You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block
Adjustable Insect Repellent Block
2.3 stars out of 5 based on 24 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 24

what a waste of time and moneyby Miss Walters

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I am so annoyed I bought one of these from your Guildford store yesterday. It clearly does not work and is a total waste of money and time and effort. What annoys me is that I was so dissapointed that it doesn't work I decided to see if its just me or infact others are of the same opinion. Well it seems that 90% of people who have bought this have said it doesn't work. So why do you continue to sell the product and rip people off? If I go for a refund it will cost me money for petrol and parking and also my time. So like many others it will no doubt just go in the bin.

Published 08 Jul 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.We're sorry for the disappointment with the block and will be in touch shortly.

Not as good as the first oneby Mr Barnes

3 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I purchased this item some time ago, when Lakeland stopped selling the first indoor citronella repellant block, which was shaped like a candle and had an outer case which you lifted as it wore out. I much preferred that one to this newer one, as you could easily see when it needed renewing, which you can't on this one, and I believe smelled stornger than this one.

Published 07 Aug 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We've passed forward your suggestion to bring back the previous block.

Fly free conservatoryby Janet

5 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

When we had our conservatory built 4 years ago we gave no thought to the number of flys and midges that would come in. We bought the Adjustable Insect Repellant block and hey presto no more flying flies or midges, just lots of dead bodies to clear away each day. Flies are not killed instantly, it does take an hour or so but we can live with that, no problem.

Published 26 Aug 2011

Not impressed. by Mrs Smith

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I bought two of these and I found like the other review the flies use them as a landing place, they have no effect what so ever in keeping them out. I thought these would be great as I do not like using fly spray. There was a slight smell when first opened but it soon disappeared. I'm glad I bought them in the sale and not full price. Back to the squatter.

Published 03 Aug 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry the insect repellent didn't meet your expectations. I'll be in touch to help

Peace and tranquillity no more buzzing around!by Ann

5 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

This is a brilliant product. No more flies etc. buzzing around making life difficult.

Published 20 Jul 2011

Not impressedby Barbara

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I bought 2 of the insect repellents and found them to be of no use whatsoever they didn't have any fragrance at all, we had to laugh flies used them as landing pads. Very disappointed

Published 17 Jun 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry you were disappointed with this item. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Very disappointedby Isobel

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I am very disappointed with this product, they do not work AT ALL! The midges and gnats swarm around them as if they are not there. Gave off a very slight fragrance for about 1hr and then nothing! What a waste of money. I'd give it 0 stars if I could - worse than useless!

Published 17 May 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for palcing the review. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Not very goodby Mrs Hartley

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I have to agree with the other reviewers. My block has hardly any smell and doesn't seem to repel the flies.

Published 14 Sep 2010

A note from the team: Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you'd been disappointed with the performance of the insect stop. I'll be in touch shortly.

useless!by Ms subzwari

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I bought 4 of these, two for my living room and one for the hall & kitchen. I used them open to full capacity to maximise the effect but they had no effect whatsoever. These are not worth buying at all.

Published 03 Sep 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review on the Repellent Block. Sorry it has been a disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Didn't workby Mrs Sherman

2 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I bought one of these and found it didn't work very well. It may be because I had a reaction to the scent and have only opened it up very little and can only site it near an open door. Needless to say it hasn't had an effect on keeping flies or any other flying insect out.

Published 10 Aug 2010

A note from the team: We're sorry that the adjustable insect repellent block hasn't met expectations, and we appreciate your review. We'll contact you straight away to put things right.

Some blocks work, some don't!by Miss Palmer

3 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I've got two of these blocks, bought at different times - one is great and I haven't seen a single fly in the room it's in, the other's rubbish and I've seen flies sitting on it. There seems to be a serious problem with the consistency of product quality here - please sort it out, Lakeland, as when these are good, they're very good indeed!

Published 20 Jul 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry to learn of the problems you've had we'll be in touch shortly to help.

Not worth buying.by Mrs Griffiths

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

Waste of time, did not work, not happy, would not buy again.

Published 06 Jul 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry to learn that it proved to be so disappointing. I'll be in touch shortly.

Works Wondersby Judith

5 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I am allergic to wasps and don't have fly screens in my flat. I got stung indoors a couple of times last summer. I bought this and afterwards there was not a wasp in sight! It was fantastic! I am about to purchase more for this year!!

Published 21 Apr 2010

Adjustable Insect Blockby Mrs Amy Leiper

5 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

My goodness! I love this product! Since we have began using it (4 years ago), we have been mosquito free! We didn't have fly screens on our house in London and our neighbours had a pond (perfect breeding ground). Before buying, we were chomped to death... since - not one comes into our house. We have now moved back to sydney and still buy them from Lakeland! Don't know what the other reviewers were using, but this definitely works on mosquitos!

Published 15 Dec 2009

sorry wouldn't buy againby Mrs Nikki Smith

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

Lakeland have some fabulous products but very disappointed in this insect repellent. In fact while writing this review flies are in the same room as the block.

Published 16 Aug 2009

A note from the team: I'm sorry that the product didn't live up to your expectations - we'll be in touch shortly.

ineffective fly killerby Kiran

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I am sorry to say I am very disappointed with this product. I bought three packs and although I could smell them at first, I have not been able to see any difference they have made.

Published 28 Jul 2009

A note from the team: I'm sorry that the product didn't live up to your expectations - we'll be in touch shortly.

Insect Repellent Blockby Mrs Lloyd

5 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

This product definately works! It is placed in my dining room - which leads into our conservatory (which normally attracts hundreds of insects/flies etc). Since starting to use it we have been completely free of any live flies (lots of dead bodies on the window ledge though!). It is still only opened up to the second ridge so has a lots more life in it - it's superb! Cannot understand what the other reviewers are talking about it works really well!

Published 29 Jun 2009

Insect Repellant Blockby Diana Mellor

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I too am extremely disappointed in this product - I bought two. I could smell them at first, but they don't work even indoors.

Published 13 Jun 2009

A note from the team: I'm sorry that the product didn't live up to your expectations - we'll be in touch shortly.

Insect Repellant Blockby Mrs Elliott

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I have just purchased three of these and they don't work at all! I can not smell any scent from them either.

Published 03 Jun 2009

A note from the team: It's always disappointing to hear that one of our products has not been up to our usual standards. I'll be in touch shortly, please accept my apologies.

disappointedby Ms BALL

1 stars out of 5

Adjustable Insect Repellent Block

I have bought this item before with great success and received another 4 a few weeks ago. On opening them now the weather is fine I discover there is no smell on any of them and the flies are back in my kitchen. Very disappointed and will not be buying them again

Published 30 May 2009

A note from the team: I'm sorry to learn that the product turned out to be faulty. We'll be in touch shortly.

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2

Your basket is currently empty