You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags
Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags
5.0 stars out of 5 based on 22 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 22

The key to healthy eatingby Aden

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I love these bags - I have recently changed to a healthy eating regime and I was craving fresh veg. With the zip n steam bags I can have fresh steamed vegetables every day - with no additives. I found a website in the US selling a similar product which had some really good recipe ideas - and I have enjoyed experimenting. My latest favourite is mashed potato - peel and slice the potato, stick it in the bag with a teaspoon of water and a bit of salt. Zap it for 5 minutes and then I stick it in my ricer - add a bit of butter and milk - give it a stir. Quick mash to beat any you find anywhere.

Published 11 Apr 2013

Kitchen essentialby Karen

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I first discovered steam bags when I was working in the US, fed up with hotel food, and looking for healthy meals I could cook in the office microwave. The recipe on the packet included microwaved omelette. Yes, it worked a treat -- break a couple of eggs into the bag, season them, seal it, "whisk" by mushing the bag with your hands, and cook. After that, I was sold on the method, and delighted to see Lakeland stocking them when I returned to the UK. You can cook an amazing range of meals this way -- and you seal in the smell as well as the flavour, so they're perfect for fish.

Published 22 Jan 2013

Brilliant productby margaret bolt

4 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I use these all the time. Cooks veg, chicken or fish to perfection and no washing up! Large bags seem to have the same timings on them as the medium bags though. I would have expected timings for a larger amount as the bags take a larger quantity. I agree that it would be good if some recipes could be formulated for use with these bags as I think the limited instructions on the front of each bag do not do the product justice

Published 06 Feb 2012

Triciaby PATRICIA

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I am very impressed with your Zip 'n' Steam Bags, they are great time savers and food keeps a much better flavour.

Published 20 Sep 2011

Brilliant!by Judith Higgins

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

As a disabled person, I find these bags enormously helpful...saves washing up, cooks in minutes, light and easy to use, food tastes brilliant, especially fish and vegetables - saves time, money on utilities, energy, and keeps ME safe (not using heavy cooking utensils). Just perfect!

Published 03 Mar 2011

Great for Baby Food!by Philippa

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

These bags have been a life saver for whipping goo for my baby son. He used to turn his nose up at anything that didn't contain banana until I started using them. The "recipe" goes something like this: Grab and peel three random fruit / veg from the fridge. Cut into chunks and bung in the bag. Zap for 6/7 mins until mushy, and sieve or bung through a potato ricer. Split into two / three portions, and when ready to use mix with enough baby milk to produce a smooth but sloppy consistency (usually about 2floz).

Published 18 Feb 2011

Absolutely superby Gladys

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

Cooked whole bream in the bag and the fish tasted absolutely delicious, much better than my microwave traditional steamer and much quicker. Can't wait to try my veg now.

Published 04 Sep 2010

Zip 'n' Steam Bagsby Mrs Carol Sear

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I am returning to buy more of the bags because they are convenient and the tatste of the vegetables when cooked is superb. No flavour lost at all.

Published 03 Sep 2010

I bags these to be the best!by Lynda

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

These are fab! So convenient for the single person, less washing up and less wasted food. All we need now Lakeland, is a recipe book with ideas for easy, healthy meals to put in them, that would make my day. Well done!

Published 23 Aug 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback on the zip 'n' steam cooking bags. We've passed your idea for a recipe book to our buying team.

Superb Ideaby Ian Ross

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

Superb idea these, I have been using them for a number of years now, and they give superb results every time. I rarely cook any veg on the cooker now, why bother, these bags make it so easy. Highly recommended.

Published 20 Nov 2009

allotment 51by Rhina

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

Corn on the cob has never tasted soooooooooooo good. From the allotment and into the steamer bag for 3 min, and on to the plate. So so sweet and moist - no butter needed. All should give this a go.

Published 15 Aug 2009

Fantastic time saverby Helen

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I haven't used my electric steamer since finding the zip 'n' steam bags. Fantastic invention - perfectly cooked fish and veggies every time!

Published 04 Jul 2009

A REAL BOONby Margaret Bates

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

Since my Husband died, I have repeatedly found it very difficult to buy vegetables in suitable quantities. I had either to buy small quantities day by day or buy larger packs (often cheaper in the long run) and risk having to throw some away - not having previously had a really satisfactory method of freezing in single portions. Now, I have! I buy in the larger, cheaper packs, split the packs into single portions, place them in steamer bags and in the freezer. They are brilliant - but then, all Lakeland products are brilliant. ( I have just ordered another 2 packs of steamer bags this afternoon as I have run out, but know that Lakeland service is so good that I won't be without for long. Keep up the good work.

Published 08 Feb 2009

Brilliantby Angela

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I have thrown my steamer away.These are brilliant they save time and washing up.They cook perfectly.The cooking times on the front are really useful.

Published 25 Jan 2009

Fantastic time saversby Julie

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I find these fantastic, no getting out the steamer anymore, and no washing up, they are great for smaller portions as well. As somebody who is disabled I find these great as I don't have to worry about heavy pots and boiling water.

Published 17 Jan 2009

New to steamingby Miss HARRINGTON

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I have been thinking about buying a steamer for a while but have a small kitchen with little storage, so I bought some zip 'n' steam bags instead. What a great product, fish and veg were cooked beautifully in just a few minutes, and no washing up! Perfect for a super quick and healthy meal, I'm a steaming convert!

Published 31 Aug 2008

WOW!by DAWN

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I have thrown out my steamers! These are fantastic, you can do a family portion or a single portion. My friend who has a microwave phobia could not believe the flavour (told her afterwards!) I use them also to steam fish, veg, fruit.... a steamed apple with sugar and cream....perfect in minutes. Once you have used these you will never use those horrid steamers again. best of all no washing up afterwards just pop it in the bin. Best invention ever

Published 12 May 2008

Fantastic!by Fiona Culshaw

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I love these bags. I use them all the time, so much better than using a bulky steamer. I wouldn't be without them now, please don't discontinue ever!

Published 05 May 2008

Green greensby Susan Jiggens

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

Fantastic. I bought these as an easy alternative to steaming small quantities of vegetables in the steamer. All vegetables (particularly green) come out a beautiful 'real' colour, not the rather pathetic washed out colours that can come out of a steamer. The flavours are enhanced, they retain vitamins, and, it couldn't be easier!

Published 25 Mar 2008

Amazingby Cheryl Coombes

5 stars out of 5

Zip ’n’ Steam Cooking Bags

I love these bags, could not be without them. Not only are they fantastic and quick for vegetables but they are great for salmon too. I marinande my salmon in the bag for a few hours before due to cook them. Come out perfect every time. Thanks Lakeland

Published 09 Mar 2008

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2