You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Traditional Tagine
Traditional Tagine
4.0 stars out of 5 based on 31 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 31

Morocco pleasure at homeby Lucian

5 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I rediscovered the pleasure of enjoying Moroccan food and I recomand. Lakeland congratulations for quality of services !

Published 06 Mar 2014

Crack on tagineby Susan

2 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I purchased this in December of last year to bring back to France where I live. This has had limited use and has always been used when necessary with a diffuser. Although fine cracks appeared after usage, last night a loud crack was heard during the cooking process on the gas hob and this time the crack is right through the ceramic tagine rendering it unuseable. Your comments are awaited. I will be returning to UK for a short visit in August and can bring the tagine to the shop where bought in Taunton. Up until this point I had been very satisfied with the product.

Published 18 Jul 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon.

DANGEROUS - DO NOT BUYby Mrs Jacobson

1 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

This product is so dangerous. Do not buy it. It should be removed from sale as is clearly defective. On the first use, when I had followed the instructions completely (including buying the correct heat diffuser listed in the Tagine booklet for the hob) it cracked straight down the middle, there was piping hot liquid and really expensive lamb inside the tagine and without warning it suddenly broke in half, poured all over our hob, down the oven and onto the new wooden floor. We were so lucky that no serious injuries were caused - had there been a small child in the kitchen... VERY DANGEROUS!

Published 26 Mar 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and have been so disappointed.It does sound like you received a flawed Tagine on this occasion. We were happy to reimburse you for the wasted food and the cost of the Tagine and hope that you will consider purchasing a Tagine again as it's such a great way to cook.

love it, love it, love it :)by Rachael Fratczak

5 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

i've fancied one for ages & finally went for it after seeing them cook in one on 'Sat morning live'. I did a Bill Granger recipee & it was amazing! I cooked it in the oven & have no cracks in the pot (not even hairline ones), it didn't boil over, everything was cooked to perfection - i'm very happy with my purchase indeed!

Published 27 Feb 2013

Super little Productby Geraldine

5 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I received this along with the Diffuser that Lakeland sells as a Christmas present. I was very nervous about using it the first time in case it cracked into pieces etc! It was a resounding success! I used my smallest ring on the gas cooker and warmed the Tagine with Ghee in it very slowly to heat it up, then I was able to add food, turn up the heat and had no problem. I was careful when it came to adding liquid. I heated it up first before pouring it into the tagine. You need to put very little water etc into the food as there is no evaporation.Remove lid if necessary to allow reduction.

Published 23 Feb 2013

Tagineby Mhairi Young

4 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

My children bought me this gorgeous tagine for Christmas and today I have made a delicious lamb and prune concoction (after marinating in paste overnight.) The meal ws amazing: tender delicious and moist. However, even with diffuser and following instructions to the letter the sides of the base are ridden with tiny circular hairline cracks, more just lines at this time, but I'm concerned they will lead to full-blown cracks soon. Any help or comments?

Published 28 Jan 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone. Spider veins are extremely common in the glaze of Terracotta products - this is because when the product becomes hot the glaze expands which produces very fine lines. Because the lines are so fine, they do not affect the use of the tagine, and they simply add to the authenticity of a hand-made product

Delicious Food!by Mrs Johnstone

4 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I have found the Tagine to be a bonus in the kitchen. At the moment I'm cooking a 'beef casserole' just beef, onions, and carrots, with 4ozs of beef (gravy) stock. The outcome of the meat is always delicious and tender. I use it as I would for any casserole dish, but some how the meat is more tender. The only down side of the Tagine is the lifting of the lid! Perhaps a 'knob' at the top of the lid would have been better. :)

Published 13 Sep 2012

Bubble, bubble, no toil but nearly troubleby Mr Anderton

4 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

My first use of the tagine using a recipe in the instruction book was a success. I used it on the hob with a diffuser and whether this produces a different result to cooking it in the oven I don't know but it produced too much liquid which threatened to bubble over. I would suggest that half the quantities of stock in the recipe be used as, like a slow cooker, the liquid doesn't evaporate and, as the vegetables cook, they create a surfeit of liquid. Also, it was unclear how low a heat we are supposed to use. I used the smallest radiant on the hob on half light and found it worked.

Published 18 Jun 2012

Crackpot!by Paula

2 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I bought this tagine a while ago and used it on the hob with a diffuser. However, I have been put off using it, as, after only a couple of uses, like so many others have commented, it developed spiral cracks which go through the full thickness of the pot and I'm afraid it may fall part completely as others have experienced. It's a pity as it's a lovely looking pot otherwise and we did make a few nice meals in it!

Published 13 Mar 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. We’re pleased to say we’ve improved the way we’re packaging tagines in our stores as a response to customer feedback. Crazing is normal in the glaze of handmade terracotta products, but the product should not be used if a serious crack occurs. We’ll always be happy to replace a tagine if it develops a crack. We advise letting the tagine cool completely before washing by hand, and heating sauces/stock in a milk pan before adding to the tagine. We'll be in touch soon.

