You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System
Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System
4.6 stars out of 5 based on 57 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 57

COBB BBQby Lesley Fitzgerald

1 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

Just bought one of your COBB BBQ's but do not sell the briquettes for it - nor are there any in it to get you started. Disappointed - we've now ordered them online and can't use it until they arrive,

Published 11 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that we don't sell the cobblestones but they are readily available from a number of retailers. Details can be found by typing Cobb Cobblestones into a search engine.

fabulous piece of kitby SUSAN

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

My friend and I have coveted one of these for ages. She got hers , we used it, I ordered mine that evening. I've cooked crispy pizza, burgers, sausages, corn on the cob, wedges. Heated up pan au chocolate and even baked a cake. There is nothing this BBQ can't do. Keeps cool to the touch, and the lid means you can cook in the wind and rain( I live in the north of Scotland, so this is very handy) Heats up quick and cools down fast. The only down side is, as I have no dishwasher the inner bowl needs a good scrub to clean. Have recommended to friends who have since purchased.

Published 20 May 2014

Fantasticby christina

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

I have recently been in South Africa and purchased a Cobb BBQ. We purchased the fry pan and griddle -found both of these great for cooking sausages and prawns. We also successfully roasted a whole chicken, pork, beef and lamb joints, all very tender and juicy. We did find that by swapping foods on the griddle it lost its heat so need to heat it up between cooking. We used both briquettes and the cobb stone, the latter being far quicker to heat and cleaner. It is very easy to clean being able to wash all parts. It is neat to put away and so pleased that we have purchased one here!

Published 15 Apr 2014

Cobb BBqby Mrs Amor

2 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

This looked like a very good idea but we weren't able to buy the Cobblestones anywhere and ordinary charcoal briquettes just didn't work which was a real let-down on our holiday last year. I have now managed to get hold of some but haven't tried them yet but this might be the first time one of Lakeland's products has not lived up to what I expected so my rating is based on what happened in 2013

Published 11 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that we don't sell the cobblestones but they are readily available from Cobb and other retailers.Details can be found by typing Cobb Cobblestones into a search engine.

Its not a BBQ! It's a kitchen in the garden.by Andrew

3 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

If you like your food 'chargrilled' straight from the coals then this isn't for you. It cooks beautifully (if a little slower) compared to the usual coal BBQ efforts that I have used which blast everything! I have only used it once so far but my wife says it lacks the 'crunchy' black crispy bits you get from cooking on a grill over the coals. Maybe didn't cook things long enough! Don't own a dishwasher, so took sometime to clean as the marinate drips through into the 'moat' section and burns on. Waiting for a replacement foot as mine was delivered with one missing.

Published 23 Jul 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're pleased to say that the replacement foot is on its way to you.

Cobb BBQ Systemby Lynne

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

In the forest or on the beach or even at home on the back garden, I absolutely love this product. Not only does it bbq beautifully, it does an amazing and moist roast, especially chicken. going to get the accessories next. Well done Lakeland.

Published 03 Apr 2013

Perfect for the campervanby Lesley

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

We bought the Cobb BBQ to use on camping trips with our camper van. It has proved perfect for us. We can roast on it as well as barbecue. It is compact in size and easy to clean. It packs away in its own bag making it convenient for storing in the van. The design ensures that the base stays cool so that it can be used on grass or a picnic table. We used the Cobbette fuel that is designed to go with the BBQ but we are going to try normal charcoal briquettes next time because each Cobbette lasts about 2 hours and we rarely need them to last that long. Highly recommended for campers.

Published 10 Oct 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

Brilliantby Sheila Topham

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

This is the best BBQ I have ever used. No flare ups, heats up quickly and cooks so evenly and beautifully. My other half isn't keen on BBQ but even he loves food cooked on a Cobb. Being able to smoke on it is a bonus - we've tried salmon and duck, the latter being the tenderest duck breast we've ever cooked. Cleans like a dream, packs away neatly, what more could you want!

Published 14 Sep 2012

Husband needed persuading but now even he's hooked!by Abigail

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

I saw this a while ago, but was talked out of buying it by my sceptical husband who said that it would be another gadget languishing unused in the garage. Having wrestled our huge gas BBQ out of the shed just once all summer, I was convinced that I would get more use out of something much more portable and compact. After much 'gentle persuading' over the last week we finally went to Lakeland yesterday and bought a Cobb and roasting rack. 2 hours later we were eating succulent chicken drumsticks under the awning in the pouring rain. Today we are roasting lamb and hubby is eating his words!

Published 27 Aug 2012

Love it!by Jeremy

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

Bought the Cobb from Lakeland for my motorhome. Cooks very differently to a usual BBQ - it doesn't burn and will cook foods such as chicken right the way through. Love the ability to add wine / stock etc to the "moat" which gives a moist heat and flavour. Why has Lakeland stopped stocking Cobblestones (Cobb Charcoal Blocks). These are so convenient and heat up in 4 minutes. I have to order them from Cobb direct. Please get them back!

Published 14 Aug 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're pleased you love the Cobb bbq. The cobblestones are going through a improvement stage with the suppliers to make them even better than before so we do hope to get them back on sale but in the meantime the Cobb works extremely well with charcoal briquettes. We hope this helps.

Fab for campingby Sarah-Jayne Gall

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

Our Cobb was a wedding gift, due to our fondness of camping. Compact to bung in the car and does not take up valuble space on the site. Easy to start up and can cook for the whole family in good time. If you are not able to wash up the "goo" is well contained in the kit for the journey home.

Published 13 Aug 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

Best BBQ Ever!!!by elaine

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

We have just bought the Cobb BBQ and we were amazed how easy it makes barbequing , it is so sociable being able to put it on the table and sit round with a drink or 2 and let the food cook. We are looking forward to trying it out at the beach next week.

Published 25 Jul 2012

dont BBQ - Cobb!by Sarah

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

I have had mine for a few years, and have gradually collected all the attachments to be ready for anything! The griddle is great for burgers, sausages and steaks, the frypan make an excellent brekkie, and the roasting rack and dome extension are great for roasting joints. ALL the accessories will fit into the carry bag! I have used both briquettes and cobblestones, and find that stones heat up faster but briquettes last much longer. Always let food come to room temp before putting it on to cook, and NEVER take a Cobb into a tent to cook/keep warm.

Published 21 Jun 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review and providing helpful tips for others. We certainly recommend customers follow all safety instuctions provided so that they too can enjoy this popular product.

Cobb delightby ZARA

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

Have had the Cobb for a about 12 months, have all the accessories (including ones not stocked by Lakeland, unfortunately!!) chickens are great, now have an extender to cook larger size chickens. I agree with other reviewers as to washing it, great if you have access to a dishwasher, not so great if not. Purchased mine from a Lakeland shop whilst away and I to have had a few problems with the non stick plate, the coating has come off, I’m managing with it though and still love my Cobb

Published 19 Jun 2012

My new favourite toy...by Denise

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

We used our shiny new Cobb for the first time today between downpours and the cooltouch sides came in handy as we had to move into the greenhouse shortly after lighting!! I baked bread rolls and a small 1lb loaf which came out lovely and crispy and my husband decided to take over (!) and cooked some steaks. We also tried out pork chops,burgers,sausages and chicken drumsticks. We are a family of five (3 teenage boys with hollow legs) hubby and myself and we had to use two cobblestones to feed everyone but this was including the baking.Would recommend for ease of use/lighting and taste.

Published 07 Jun 2012

Cleaning Cobbby Sarah McGealey

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

I agree with the reviews about cleaning Cobbs'. I don't have a dishwasher and although love cooking on my Cobb and have done for three years, the thought of washing it afterwards is not such a delight! Have found that those flexi tubs are good for washing it up in as they are big enough for all the Cobb bits to fit in. The only gripe about Cobb though I wouldn't change it for anything!

Published 27 Apr 2012

Very good, but give it longer to warm up.by A

4 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

I was wary about buying one of these as they are expensive, but hubby and I like to walk to the beach in the evening, cook our meal and wander home. We used to just leave the BBQ there and pick it up the next morning - this is a far better alternative. You really can just pack it up and move on. But there is an art to cooking on a Cobb and you will need to practice. Also, I have found that the cobblestones take rather longer than advertised to warm up the cooker, and they certainly don't last 2.5 hours, whatever the marketing says. But it's a very good product and one you will have fun with!

Published 17 Apr 2012

A Cobb under wayby Stephen

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

We have had our Cobb onboard our beautiful ocean going yacht for some years now. A very stable unit, we sit it in the cockpit and start it and it not only cooks beautifully but also provides a lovely gentle heat and helps keeps mozzies at bay. We particularly like being able to move it without risk of being burned as the outside and bottom are always cool. It is aesthetically pleasing, safe, frugal on fuel and, oh yes, it cooks beautifully. We have yet to try it as a a smoker. We are currently cruising the French waterways and our trusty Cobb is used a number of times every week

Published 30 Nov 2011

the cobb bbqby gwyn walters

3 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

an excellent bbq-cooker,BUT a real chore to clean.

Published 16 Sep 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.

Just love thisby Julia

5 stars out of 5

Cobb® Barbecue Cooking System

As a caravan dweller space is tight & cooking in the summer can prove too much. This sorts out all the problems in a neat & tidy way. The bag is large enough to hold the whole Cobb with all the additions and it is light enough to carry a short way. It can be used in slightly rough weather as the cover keeps the food dry and the Cobb stone is out of the wind by its design. A whole beer can chicken with veg in 2 hours and the dripping can then be used for roasties. Cleaning can be messy due to the moat, clean as soon as cool enough helps no end. This is the perfect BBQ for home and holiday.

Published 14 Sep 2011

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 3. Continue to the next .

1 3

Your basket is currently empty