You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix
Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix
3.7 stars out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 19 of 19

Best Flour Mixby Sue Gascoine

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I love this product it mixes well and gives a nice loaf and keeps well in an air tight box.

Published 12 Sep 2014

Fantastic Bread - just seconds to makeby ALISON

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I use this in my bread maker 50/50 with the wholemeal flour. It makes and amazing loaf. My children love it. Please keep supplying.

Published 09 May 2014

deliciousby Diana Lee

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

This mix is so easy to use - just add a knob of butter and the required amount of water ( I use tepid). I set my bread maker on the 'dough' setting. When the programme is completed, I tip out the dough, remove the paddles and reshape. I then put the dough into a loaf tin(s) lined with Lakeland loaf tin liners. I reuse these several (actually many) times. Leave to prove then bake in oven. The result is delicious.

Published 12 Feb 2014

bread mixby Mrs Michael

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

Having read negative articles about store bought bread I got my bread maker out again. A little dubious after reading some of the reviews on Carrs bread mix I decided to give it a trial. The loaf looked very good, the taste also good. Texture a little too soft and moist. Would a little less fluid help with this. Glad of an opinion

Published 04 Jul 2013

good value and reliableby MARIA

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I like to have these in just in case I don`t have time to weigh all the ingredients. We have no shop for miles so they are a good standby. Makes very good tasty bread, does not contain soya, doesn`t come from the other side of the world and everything is in the pack, just add water. Best results occur if you leave the packet in a warm place for a few hours before using Recommended

Published 04 Jul 2013

Amazing results!by Miss Taylor

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

This is the best bread mix by far! My first ever loaf came out of the bread machine perfectly golden on the outside and lovely and soft on the inside. I also liked the fact that I only had to add water and a little butter :O)

Published 26 Mar 2013

use your loafby William

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

So easy to make and so delicious, there's nothing better than coming home to the smell of fresh bread and when it's made with Carrs flour the best in UK you know that when you get your mouth around that thick wedge it's gonna be delicious,and believe me it was yum yum Best regards from a happy Cumbrian

Published 02 Mar 2013

recipeby Ann

4 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

this was the best bread mix I have tried. nice crisp white loaf. only bit I was cautious with was instructions on the pack 305ml water. did not say cold/warm as other bread mixes I have used did. I did infact use straight from the cold tap and this made a nice loaf. with a 3hr10mins white loaf on my machine. please check your own machine for cooking times.

Published 12 Feb 2013

Still buying this but....by Joanna

4 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

4 stars 'cos it's good but there are issues. I've been buying this for years but since Carrs changed the 'recipe' I now have to add extra yeast to the mix to get a loaf something like I used to before they messed with it! I shall probably continue buying it mainly for the convenience - getting it delivered to the door is so much easier than carrying it - and the bread *is* delicious once I've altered it. I also add lots of fruits (apricots/prunes/cranberries/ginger) to the mix to make a wonderful fruity bread - my boys love it.

Published 08 Feb 2013

disappointedby Valerie Tate

1 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

Having used this mix for 8 years I am SO disappointed with the results since they changed the mix. Thinking that my breadmaker was old and needed replacing I BOUGHT a new one! Needless to say the results are the same as my old breadmaker. A very expensive lesson, and one which should never have happened.

Published 10 Jan 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. Our suppliers have been working on this and they've now improved the mix as a response to our customers' feedback. We're so sorry for the trouble and inconvenience caused.

Carrs bread mixby Pat

1 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I can only agree, the new mix does not produce good bread, I am very disappointed. I have used the old mix for several years and never needed to buy bread. The first two loaves I produced with the new mix are both heavy and inedible. I will not buy this product again.

Published 10 Jan 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. Our suppliers have been working on this and they've now improved the mix as a response to our customers' feedback. We'll be in touch.

disappointing resultsby Mrs slinger

1 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I have been using Carrs breadflour since you started selling it..check my orders! I too have contacted Carrs about poor results since they started adding the yeast ( or not as it sometimes seems). As I dont know where I am with them I've started buying basic flour and getting good results again. Shame because it meant I was buying many extras from Lakeland but now.. who knows?

Published 10 Jan 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. Our suppliers have been working on this and they've now improved the mix as a response to our customers' feedback. We'll contact you to help.

CARR'S NEW BREAD MIXby Kathleen

1 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I have to agree with Anne and Margaret that the bread mixes are disappointing. I bought them for a change from the bread flour I normally have from my local shop. I have bought Carr's from Lakeland in the past and had no complaint. I feel a bit guilty finding fault as I never take the time to write good reviews about all the brilliant products I've bought from Lakeland over many years.

Published 09 Jan 2012

A note from the team: We're sorry for the disappointment with the Carrs bread blends, and we'd like to put things right for you. We'll contact you shortly to help.

New Mix !by Anne

3 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I agree with Margaret, the new mix, is not as good as the old mix. The loaf does not rise as well, the texture is not as light. I would prefer the old mix, where you added the yeast. This always gave me an excellent loaf of bread !

Published 15 Dec 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to the buying team.

new improved bread mixby Margaret

1 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I am extremely disappointed with the quality of the new improved bread mix. I have used this product very successfully for many years,however since Carrs included the yeast in with the flour the results are disappointing to say the least. I have spoken to carrs and they suggested including 1/2 a teaspoon of dried yeast, but even this produces a loaf that I can not really be proud of. It looks like I will be reduced to buying bread for Christmas, such a shame to ruin a perfectly good product

Published 12 Dec 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Just Perfect!by Ruth Eglinton

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I'm a novice bread maker and have tried a few mixes, but this stuff is just the bee's knees! The loaves rise and bake beautifully and taste divine.

Published 06 Sep 2011

Johnny Norfolkby John

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

Follow the directions with your good quality breadmaker and you will not go wrong. Its proper bread not easy to find if anywhere now. I have used it for 10+ years

Published 11 Jul 2011

Best Breadby Chloe Brown

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I have been using Carrs breadmaker blends for about 9 years now and wouldn't buy anything else. I buy white and wholemeal and make 50/50 loaves. Light and wholesome and utterly delicious. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Published 02 Jun 2011

homemade breadby Joan Berry

5 stars out of 5

Carrs 'Breadmaker Blends' Strong White Mix

I have tried lots of different bread flours. Carr's, in my opinion, is the best. never fails. We always use this now. My 78 year old husband is very proud of his bread and our grandchildren love it. Hope you keep on selling it!

Published 06 Apr 2011

Sorting options

Sort results