You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit
Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit
3.7 stars out of 5 based on 20 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 20

window fly screenby Mrs Corisande Davies

1 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

What an expensive item that doesn't work. Very poorly made for the price. The bits of Velcro keep falling off. I've got safety pins keeping them on..what a mess! Very bad design will not recommend.

Published 15 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone. I'm sorry that the fly screen kit hasn't been suitable I'm glad I was able to put things right for you.

improveby Margaret

2 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

On receiving the fly screen I have observed that only the White Velcro is sticky so that means the Grey side is placed on the outside and hoping that you get a good contact with the White, my idea would it not make more sense for the Grey Velcro be sticky also and fit on the inside of the mesh so you have a good contact.

Published 28 May 2014

Safe kitten and no bugsby Diane

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

Brilliant product. it only took a couple of days for my cat to get used to the idea that he could no longer balance on the window ledge. I did sew the tape on to make it stronger. I know this product is ment to keep flies out and not cats in but I've searched and, searched for a product that doesn't have to be drilled into window frame after being told this damages double glazing units.

Published 17 Jun 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

70% there...by Rachel

3 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I bought this flyscreen to combat all the flying creatures that seem to have emerged over the last few weeks. In terms of flies and wasps etc the screen is effective, but smaller sneaky midges and gnats are still getting in. If a product with a finer mesh was available i would purchase it. On a practical level it's easy to cut, the velcro sticks it up fine, but i'm good and paranoid about spiders so i taped all around the edges with duct tape! (drawing pins would work too). I managed to cover a caravan door and a medium sized window with some bits left over

Published 11 Jun 2013

Does the job wellby Mr Harmon

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I have had this product installed for little over a month, and one of those people who have window open constantly even in the colder months and I am happy to report, that it does exactly what it is supposed to and that is to keep out the flying insects, and as an added bonus has reduces drafts from the open window as the screen deflects some of the force of the wind, and discouraged the cat from trying to escape (though my cat is very lazy so does not put any effort into a escape, squeezing through blinds is as much effort he willing to put in, to escape the house).

Published 31 Jul 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

Fly Screenby Mrs Steele

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I wish we'd had this years ago! Our dormer bungalow collects heat upstairs and with 2 inquisitive cats, having the windows wide open was never an option .........until I found this marvel. It's so easy to use and providing you don't stint on the tape size you use, it stays up even in windy conditions! Now the windows can stay wide open and the house feels cool again. Another great find from Lakeland!

Published 25 Jul 2012

Does a fine jobby Sharon

4 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I've used cheaper window mesh that doesn't last and always end up coming back for this one. Yes, in very strong winds the screens can blow loose, but so can they all. Some windows need more of the Velcro around. Until someone invents a better, cheap way to fix up screens (kits for permanent screens on the market cost 5 or 6 times this and only cover 1 window), it'll 'do'. It at least minimises anything getting in so less spiders and few flies/wasps. (I'd taped a small piece over a vent last year and it stopped a wasp nest breaking through into the house. Thank you, Lakeland!)

Published 30 May 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

really easy fitby christine

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

Just measure the window, cut the fly screen to size and stick it up. Easy. One tip I would give is to make sure that most care is given to the top of the window. Make sure you have enough screen to fit right to the very top of the frame and stick enough tape to the top to ensure a tight fit against the window frame. This is most important if like me you want it to keep the moths out at night, as they tend to settle on the screen and walk their way up to the top of the window where the most persistant of them can sometimes squeeze through and into the room if the fit is not good.

Published 16 Apr 2012

not happyby

1 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

im not keen on this either, like one of the previous buyers says its not very stable and when the wind blows, it falls down, and i think its exspesive fot what it is,

Published 06 Apr 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry this product did not meet your expectations.We'll be in touch soon.

Not practicalby Ms mckechnie

1 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

This screen was effective , however i would not recommend it for a window that you would be frequently opening and closing, which tends to limit its use really. What happens is you have bits of velcro lose on the window sill which end up getting lost. looked very untidy. and wasnt practical

Published 19 Oct 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry the screen has been such a disappointment, so I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Fly Screenby Jane Reeves

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I have found this brilliant. We have a couple of weeks a year with a major problem with mosquitoes and other biting insects and this has been the solution to being able to sleep with the windows open. It can blow off in very windy conditions, but maybe I need to put more tape on. Just ordering some more for the sitting room.

Published 22 Aug 2011

Brilliant - ordering some moreby Mrs susan bradford

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I have used these for the last 2 years on some of my windows, I am absolutely afraid of wasps and they help me enjoy the summer without fear in my own house. I have ended up glueing the tape to the inside of the screen and then securing it to the window via the tape on the window frame this way I dont lose the tape every time I open it to shut or open the windows.

Published 23 Jun 2011

Suggestion for fixingby Jill

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

If you sew the 'loopy' side of the tape to the mesh then it solves the problem of having loose bits of tape falling off or being eaten by children and pets. I also have sewn offcuts together to make mesh for irregular sized windows.

Published 09 May 2011

Excellent Productby Carol

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I bought this product last year to stop insects coming into my son's bedroom. It has stopped them and he has been wasp-free since. He has not found it hard to use; you just remove the tapes to open the window and then replace them when you have finished.

Published 29 Apr 2011

Additional useby Christine

4 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I have found the fly screen kit extremely useful as a safety screen to prevent my cat investigating the outside of the bedroom window. Having had one cat venture out of the bedroom window and fall from the windowsill - luckily without any injury, I use the screen to enable us to open the bedroom windows in the summer and prevent our cat from going out of the window. About to order a new kit as we have recently had new windows fitted.

Published 25 Apr 2011

Absolute rubbishby Emma

1 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I ordered this product thinking it would be the answer to all of my wasp/bee problems. The design of it, however, is ridiculous. There is no way of attaching the velcro tabs to the screen itself so the idea is that you put the screen up and then place the tabs over it to attach to the tabs on the window frame. Cue the velcro tabs falling off everytime you want to open or close the window! With an 11 month old daughter crawling around I can't have little bits of velcro all over the floor so the screens have come down and gone in the bin. Utter waste of money.

Published 20 Apr 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry for the disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

A mustby Mrs clarke

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I have been using the screen on all the bedroom windows for last few years and I'm about to order my next lot as after few years I need a fresh lot(just vac over the mesh every now and then and use over each year). Its a summer must have, great for the kids rooms as there is no screaming each time a wasp invites itself in! And stops the moths and daddy longlegs for me!! The mesh stays on fine as long as you use enough tape, few down each side.

Published 25 Mar 2010

Mixed feelingsby Mrs Roberts

3 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

I've got mixed feelings about this product. When it stays in place it is very effective but I've found that quite often especially if it's windy it pops off the window. The way it's fixed to the window is by sandwiching the mesh between special hook and loop tape, which doesn't make for a very strong hold. I'm not sure how to rate this product. I wouldn't send it back but I don't think I'd recommend it either.

Published 03 Sep 2009

A note from the team: I�m sorry that on this occasion the product wasn�t as expected. We�ll be in touch shortly.

Fly Screenby Heather Melton

4 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

Have been using these screens over the past 4 years and they are exceptionally good. Keep out all insects during the night, and especially wasps during the day.

Published 10 May 2008

Best buy of the summerby Debbie

5 stars out of 5

Easy-Fit Fly Screen Kit

What a life saver this is! I have this on my bedroom window, wide open and didnt get bit all last summer! Easily fitted and hardley noticable. I have recommended this product to many friends who have a tendency to be a feeding ground for mosquitos etc

Published 10 May 2008

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty