You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix
Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix
3.9 stars out of 5 based on 16 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 16 of 16

very heavy loafby Kim

2 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

I don't usually use bread mixes but thought I would be lazy and try this wholemeal mix. So far both loaves have not risen well and are heavy. I have tried making the dough in the machine then kneading by hand but it's still a heavy loaf. As suggested in other reviews I will try adding more yeast to the packs I have left as they are quality ingredients but will then return to my 'old' method.

Published 15 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment. Adding more yeast to the mix may help. We'll be in touch shortly.

carrs breadmixby Robert Valle

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

i have bought this product a few times now and I must say it is the best mix I have ever bought,i also have purchased the white mix and it is excellent,and the price is great

Published 11 Aug 2014

The best I've triedby Jan

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

This bread mix is head and shoulders above the various supermarket versions. It comes out beautifully even with a professional look to the loaf. It's a shame it is only in boxes of 10 as I can only buy if there is a long shelf life to give me time to use all the packets.

Published 23 Jul 2014

Brilliantby Mr Rauer

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

Decided to try making bread for the first time so purchased the Lakeland Breadmaker plus. Can't believe how easy this was, set for 700g loaf and medium or dark setting along with 1-2 tsp Claybrook Mill dough improver . Have had great bread every time.

Published 14 Jul 2014

Breadmixby Mr Brock

3 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

Good, but it was better when the yeast came separately. The first few loaves in a new batch come out too large, and they get gradually smaller as the use-by date approaches. I preferred to be able to adjust the yeast content

Published 23 Jun 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment. Adding more yeast to the mix may help. We'll be in touch shortly.

Fantastic Bread every timeby ALISON

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

I use a bread machine and 50/50 white and wholemeal. This makes really delicious loaf. Takes no time to add water and 25g butter and that's it. Guaranteed results with this good quality flour mix. Please keep supplying.

Published 09 May 2014

wholemeal flourby Joan

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

For several years, we have used Carr's strong white flour. Having recently been diagnosed with diabetes, I have been advised to chose wholemeal bread, so we tried Carr's flour for this. It makes beautiful bread,lovely texture, not dry as I expected. We are very pleased with this and would highly recommend Carr's flours

Published 27 Jan 2014

Great flour, great loaves.... with extra help!by Tom Marilyn

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

I agree with other reviewers that this flour can produce a rather 'heavy' loaf that seems unable to rise, and I too have 'complained' to Carrs. I've even e-mailed them the solution. Answer? Add about half-a-teaspoon of Vitamin C with the mix and all will be well.

Published 20 Nov 2013

no luckby Lindsay

2 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

After reading positive reviews I tried this mix in my breadmaker. But have had no luck. The loaf texture isn't too bad but never rises enough so the end results are either a mini sized half risen loaf or a loaf with a sunken middle.

Published 13 May 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that your loaves are not rising as they should and will be in touch shortly to help. Adding more yeast to the process should do the trick.Please consider our Doves Farm Quick Yeast (item 7338).

Rise well but incredibly saltyby James

2 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

The convenience of these mixes is great - the yeast, salt and sugar are already mixed into the flour and all you need add is butter and water. They rise well, too, avoiding all the bricks that supermarket bread flour has been producing in recent months. However, the amount of salt in them seems excessive making the finished loaf rather unpalatable. Love the convenience and how they always rise well, but I'd still like a loaf I'd enjoy eating.

Published 22 Feb 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that the bread mix wasn't to your taste. We'll be in touch shortly.

Not as good as it used to beby Johanna

3 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

I have been buying this product ever since my Mum bought me a bread maker. Since they started putting the yeast in with the mix, the loaf doesnt seem to rise properly and comes out small and dense, rather than larger and more fluffy. I know it isnt the machine as I have bought other makes of mixes and they rise well. I will continue to buy but it is a disappointment when a good product doesnt live up to what it used to be.

Published 13 Nov 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment with the Carrs bread blends, and we'd like to put things right for you. We'll contact you shortly to help.

Try some real breadby David Lindsey

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

We have been making loaves of this bread in our machine and can thoroughly recommend it. I bet you don't go back to bought bread once you have tried it.

Published 06 Sep 2012

Disappointingby Miss Harcourt

1 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

Bought this product as I can no longer get Carrs flour locally and assumed that the blend with yeast would be reliable. It certainly isn't. I have made it with wholemeal alone, as a blend with the white mix and using the white mix alone. In every case the rise has been very poor indeed. When I resorted to adding yeast, sugar and gluten I finally got something resembling a decent loaf. I will stick to the Wright's Sourdough blend when I want to make lazy bread in future!

Published 27 Aug 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone. I'm glad I was able to help.

Super breadby Janet Kent

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

This absolutely the business. I have been baking my own bread for 50 years now and I honestly wish I had found this a long time ago. I used half white half wholemeal with outstanding results. I will certaily be buying more soon.

Published 27 Mar 2012

Really nice breadby Mrs hutton

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

This is the first time I have tried this bread mix having bought mixes previously from the supermarket or weighed out ingredients. The bread was lovely and moist and light. Unlike other wholemeal mixes I have tried this proved well and had a good height which is unusual in my breadmixer. Having compared this to the brand I usually buy it also worked out cheaper so very happy!

Published 20 Mar 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

It actually rises!by Irene

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Wholemeal Mix

Making wholemeal bread in a breadmaker is one of the most difficult things. I cannot count the stone-hard pitiful loaves that I have thrown in the waste basket. Not with this one. The bread is soft and delicious. Will be buying more!

Published 11 Feb 2012

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty