You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel
Oven Mate Cleaning Gel
4.8 stars out of 5 based on 492 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 492

JUST AMAZING!!!by Barbara

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

Bought this yesterday and I now have an oven which looks brand new! Painted it onto the cold oven as instructed, wiped gel off after a few hours and NO marks left. This product is simply amazing!

Published 19 Aug 2014

Works a treatby Sarah

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

Simply the best oven cleaner I have come across. No nasty smells, no fuss. The brush that comes with to product is more than up to the task and all you do is paint the stuff on, wait a while, mop up the goo with some kitchen paper and then wipe with a damp cloth. Do wear the gloves that are supplied, at all times. I managed to get some on my arm without realising and it caused some irritation. Cleans everything up nicely...if you want to do your racks, just put them on some newspaper on the kitchen counter and paint away. There is enough in the bottle for about three cleans of a double oven.

Published 19 Aug 2014

why did i wait so long?by Ruth

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

I bought the oven mate cleaning gel a while ago but as cleaning the oven is one of my least favourite jobs it remained in the cupboard. When I decided to try it out how surprisingly easy it was. My oven was very dirty which meant it didn't all come off in one go. But the ease at which the majority of the dirt came off means I won't leave it as long before I clean it again. Also I might leave the gel on for longer too. It's good that the pack includes a pair of gloves. I would recommend you have extra gloves at hand to change into especially if you leave the gel on for a while. Great product!

Published 06 Aug 2014

Wish I bought this earlier!by Mrs Said

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

It would have saved me hours of scrubbing! This removed burnt/ baked on apple pie juice residue (we used the oven SEVERAL times without cleaning the spill first.) I tried a cleaner recommended by the manufacturer and it took 3 hours of spraying and scrubbing and an awful smell and all it shifted was the top layer. I brushed this on and in an hour EVERYTHING was gone. I took photos to share with family and friends because I was sure no one would believe me! It has no acrid smell, wipes off like a dream and is so easy to apply. I also needed much less than the bottle said I did so it will last!

Published 10 Jun 2014

amazing!!!by lesley

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

Purchased this a whole back now in store, as it was recommended to me by a friend. Well I can not express how utterly amazing it is!!!! I have a large combination microwave oven. I use it to cook very thing from roast chicken to heating up soup, so it gets very messy! I just paint it with this solution, leave it a while then wipe and all the grease just comes away!!!! Also great for baking trays etc. Just be very careful you don't splash it in your eye as it is soo painful!

Published 28 May 2014

Fantastic!by Mrs Buck

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

I use this exclusively to clean my gas hob and oven. It's great, works just as it says and without smells or sprays which I always feel concerned I will be breathing in.

Published 22 May 2014

Brilliantby Mrs Richardson

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

I'm not surprised there are so many 5* ratings with this product. It's easy to use although a little time consuming without any effort. My oven is just like new... really. I opened all the windows for ventilation but I needn't have done because there was no smell at all. You need to use lots of kitchen roll to wipe off the jell & melted grease once it's activated but what a difference. It's a bit expensive but well worth it, don't let the price put you off. Thank you Lakeland.

Published 22 May 2014

Very good indeed, but job is unfinished....by Lorna

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

Impressed with the good reviews for this product, I purchased one and tried it out yesterday. It was great, and the lack of acrid fumes is a big bonus. I also appreciated the gloves and paintbrush. Thanks for a splendid product.

Published 12 May 2014

Excellent productby Gillian

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

A Lakeland assistant suggested this cleaner as nothing I had tried would clean my glass oven doors. I left this on overnight, and was astonished at how sparkling clean they were after a wipe down. I highly recommend this product, just amazing!

Published 28 Apr 2014

Excellent productby Susan

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

This really does work,after years of scrubbing & rubbing I have found a product that is excellent. My oven & grill are now really clean, I also like this product as there is no acrid smell. Yes I would recommend this product.

Published 25 Mar 2014

Fabulousby Helen

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

This is easy to apply, sticks to the oven roof and wipes away the muck very easily. As stated by others, plenty of kitchen roll helps with lifting the product. Oven cleaning becomes a pleasure and occurs more frequently with Oven Mate as there is no smell and no scrubbing. Well done Lakeland for this fantastic product.

Published 24 Mar 2014

Thank you Lakeland!by Sarah

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

I was sceptical about trying this product, not really believing its claims. But wow! It has made a mundane, difficult chore simple. No more scrubbing with a wire brush, this product gives excellent results every time. Make sure you wear gloves though....it does irritate the skin!

Published 12 Mar 2014

What A Wonderby Mrs Isherwood

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

I have never found anything as good as this it does the hard work for you. It is so easy to use and there is absolutely no smell. Thank you Lakeland for being so helpful my oven has never looked as good as this except when it was new.

Published 10 Mar 2014

A Maz Ing******by Jilly

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

Dear Lakelands, I had to write a review, as I am so amazed at Oven Mate, I have just moved into a new house and the oven, well, lets say, had been neglected. I was thinking that after all the expense of moving in I was going to have to buy a new one it was that bad. A friend of mine recommended I try Oven Mate, I was a bit sceptical, but after reading all of the glowing reviews I thought I would give it a try. Well, I am just amazed, the oven looks like brand new, I am so impressed, its saved me hundreds of pounds and no need for a new oven. Love , love , love it..

Published 10 Mar 2014

disappointingby Ling

3 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

Other oven cleaners work better. I shall not be in a hurry to buy this again. Surely no one wants to have a second application. There is no need for a bag, no gloves, we all have such things, what we want is a good cleaner

Published 05 Mar 2014

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product. We do provide customers with a brush to apply the gel and gloves which are required under the safely usage instructions so that you have all that you need to to tackle the task.Depending on the severity of the chore we do recommend that customer may need to leave the Oven Mate gel on for 3 hours.

A nasty job completedby Joan Rusling

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

Just used this for the first time this morning - excellent. Applied it to a particularly horrible oven and just wiped off, 2 hours later. Just reapplied to one or two baked on areas for an ultra clean today as had not been cleaned since we moved into our house last August. Will be using again and would recommend.

Published 17 Feb 2014

This review is for an older version of this product

Does a perfect job while I go shopping!by Miss Copsey

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

I HATE my oven and it hates me - especially when it comes to cleaning. It's a job a put off until I 'really' have to do it. I just have to paint this amazing gel on - go out shopping for a few hours (that helps ease the thought of what's going on inside the oven) and when I return, just wipe the gel off! Magic! Love this product!

Published 04 Feb 2014

Oven Mateby Pam

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

This is an excellent product. I have tried many oven cleaners, but this far exceeds anything I have tried previously. I like the fact that it is quick, easy to use and odourless. Thoroughly recommended.

Published 30 Jan 2014

Oven cleaning Gelby Valerie

5 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

This product is simply the most efficient and easy to use oven cleaner on the market. I was sceptical when i read how good it was but i have had to eat my words. It is all it says on the box and some. Brilliant!

Published 28 Jan 2014

Not as effective as previous usesby Mrs Suzanne Raynel

1 stars out of 5

Oven Mate Cleaning Gel

I have purchased Oven Mate a number of times throughout the years, but this time it seemed a lot less effective. My oven is only 8 months old, and wasn't particularly dirty - I was just giving it a quick refresh, but even after 6 hours the grills did not become clean. I have now purchased a competitors brand (slightly more acrid but I can live with that) we'll see how that goes. Didn't appreciate double the expense!

Published 14 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you found your new bottle of the gel to be less effective. We've checked with our supplier and there has been no change to the get at all. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 25. Continue to the next .

1 3 4 5

Your basket is currently empty