You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Large Loaf Bag
Large Loaf Bag
3.1 stars out of 5 based on 16 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 16 of 16

Save your moneyby Kathy

1 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

Bought the large bread bag and bread was green mouldy within 2 days. I think it must be the plastic lining. Save your money and don't buy it.

Published 16 Sep 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry the bag isn't suitable for you and we'll be in touch shortly to help.

Very disappointedby Pam

1 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

I bought one of these a few years ago. I stopped using it because the internal lining was obviously punctured somewhere and crumbs became trapped between the outer and inner bags. I fished it out a day or two ago because I had run out of the correct size poly bags and then remembered why I had stopped using it. I had to make a tiny cut in the corner of the polythene to let all the crumbs out - not very user friendly at all. It will be returning to the back of the cupboard, or more likely into the bin! A good idea but poorly executed - perhaps the inner bag needs to be more robust?

Published 22 Aug 2014

Poor qualityby Joanne

3 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

I have had my bag for around a year. Initially I was very pleased with it keeping my bread fresh. However the plastic inner bag ripped first and now the material part is fraying and coming apart. Sadly I will have to stop using it soon.

Published 22 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that the bag had started to come apart. I'll be in touch shortly.

Keeps my homemade bread fresh for several daysby Roger

5 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

I use the Panasonic Bread Machine and since keeping the bread in this bag I find that it stays fresh for up to a week. The bread is always allowed to cool first.

Published 26 Mar 2014

Quite usefulby Carolyn

5 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

Like many people using bread machines once cooled I had the dilemma of how to store. Solved with this very handy bag which does work if you follow the instructions as to fastening it. Fresh tasting & still soft. When it comes to mould I do know as I live in the country that every exposure to air has a big chance of picking up mould spores. Recommend.

Published 27 Jan 2014

very pleasedby Katherine

5 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

I have had this bag for sometime now, and I remain very pleased with my purchase. Bread doesn't last long in this house, so the keeping fresh part doesn't really count, but it does keep it covered and looks good on the side, it washes well, like I say very happy

Published 24 Oct 2013

Excellent buyby Ken

5 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

Bought the larger bag and have found it excellent, it keeps the bread fresh for at least 4 days. The secret is to pull the draw strings tightly together as far as they will go and then do as the Lakeland people say, tie a slip knot about an inch to inch and a half from the opening and pull it tight. I then fold over the top of the bag so the opening is hidden from view and then rest is against something so it is airtight.

Published 11 Oct 2013

Disappointingby Alison

1 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

The homemade bread in my bag went mouldy after only 3 days. It was still lovely and soft though. All credit to Lakeland - within less than 24 hours of letting them know, I heard back from them under their Guarantee. Thank you. It is nice to shop with a firm who look after their Customers. The product gets one star, Lakeland get 5!

Published 30 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.We're sorry for the disappointment and note that you've already been in touch to arrange a refund. The bag works best when the bread has cooled before being put in the bag and is kept in a cool place at an even temperature. To ensure a tight closure, pull the cord tight and loop it over the neck of the bag to tie a slip knot which will help.

Not for me but OK for someby Barry Clarke

2 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

I have been making naturally leavened bread for over 30 years and have not experienced moldiness until I used this bag. I have previously used plain linen or cotton bags and at times, particularly with rye based breads, wrapped in cling film. I now use your excellent Beathable Bags and place these in my cotton bread "sacks". I can still use the Large Loaf Bag simply by cutting out the polythene liner. The breathable bags are expensive relative to the cost of making the loaf. A single use composite paper/breathable bag in three sizes would be nice I find your shop very useful.

Published 16 Apr 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We've passed on your suggestion for a composite/breathable bag to the buyer.

Works on 2 levelsby Mel

5 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

Firstly it's great at keeping my home-made bread lovely and fresh for 4-5 days if it gets the chance. You just have to wind the cord round the bag neck to seal it. It takes up no room when not in use too. Secondly I have a cat who's favourite prey is bread and does break into the kitchen to hunt it out. Sealed in here he's not been able to smell it - and just as importantly - see it. I've seen him walk right past it and not notice. Win-win for me

Published 15 Mar 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

A GREAT BAGby Mr ROSE

5 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

I was given this bag as a present and it's terrific. My bread is keeping longer, the bag looks neat and does not take up too much room in my kitchen and I would definitely recommend this bag to friends and family. I'm going to buy the smaller bread bag which will also be good for rolls and sandwiches for picnics when the warmer weather comes.

Published 25 Feb 2013

Fairly goodby Julie

3 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

Making great crusty bread, I wanted a bag to keep it fresh. I bought the bag and was disappointed that, although it keeps the bread fresh, the polythene bag within did not keep it crusty. I cut the polythene bag out and the cotton bag works perfectly, fresh and crusty bread every time.

Published 05 Feb 2013

Not worth the moneyby Mr Frank Clement-Lorford

1 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

In my quest to find some way of keeping my home-made bread crusty. This fails, very disappointed like another reviewer having a positive review first persuaded me to buy this product. You might as well keep you loaf in a plastic bag to get similar results as these bags. I thought all products were tested before going retail.

Published 16 Aug 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with the bread bag and will be in touch soon to help.

Disappointedby Mrs Lilley

2 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

This does not seem to keep our bread fresh as stated . The bag does not close tightly, so not sure if this is the problem.

Published 25 Jun 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.The bag works best when the bread has cooled before being put in the bag and is kept in a cool place at an even temperature. To ensure a tight closure, pull the cord tight and loop it over the neck of the bag to tie a slip knot which will help. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Don't Buyby Philip

1 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

I made the mistake of reading the only review on the site for the Large Bread Bag. If I had read all the relevant reviews (of which 40% are 1 star) I would not have bought this product. Unfortunately, the relevant reviews had been placed in a different part of the website so that I hadn't spotted them and nor had Lakeland management! I'm now expecting them to redesign the product or, if they can't, to withdraw it from sale. It's just as well I could count on the Lakeland no-quibbles refund guarantee or I'd have been seriously annoyed about this.

Published 14 May 2012

A note from the team: We're sorry you found the breadbag disappointing. We've passed your comments on to our buying team and thank you for taking the time to explain how our reviews process can be misunderstood.

Seems to work...by Niamh

5 stars out of 5

Large Loaf Bag

Using this for the first time recently, the bag kept a loaf fresh for the 3 days of it's lifespan (fresh bread doesn't live too long in our house!). Even the exposed face of the bread remained soft during this time. Rather happy with the product overall.

Published 31 Mar 2012

Sorting options

Sort results