You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories
Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories
4.6 stars out of 5 based on 68 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 68

Agreed - this is a lovely yogurt makerby Patricia Revill

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I was not sure whether to go with this yogurt maker or the Easiyo system and I am really glad I bought this one as it has worked really well, making use of a spare jar. At the moment I am using sachets of yogurt starter bought on the internet with super results, but I have made excellent yogurt with a (famous name) Greek yogurt starter. I also tried a sachet of Easiyo starter which I had in the cupboard. This turned out a bit too tangy for my taste buds as I left it overnight. Will give this another go but in the meantime the cheap option is more than good.

Published 16 Jul 2013

yummy yogurtby Jennifer A Yeates

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I bought your yogurt maker and used it for the first time this weekend, the results were excellent the first time,I shall continue to try different methods and will be buying one for my son and daughter in law who live in Italy. Incidently I quite like the spoon on the pot as well. J. Yeates.

Published 13 May 2013

A compact gadget success!by Heather

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I nade my own yogurt and the first time it was seriously good, best I had ever had. Well that must have been a fluke because it's never worked since! I used UHT milk as suggested as I think it is getting it the right temperature that is probably the answer and UHT avoids that issue. I made both normal and skimmed varieties and am really impressed. I shall experiment with some of the other suggestions in reviews on here as there seem to be some great ones. Anyone buying this won't regret it!

Published 26 Apr 2013

Excellent gadgetby Lizz

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

Used my yoghurt maker for the last 5 years when I have too much goat milk. Milk is scalded and thickened with 2 tbsp of dried milk, cool milk to 40C, add some yoghurt as starter, pour into pre-warmed maker and leave over 12 hours. If yoghurt is runny, depending on the time of year, I strain half of it through a plastic coffee filter, and mix the two halves together. I get a really sharp tasting yoghurt. Silly spoon lost at back of drawer and never used. Yoghurt stored in a clip box so a flat lid would be good. Love that gadget!

Published 01 Mar 2013

No yoghurt EVER tasted this good!by Mr Burgess

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I have just eaten the creamiest greek yoghurt I have ever tasted!! Got the method spot on first time out. How? Fresh Whole milk into saucepan - boil to 180F. (Turn machine on to warm it up) Let milk cool to 110F. Take cupful of milk from saucepan & very gently mix (in small bowl) with 2 tblespns of Natural Greek Yog. Add the mixture to saucepan & gently blend in. Fill container, put it machine for 7 hours. Put clean cotton T-shirt/t-towel over a sieve, drain liquid for 2 hours. What is left is the thickest, creamist yoghurt, put in fridge for couple of hours THEN TREAT YOURSELF. ENJOY

Published 25 Apr 2012

Love it!by JULIE

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

Bought this for my husband as a stocking filler as he is a fiend for homemade bread, wine etc. and loves yoghurt. He loves it and has experimented endlessly to create some superb yoghurts. It is excellent value for money and produces the creamiest yoghurts I have ever tasted. The litre container is a perfect amount and the product stores well for several days. |Simple to use with readily available raw materials without the need to buy any specialist products. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who regularly eats yoghurt. An excellent buy all round.

Published 24 Feb 2012

LOVE THIS PRODUCTby Judy

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I visited a friend in France and we had lovely thick yoghurt every day for breakfast thanks to this wonderful product. I bought one for myself and my two sons, who couldn't eat enough when they visited in the summer. I noticed in the summer my results were better than winter and I agree with other comments, it is best to warm the milk beforehand in the microwave (1 min) and my boys say they give it an extra hour. I use full UHT milk for set yoghurt and strain it for really thick yoghurt. I just love this product, have two pots and agree a flat lid would be marvellous for storage in fridge.

Published 06 Feb 2012

Wonderful resultsby Moray

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

Used UHT full fat, 2 tablespoons of natural yoghurt and 2 tablespoons of milk powder. Stirred it all together gently turned the machine on overnight and woke up to wonderfully thick natural yoghurt - it really was as foolproof and simple as that, and all for the equivalent of around 50p a large pot ! My boys (5,10 and 11) are full of ideas for flavours.... Day 1 - Rosehip syrup stirred in Day 2 - Walnut and maple syrup Day 3 - Lemon Curd Day 4 - Blackcurrant jam Day 5 - a teaspoon of milk shake flavouring - colour and flavour. At this rate it will pay for itself in less than a month! Very pleased indeed.

