You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Electric Knife Wizard
Electric Knife Wizard
4.2 stars out of 5 based on 20 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 20

It works!!!!by Peter

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Quite simply the best knife sharpener I have ever had

Published 30 Jan 2014

The best on the marketby Mrs Blackwell

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Will never buy another make after this one. Expensive but worth every penny. So impressed even bought one for my mother. Easy to use and razor sharp results.

Published 23 Oct 2013

Chefs knives like new.by Mr simpson

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Wow. I have tried many knife sharpeners over the years. My set of chef knives are over 30 years old. I keep then sharp but this machine brought them up as if they were new. I thought it was a bit expensive before I bought it but the results are truly outstanding. Again the Lakeland staff were great, if I wasn't satisfied I could return the sharpener for a full refund. Sorry, its staying in my kitchen. Many thanks.

Published 23 Oct 2013

blunt knife problems solvedby Joe

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Over the years I have bought several knife sharpeners, all were disappointing. I was skeptical when my son bought a Knife Wizard as a present, but the machine is brilliant and does all that it promises on the box. I have a set of knives which were razor sharp when I bought them 4 years ago, but like all knives went blunt with use. They are now fully restored.

Published 13 Nov 2012

Disappointingby Mark

1 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Having no luck using a steel on my knives I thought I'd treat myself to an electronic sharpener. The reviews of this product suggested it was the best in the price-range, however I have not been impressed. Firstly, it's incredibly noisey and despite following the instructions carefully I have not ended up with the razor sharp knives the packaging suggested.

Published 04 Oct 2012

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with the knife sharpener and will be in touch soon to help.

Absolutely Brilliant!by Sam

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Only because I was buying from Lakeland was I prepared to part with this sort of money for an untried product that I doubted would live up to its hype. I should have had more faith and bought this sooner. I did what a previous reviewer advised and practiced on some very old knives until I became familiar with the sharpener and then set to work ..... I now have 3 sets of beautifully sharp knives together with an assortment of odd ones. Anyone want to buy 2 surplus knife sets and a redundant steel?

Published 13 Aug 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

Expensive mistakeby Beryl

1 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Am I the only one who didn't get on with this? Despite following the instructions to the letter, it took a chunk out of one of my global knives. Used once and it's been in the cupboard for nearly a year.

Published 16 Jul 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the sharpener didn't meet your expectations. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Brilliant!by Julie

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Well what can I say, I've been waiting all my life for a knife sharpener like this!! Now all my knives slice through meat like butter, even the cheaper knives sharpened up well. I'm usually very fussy and like the best of quality and I can say I'm not disappointed. In fact it's so good I've been asking my relatives to bring their knives when they come to visit...how sad am I :) Knives that are slightly twisted will sharpen but need extra guidance through the slots. Be very careful after using this product on your knives...they will be very sharp almost worryingly so, take extra care.

Published 18 Apr 2012

Qualified successby Simon

3 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Having been told by Lakeland this was equally usable by left-handers, I discovered that this was definitely not so; members of the left-handed minority should watch out! The case that houses the motor is on the left and is designed to be held with the left hand, and the knives to be held in the right and pulled against the rotating wheels. Additionally, the numbering on the four sharpening slots then reads the correct way up to right-handers. However, the sharpener works; I just have to hold the tiny bit of housing at the right, which isn't a particularly safe way of using the product.

Published 12 Jan 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. This item is not user friendly for left handed customers. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

electric knife sharpenerby Stephanie

2 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

I was bought this from Lakeland as a gift two years ago and was initially very pleased, it sharpened better than a steel and knives maintained an edge for longer. However I got it out to use just before xmas and the on/off switch disintegrated into crumbs when I pressed it, so its now completely useless. I expected many years use, this is a lot to pay for a knife sharpener.

Published 02 Jan 2012

A note from the team: I'm sorry to learn that the on/off switch had broken. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

excellent knife sharpenerby Peter

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

This was a relatively expensive sharpener but worth every penny. It sharpens the bluntest knife. Easy to use after a little practice. Highly recommended.

Published 29 Aug 2011

After sales serviceby John Jolly

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Before we bought the Knife Wizard all our knives were blunt. It was impossible to cut fresh bread without using a toothed knife. Cutting fresh bread, vegetables, cooked meat is now simple.

Published 15 Jun 2011

Excellent Productby stephen

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

I've had the electric knife wizard for several months.The is easy to use and does what it says on the box.an excellent product that sharpens to a razors edge with ease.Happy to recommend to anyone.

Published 08 Dec 2010

Excellentby Mrs Rowe

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

I had to buy my second knife wizard, daughter has pinched mine which I have had for some time. My small veg knives are razor sharp after many goes on my wizard. Now she is starting on hers. As usual Lakeland superb speed of delivery. My Wizard is best thing since sliced bread,which is much easier to do!

Published 14 May 2010

Praise where it's due - at last!by Fiona Kay

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

I have posted several "disappointed of Northumberland" reviews in relation to knife sharpeners on the Lakeland website, so here's the acknowledgement that, as ever, there is a Lakeland product to do the job. My knives were so blunt they were dangerous - wouldn't cut ANYTHING, struggled with butter. Not any more. This is a fab sharpener, usable by left handers like me. I know it's expensive, but not as expensive as keeping on replacing knives. NB it does, of course, have an electric lead - not shown in the photo on the website or the catalogue - but if you have a spare plug in your kitchen and the fury with blunt knives which I used to have, this one is for you.

Published 24 Apr 2010

Amazingby Ruth Walton

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

I've only had my knife wizard for 2 days, so I can't comment on its longevity, but it sharpens knives beautifully!! I am very impressed. Extremely easy to use and clean. Fab sharp knives and I've worked out that when I've sharpened all my knives 5 times, I've broken even so every time after that is saving me money!!

Published 17 Feb 2010

Excellentby Bridgit

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Delighted to have bought this! I have Global knives amongst my collection, and following the instructions for Japanese knives, it works a treat. I keep it handy, so that I can just give a quick sharpen without the hassle of getting it out of the drawer! I have excellent cutting ability with my knives again.

Published 12 Feb 2010

Sammariby rachael

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

Love this knife sharpener and have just bought my mum one for her Christmas present-dont tell her! For the first time in years after buying numerous sharpners (all very diasppointing and frustrating) I have found the tool! Knives are sharper than when first bought and are now a pleasure to use again. I would take it to a desert island with me!

Published 04 Sep 2009

well worth consideringby Simon

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

I have a large set of Henckels knives which I had been maintaining with a traditional steel. However, time and a heavy handed partner left several of them blunted beyond recovery. I had been looking at various electric sharpeners and chose this because Lakeland do seem to try out everything and only sell what works. The item arrived within 48 hours and I immediately set to work. Using an old cheap knife to get used to how to best run the blade through the slots, I then sharpened all 14 knives in less that a quarter of an hour and got a lovely edge back that reminds me of how they were 'out of the box'. £50 might seem a bit salty but the device appears built to last so over 5 or 10 years of ownership that becomes money well spent, essential if you have nice knives.

Published 23 Mar 2009

best sharpener I've triedby Rosemary

5 stars out of 5

Electric Knife Wizard

I have tried many sharpeners over the years and spent a lot of money, but they either didn't work very well or took too long to sharpen all my knives. This is the first electric sharpener I have used. I sharpened some old knives first which I did mainly to break the sharpener in before tackling my Shun knives (only inthe fine side)and this did a great job in minutes. I would recommend this product to anyone who likes to keep their knives sharp without having to spend too much time sharpening them.

Published 27 Jul 2008

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty