight of the filling and top half and the pan itself is NOT non stick. This is definitely going back- I'm only giving it 1 star as there is no option for zero!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Not impressed!"
    Elaine

    15 December 2014

    I have tried twice with this, once by greasing with margarine and the other greasing with a solid vegetable fat and dusting with flour - what a waste of time, I'll have yet another try using a Pyrex dish! Will be contacting Lakeland to request a refund!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to learn that you'd been disappointed with the results, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    1

    "Piñata cake pan"
    Mrs Taylor

    09 December 2014

    Followed the instructions to the letter using the Lakeland recipe. Absolute disaster. Cake was lopsided and despite greasing tin thoroughly it stuck solid. Had to soak for ages, after removing the cake in pieces, to get the stuck remains off. With my daughters birthday tomorrow I wish I had read the reviews first and not bothered using the tin. I have used the second half of the cake mix to make a round cake which I will hollow out by hand and fill with sweets. Just not non-stick enough.

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    2

    "Non stick?"
    Mrs Collin

    24 November 2014

    Bought this as I thought it would be quick and easy to bake in for a birthday party. I was wrong. Followed the recipe, that was fine. Baked the cake but when it came to turning it out, it was stuck fast. Thought I hadn't greased week enough so take 2, greased more than ever and remember to flour but had the same problem. Had to resort to plan b. Next time, will try lining though due to the dome shape, I think it'll be a bit tricky. Not for a novice baker in my opinion. Saying that, the actual cake recipe was delicious.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review.We're sorry for the problems you're having and will be in touch shortly.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    3

    "Mixed review"
    SUSANNE

    21 November 2014

    Followed the lakeland magazine chocolate recipe to the letter both cakes turned out uneven although I did turn the tins in the aga halfway through. When I put two cakes together the bottom one collapsed with the weight of the top half so I made a Victoria sponge base for the bottom half. Didn't risk the melts incase too heavy but used stencils and icing sugar to decorate and a icing pen.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    3

    "Good quality but doesn't work - may be my recipe...?"
    Emma Dormer

    19 November 2014

    I bake frequently, but like others have struggled with this product. It really does have to be well greased to ensure the cake turns out. Also, the tin does not work with just any cake batter - lighter cakes are not robust enough to hold their shape and they crumble. A more dense batter is needed. UK measurements and more than one recipe would be VERY much appreciated - this would help a lot with success rates... I am on attempt number four - if it fails this time it is on it's way to the charity shop! Other than that the tin itself is good quality and lightweight (hence 3 stars).

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    5

    "Perfect"

    18 November 2014

    I am not a cook or baker but this work perfectly. I made half of the cake and mounted it on a flat cake. The cake slipped out of the mould. I had no problems with sticking. I used butter substitute and flour as an anti sick on the mould. Perfect result. My advice is just to follow the instructions provided.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    3

    "collapsed!"
    Mrs Hicks

    18 November 2014

    I spent hours cooking and waiting for the cakes to cool down for them to only collapse when I put them together. Why? Followed lakeland recipe plus orange juice. Turned out ok on cooling rack. They were cold when I put them together but obviously couldn't cope with the weight. Help, what went wrong?

    A person icon A note from the team

    We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and have emailed to help.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    3

    "Will have to practice again"
    Helen Armishaw

    14 November 2014

    Have used it today for the first time and unfortunately it hasn't been a complete success. I greased and floured the tin but the first batch of mix overflowed and filled in the centre section and despite trying to tease the cake out it still broke up around the top edge. For the second attempt I REALLY greased and floured the tin and put in less mixture and the cake rose unevenly and didn't come to the top, although the cake came out easily, there is that telltale butter/flour mix on the surface of the cake, hopefully will be disguised with icing will need several more attempts to get it right

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you've had difficulties the first couple of time using the tin. Please let us know how you get on the next time and we'll be happy to help if this doesn't work. We'd recommend allowing the mix to settle and level for a while before placing in the oven to create a more even bake.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    2

    "Definitely not non-stick"
    Mrs Burnham

    30 October 2014

    This is not a non stick pan its a good job I did a trial run before the birthday as it came out in bits. Do line carefully.

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you're having difficulties with the cake pan. We'd always recommend with our cake pans to line or well grease before use. Many of our Lakeland customers recommend using the cake release [ ref 4198 ]

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    3

    "Pinata cake"
    Miss Blee

    30 October 2014

    This is a great concept and tastes great but I made it for first time and it turned out lobsided both times. I can cut it so it is balanced but do you have any recommendations as to why this may have happened? Also are there any other recipes for this cake tin? E.g. a chocolate recipe? Thanks!

    A person icon A note from the team

    Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the cake came out uneven. We'd recommend checking the mix is level before placing in the oven. This will ensure an even bake. You can use any favorite cake mix in the Pinata tin there are no set rules on which are best.

    Piñata Ball Shaped Cake Tin With Secret Filling

    5

    "Fantastic Pinata Cake Pan"
    Alex

    29 September 2014

    After seeing how much our kids love beating those paper Pinata Donkeys to death at parties, when I saw this at Lakeland i thought that's a genius idea. Yes you have to bake it twice to get the top and bottom to put together, but if you can't be bothered waiting 'buy two'. When you see the kids faces light up at all the sweets flooding out of the cake you'll understand why you go to the effort of making the cake. I did. Good quality lightweight aluminium with non-stick, but recommend you brush the inside with butter and flour so the cake comes out cleanly. Highly recommend.

Back to product page