Published 12 Aug 2011

fantastic little machineby Mrs wilkinson

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

it is so easy to use and makes fantastic yoghurt. I make cream cheese from it too! have recommended it to many people.

Published 27 Mar 2011

Fantastic product - would not be without itby Christine

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I have had nothing but success using the Yoghurt Maker. I have used skimmed, semi-skimmed and full fat milk and add a couple of tablespoons of dried milk powder. Always a delicious end result. Highly recommended.

Published 24 Mar 2011

First batchby Peter Giblin

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

Worked really well. I used semi skimmed UHT and some milk powder with organic vanilla as a starter (there was no plain live yoghurt in the supermarket). The yoghurt came out almost as thick as the Greek variety. Pretty impressed.

Published 22 Jan 2011

So simple and so deliciousby B J

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I've had (and constantly used) my yoghurt maker for many years now and I find it brilliant. I'd like a flat lid for fridge storage but that's a minor point - I just transfer the yoghurt to a Lakeland stack-a-box! My tried and tested mixture is to use a bit more starter yoghurt (about 2 Tbsp) then stir in half a can of evaporated milk and finally top it right up to the top (allow about 0.5cm gap) with full fat UHT milk. This gives a delicious creamy yoghurt that needs no added sugar.

Published 05 Jan 2011

Electric Yogurt Maker accessoriesby Mrs Vivien Lawrence

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I'v had one of these for many years now and wouldn't be without it - lovely thick & creamy! I always filter it when cooled with some marvelous cone shaped sieves bought from you years ago, v. good if the yogurt turns out a little runny. Any chance of you stocking these again as mine are now wearing out and getting holey? I've even made cream cheese by leaving the yogurt for several days longer in the seives - yummy.

Published 17 Oct 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I've passed your suggestion to the buyers for their consideration

Well worth havingby Joy Clark

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I bought this in the Chelmsford shop a month or so ago after reading the reviews on this site. I agree that the spoon is an incomprehensible addition - I can't see what use it actually has and it makes cleaning the bowl and lid that much more fiddly - and the dial on the lid is totally unnecessary, but neither of these niggles detract from the fact that this is a brilliant little machine which totally earns its space on the work top. I use half a litre of long life semi-skimmed milk, one tablespoon of skimmed milk powder and a couple of tablespoons of the previous batch of yogurt. I leave the mix in the machine for about ten hours. It makes the most wonderfully thick, delicious natural yogurt and I haven't bought any from the shops since starting to use it. If it wasn't for the ridiculous dial, spoon, and pot and lid shape, I would give this product five stars - the yogurt it produces certainly IS five star. It's just a shame about the niggles.

Published 17 Oct 2010

Problem Solved!by James

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

After being disappointed at first I decided to give the yogurt maker I last try before having to drive another 60 mile round trip to return it. I again used full fat UHT milk with a live yogurt starter but also added 2 tablespoons of skimmed milk powder...left it over night and woke up to a nice mild creamy yogurt with a regular yogurt consistency. After leaving it in the fridge to fully chill it thickened up even more. I will no longer be returning my yogurt maker and would recommend it. I agree the spoon is quite annoying and I removed mine! A flat lid for when in the fridge would also be good!!!

Published 08 Sep 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for re-submitting your review. I'm glad that you have solved the problem.

Easy as U.H.T.!by Craig Judd

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

This product is amazing, and surprised no-one's mentioned the easiest option from the instructions in the reviews above - use Evaporated Milk which give an almost 'set yoghurt' luxury texture & taste, and should allow those with 'runny failures' above to get successful results without need to prep the milk first and get powdered milk balances right. You'd need to compare the instructions for the exact amounts depending upon the size of the tins you buy, but simply put the Yeo Valley (full fat) starter in the pot, add a two tins (may get away of tin & a half for even thicker mix) of ROOM TEMPERATURE Carnation evap milk or store brand which is cheaper, give it a stir then leave it for the 8+ hours. It's naturally sweet and then also works perfectly as a starter for the next batch. No need for boiling and no need for powdered milk. Leave it longer and it almost turns into concrete - must be something about the evaporation process.

Published 03 Sep 2010

A note from the team: Many thanks for placing your review and for giving such useful information for other customers.

