You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Large Pop-up Food Cover
Large Pop-up Food Cover
3.7 stars out of 5 based on 12 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 12 of 12

Good idea but...by Mr John Tapscott

2 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

This worked well to start with but then we found that the base would not sit flat on the worktop and the flies quickly found their way under and on to the food. We tried bending / twisting the base but to no avail.

Published 14 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to hear of the problem you'd had, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Great sizeby Murray

5 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

I've ordered with Lakeland a couple of times in the last few weeks - and these are a great buy - sizeable enough to sit around a pan or a big plate - fab.

Published 25 Nov 2013

Fantastic covers - shame about the elastic -by Mrs Elizabeth White

5 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

I have both sizes of these covers and are great except for the elastic. I have to keep mine in bags now as the elastic has stretched so much that it won't hold them down. I have now received my new ones and I am very happy with them - As usual Lakeland customer service is second to none. Thank you

Published 04 Nov 2013

Poor elasticby Mrs JULIETTE NEWTON

4 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

In most respects this is a fabulous product, but as others have mentioned the elastic is not robust and soon looses it's elasticity. I have resorted to using clothes pegs to hold it.

Published 07 Aug 2013

Stay with traditional styleby Chantelle

2 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

Sorry to say this circular umbrella is useless for storage as the elastic 'popped' becoming overstretched pretty much after 2nd use. I have to put it under something to keep it closed. For looks, I prefer it to the traditional umbrella style but keeping it closed is troublesome...

Published 12 Jun 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon.

Pop-up food coverby Liz

3 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

Like your previous reviewers, love the product but the elastic on both of my covers has also stretched to the point of not holding them in place any more.

Published 28 Jun 2012

A note from the team: Thank you placeing your review. We're sorry the elastic on both of my covers has stretched. We'll be in touch shortly.

Great covers but poor elasticby Ruth

4 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

I have had a couple of these covers for a year or so now. I much prefer them to the umbrella type covers and they certainly do the job of keeping the flys off the food. The covers should fold flat for storage which is great but as others have identified the elastic is rather weak, stretches quickly and does not keep the covers flat as planned. I wedge mine behind something else in a cupboard so they store flat.

Published 26 Jun 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Excellent food coversby Susie

4 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

This product was just what I was looking for and I bought two large & two small covers. I read the comments regarding the elastic with interest and can imagine over time with lots of use they could lose some of their elasticity. My suggestion is can Lakeland take a look at the possibility of instead of/as well as elastic, how about including a robust plastic sleeve which snugly holds each food cover. It would solve 'elastic' problems and the food covers would be kept not only flat but clean too.

Published 12 Jul 2011

A note from the team: We'll pass your idea for an improvement to the food covers to our buying team. Thanks for your suggestion!

Great for summerby Jane Cox

4 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

Very useful especially for eating outdoors. I find these sturdier and much easier to used than the umbrella style. I do agree with all the other reviewers about the elastic -it perishes and loses it's stretch. As I only use mine infrequently it is not from repeated stretching but just happens over time.

Published 23 Jun 2011

Brilliant covers, poor elasticby Laura Smith

4 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

These food covers are so useful, they don't let flies or any other unwanted creatures get under, and the way they fold flat is great. The only trouble is, the elastic on my first pair (1 small, 1 large) stretched so much they weren't folding very flat at all; and the elastic on one other one I hadn't really used had completely perished. I replaced the elastic with ribbons - a different colour for large and small so I can easily tell which is which, and it holds them very firmly folded - it won't stretch either.

Published 09 May 2011

Elasticby Patricia

3 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

Great product, much better than the conventional umbrella type, stylish too. However, had my two for going on a year now and the elastic has stretched so much on both of them that they can no longer be stored flat which is obviously a problem.

Published 19 Apr 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry that the elastic has stretched. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Great for storageby Mrs Coxon

4 stars out of 5

Large Pop-up Food Cover

These are a good size and are easy to use. They are particulary good if you are pushed for storage! But they can be a bit tricky to clean if you get any icing etc on them!

Published 04 Apr 2011

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty