You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Easy-as-Pie Set
Easy-as-Pie Set
4.1 stars out of 5 based on 21 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 21

EASY-AS-PIEby John Careless

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

This Pie Dish Set is a very easy way to blind bake your pastry, much better than any beans or ceramic beads.

Published 22 Apr 2013

liz ileyby elizabeth halliday

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

Brilliant! perfect pies turn out every time. Lovely to have something that does what it says on the packet. You can slide it out then slice it rather than risk marking the tin, the insert is also brilliant I've never blind baked because its such a faff but i do now.

Published 22 Apr 2013

brilliantby Carol Thompson

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

This pie dish is brilliant. I am not a pastry cook and have had many 'soggy bottoms' before but not now. I made a meat pie yesterday and my husband said it was excellent. Praise indeed!

Published 01 Apr 2013

Works really well.by Rhian

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

Really recommend this! Saves the bother of having to use baking beans. Also, when I made a pie recently that didn't involve blind baking I actually made the pie in the perforated pan and the pastry at the bottom of the pie was perfect!

Published 27 Feb 2012

superb piesby Adele

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

Used this for the first time yesterday after buying it that morning. I am so impressed, I managed to make a pie with a crisp pastry shell on the base as well as the top, no problems removing the pie at all, smooth as silk. I am appealing to Lakeland to also make this on a larger scale, so when I make desserts for a dinner party, I can deliver the same.

Published 17 Jan 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for the review. I'm happy to pass your suggestion of a larger version to our buying team.

Flan dishby Jennifer

3 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

After reading all the good reviews for this product, I feel churlish in admitting that I was rather disappointed with it. I have now used it three times and each time the pastry has shrunk round the edges and 'blistered' up through the holes in the insert creating a pastry case that looked rather untidy. I think this tin would be better if the sides were straight which would make a more traditional looking flan case.

Published 09 Dec 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Very usefulby Audrey German

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

This is a great idea resulting in a very useful pie dish. Not only is it easy to bake 'blind' with the insert but the insert itself is invaluable when reheating small portions of pie as it ensures the base is nice and crisp. How about an insert for a patty pan when making mini quiches? That would be really something!

Published 15 Nov 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I've passed your suggestion to the buyer.

Beautiful Bakingby Miss Clements

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

Brilliant pie dish. Loved being able to concentrate on the filling instead of worrying about getting the pastry right with beads.

Published 25 Oct 2011

It worked!by Michelle

4 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

Unlike some of your other reviewers, I found it worked. The pastry did shrink a little, but there was no bubbling up and the top plate kept the pastry down. I used a bought brand of pastry. I'm glad I bought it.

Published 10 Mar 2011

Delia did it I didn't!by Jayne

1 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

I was excited about using this product but was disappointed by the results, my pastry shrunk back within the top and was very uneven. It didn't seem heavy enough without baking beans. The pastry was bought so it wasn't even my bad pastry making!!

Published 27 Feb 2011

A note from the team: I'm sorry to learn that you'd been disappointed with the easy as pie set. I'll be in touch shortly.

Very Pleasedby Mrs Jones

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

We're not too keen on baking beads in my household. They're fiddly, I've got to have yet another jar kicking around to store them in and I have to clean them every time. Also, they've never worked for me that well. I was delighted to stumble across this product online and hoped, rather than assumed it would work. Well it does. I was also rather impressed with how much this could hold as well as how easy it was to remove from the pan. It was infinitely less fuss and it gave me perfect pastry. I would say though, for the best pastry recipe, don't use the one the product comes with (it's okay, but its not perfect), check out Gordon Ramsey, his pastry recipes are spot on every time. I would definitely reccommend this if you like to make quiches, and other pies when you want a decent crisp pastry base and not a soggy one! Good luck!

Published 22 Jan 2011

Not impressedby Miss smith

1 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

Item has bent after a few uses and is not big enough. Not impressed.

Published 04 Jan 2011

A note from the team: Thankyou for your review, and for taking the time to discuss this with us on the phone.

Don't panic! Read this.by Janet

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

I panicked! The instructions that come with this pie dish quite clearly tell you to ''line the solid base with pastry and then put the perforated inset on top'' in order to bake blind. I would advise instead to line the perforated part with your pastry and then place it in the solid base. You can, they say, put your filling straight in. The gap between the two parts of this dish let the air circulate for a perfect base.

Published 13 Mar 2010

Perfect pies with no effortby Selena

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

We love pies in our home but normally can't be bothered making them because of blind baking. This product (more than any of the other Lakeland products I've read rave reviews on and tried) is 100% better than I expected. I just stacked the dishes on top of each other and put the pastry and filling straight in at once and then into the oven. The air pocket in between the dishes meant that the base came out perfect with no additional work for me. The non stick coating had the pie easily coaxed out of the perforated dish. Brilliant and so easy.

Published 18 Feb 2010

So easy to useby Mr Bostik

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

We bought the easy as pie set, and we found it so easy to use. The bottom of the pie set is for pastry, put the lid on and bake for 25 mins for a good base pastry, cannot go wrong. We have bought another as they are SO GOOD. A must have in the kitchen, hope this is useful to others. MR J B

Published 10 Feb 2010

Easy? Maybe, but there are no instructions!by Mrs Powell

2 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

I read the reviews of this product, and everything else I can find on the net, and can find no clear indication of HOW TO USE IT!! Now we want to use our 'wonderful pie dish' I'm looking to find out how. The bad review on this product tried to use it the way I thought it was supposed to be used: bake pastry in the solid part, with the perforated part on top -- baking 'blind'. THIS DOESN"T WORK. The way I think you use this product is NOT to bake blind at all, but INSTEAD to line the perforated dish with pastry, add filling straight away and cook in the solid disk as usual. The idea (I think) is to eliminate the need for blind base cooking, and still end up with a crisp, cooked base. I'll let you know if this works fine..... :D

Published 28 Nov 2009

A note from the team: I'm sorry that you have not found the product easy to use. There are some basic instructions printed on the packaging but we'll be in touch shortly to help.

Love itby Helen

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

Great piece of baking equipment. Just used it twice this afternoon. Won't be baking blind any other way again. Lovely crisp bases. Simple and easy.

Published 09 May 2009

Extremely disappointingby Mrs Penney

1 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

I bought this set a while back to use instead of beans for blind baking, but have only just tried it. It was an abject failure. I lined the solid pan with pastry, then placed the perforated pan on top. During cooking the pastry lifted and pushed the perforated tin up with it. Since the pastry had cooked it was not possible to push it back into the pan without it breaking in several places. I had no time to bake a second case, so simply filled and baked as usual. Needless to say the it was an interesting take on a Clafoutis recipe - custard beneath the case, soft middle layer of pastry and fruit on top! Because I bought this a while back I was not sure I should write to write to Lakeland. However, when discussing this disaster with my mother in law she confessed that she had had exactly the same experience with her Lakeland pie set and had also thrown it out without making a complaint.

Published 28 Oct 2008

A note from the team: We're sorry that on this occasion the product wasn't as expected and proved to be disappointing. We'll be in touch shortly.

Great!by Mrs M Williamson

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

This pie dish is recommended by Delia for a reason, it is great! I make pies reguarily and have not had one come out with soggy pastry yet. It's simple just make the pie in the insert, placed inside the solid dish. I don't even grease the tin and the pie comes out easily. After trying my pies and seeing how good this product was my Mum even bought one, it is that good.

Published 20 Oct 2008

Easy as Pieby Margaret

5 stars out of 5

Easy-as-Pie Set

The title says it all I made an apple Pie..lined the liner with the pastry ,,placed it into the solid dish . the space between the tins allowed the pastry to cook without being soggy. Wonderful technique

Published 10 Sep 2008

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2