Dangerous item!!by Lisa

1 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I bought this tagine about one month ago and used it on the hob with the heat diffuser as advised by instore staff. On it's second using it cracked in half falling completely apart. Luckly I noticed the crack appearing and got the boiling ingredients out just before it fell apart. As the recipe's next step was to simmer it for 1.5 hours this could have been very dangerous. I have two small children who could have been badly injured if this happened while they were walking past the hob. I think this item should be removed from the shelves before someone is seriously hurt! Zero rating!!

Published 12 Mar 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for talking to us about your experience with the tagine. Your feedback has been very helpful. We’re pleased to say we’ve improved the way we’re packaging tagines in our stores as a response to customer feedback. Crazing is normal in the glaze of handmade terracotta products, but the product should not be used if a serious crack occurs, and you did the right thing by removing the contents. We’ll always be happy to replace a tagine if it develops a crack. We advise letting the tagine cool completely before washing by hand, and heating sauces/stock in a milk pan before adding to the tagine. Thanks for your time.

Too smallby Clare

1 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

This tagine was a gift last Oct 2010. Since then I've used it 3 times & am currently using it for a 4th time, as I write this review. Everytime we find the dish is too small to make a tagine for 4, with the liquid boiling up around the lid. This totally defeats the purpose cooking in a tagine is supposed to produce. While it's v pretty in design, it's inpractical to use. I think perhaps a case of style over function.

Published 12 Mar 2012

A note from the team: I'm sorry that the tagine has not been suitable for your needs. I'll be in touch shortly.

Brilliant!by Georgina

5 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

We were bought the tagine at Xmas and have used it practically non stop since (2 months now) and its brilliant! It cooks like nothing else and all the meals we have made are delicious, it just seems to pack in more flavour and moisture. Yes, the glazing has gone like crazy paving but that's to be expected and adds to the look (we have always put it in the oven to cook).To my horror, I managed to drop and smash the lid yesterday so have just ordered a new one. Can't be without it now!

Published 20 Feb 2012

Be careful!by Mr Griffiths

4 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I really enjoyed using this tagine for about 2 years but then I accidentally broke it .. I got a replacement and was NOT careful with the first few uses and the diffuser was not over the flame enough and it cracked straightaway. My fault so this is a warning to be careful and not let any flames touch the sides. Now I have to buy a new one.

Published 09 Jan 2012

Wonderfulby Annelly

4 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

Bought this Tagine three years ago and still going strong. Flavours are always good

Published 30 Sep 2011

love itby alison hooper

5 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

Never cooked with a tagine before although I enjoy cooking this type of cuisine. Very impressed with this tagine, easy to use and clean and cooks just enough for a family of four.

Published 27 Jul 2011

Chuffed to Bits!by Ann

5 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I have just used my tagine for the first time and was quite nervous after reading negative reviews. Glad to say I was chuffed to bits with how well the food was cooked and no cracks.

Published 09 May 2011

Fabulous resultsby Mrs Wright

5 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

What a great cooking vessel and looks great too! I have had 3 very delicious meals made in this tagine, top marks Lakeland. I have like other people, experienced the slight cracking on the glaze, but this has not effected the cooking, or experienced any leakage either. However, I will keep my eye on this.

Published 25 Apr 2011

Great item butby John

3 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I washed my tagine before using it and cracks appeared then disappeared when dry. I also have a problem with getting lid off, I am scared of dropping it and breaking it, overall good looking dish which produces gorgeous food and look good on the table.

Published 05 Apr 2011

A note from the team: Thankyou for your review We checked with our buyers who advise allowing the tagine to cool completely before handwashing after use to avoid cracking the ceramic, and being careful not to immerse the lid in water. Hairline cracks may also occur if cold sauces or stock are poured into a warm tagine.

Well, hot damn it works!by Ms ALTENOR

4 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

Well, after reading many of the reviews on this product, I must admit I was wary about buying it - but I have wanted one of these for many years. After doing my normal seasoning of the meat and adding vegetables - It worked wonderfully - It holds a lot more ingredients than I expected. The lid shrank ever so slightly, away from the edge of the lower tagine dish, after a slow casserole cooking in the oven, but after placing the hot Tagine - carefully on a folded tea towel - the food was absolutley delicious!!!! Thank you very, very much Lakeland - keep up the good work of choosing only quality products - and retailing them at affordable prices!!!!

Published 05 Apr 2011

Great Productby Mrs Moore

5 stars out of 5

Traditional Tagine

I bought this for my husband as he wanted to try it, and he loves it. We used it a few times now and every meal has been lovely, also a great excuse to get him to cook!

Published 21 Mar 2011

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2

Your basket is currently empty