Almost perfect.by Jacqui

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

Almost, because I must concur the serving spoon is exceedingly naff. The yoghurt maker is brilliant though. The simplicity is astounding: last night I put 2 tbsp of dried milk into room temperature UHT milk, stirred, then added 2 tsp of live yoghurt, stirred again, and then popped the jug into the warmer and left it until I got up this morning. Wow, the yoghurt was thick, tasty and mild, I wondered if it would be very tart, and it's not. We ate some with muffins for breakfast - then I used some to make frozen banana and maple syrup "yogo"shakes and the children demanded seconds. Very impressed with this gadget indeed.

Published 26 Aug 2010

wonderful surpriseby Mrs Dora Veleva

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

I come from a country that is known to be the land where yoghurt was made for the first time, even the bacteria is called Bulgaricus. Making home yoghurt is still tradition and most women here use the old-fashioned way of wrapping the vessel and covering with blankets to keep it warm. It is wonderful surprise now to see that there is an easier way and the result is perfect.

Published 23 Jul 2010

Yummy yoghurt!!!by Kerry Sturch

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

This is an absolutely brilliant product. I'm now on my third batch of thick, creamy low fat yoghurt with no problems whatsoever!! I use semi-skimmed uht milk (none of that boiling malarkey!!) and add a good helping of dried skimmed milk powder with excellent results. I'm going to try skimmed milk next. I do agree with previous comments that the spoon is a bit daft although it is good for getting the last dregs out and it makes sure the lid is properly on. If the pot had been just a fraction larger there wouldn't be a tablespoon or so of milk left to be forgotten in the fridge. But hey!! All in all I'm extremely happy with my new gadget!!!

Published 24 Jun 2010

Y.M.C.A = Yoghurt Machine Customer Appreciationby Ms Howard

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker and Accessories

My recently self imposed cooking rules involve making all foods from the base ingredients where possible. I have therefore bought the yoghurt machine. It is a simple but effective machine and I am very pleased with it. Like other purchasers though, I think the unnecessary spoon is a silly addition and it results in a hole in the lid and a vertical groove in the jar which has to have extra attention when washing to make sure that no flecks of old yoghurt get caught there. Without the spoon, there would be no need to have the equally unnecessary domed lid. The designer just had not thought this through. I would have scored it 5 otherwise. It's a pity because it works so well. I have made yoghurt using full milk UHT which was excellent alone or with all manner of toppings. I strained ¼ of this batch through a fine nylon strainer and used this as a cream cheese spread to which I added salt, pepper and clipped fresh chives. It was seriously good and of similar consistency to most purchased cream cheeses. I have lots of ideas to use this for the future like adding tomato ketchup and topping with prawns, to adding Madras curry powder. The joy of this is that you can just flavour up a small portion for a quick sandwich and not have left over's sat in the fridge. My next batch of yoghurt was made with Semi skimmed UHT milk. This was good but was not as thick as the full milk variety. I made some of this into tiny yoghurt drinks by adding fruit and a little milk and putting it in a blender. It was very yummy. I shan't be buying over-priced probiotic drinks anymore. Yoghurt contains imunitass cultures naturally so I shan't be missing the health kick either. I read on the internet that Greek style yoghurt can be obtained by straining 1/4 of a batch (litre) of basic yoghurt then adding the strained solid to your next batch so this was my next test. I put it in my blender which also heats the contents and so ended up with a warm smooth mixture. Remember to only use 600mils of milk though or like me, you will have too much to fit in your machine. It really did taste excellent. Info from the internet says that yoghurt can be stored frozen for up to 3 months. I have therefore frozen some live yoghurt into an ice cube tray so that I am never without any. I shall be freezing some of the strained cream cheese too if I can manage to have some left over long enough. Freezing does not affect the taste, consistency or cultures. The cultures become dormant when frozen, but when thawed, they will become live and active once again. There will be a few cultures that do die, but there are so many billions in yoghurt, that it is truly insignificant. Always allow defrosting in the fridge rather than out of it and remember to stir before you serve. My next venture is to try making it with Soya Milk and various animal milks also making frozen yoghurt ice cream and then there are the face masks and other beauty products.... the possibilities are endless. Am I becoming a Yoghaholic? I hope I haven't bored you with my long narrative. My recommendation is that you buy one for yourself. I don't think it will disappoint.

Published 14 Jun 2010

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 4. Continue to the next .

1 3 4