You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer
Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer
3.3 stars out of 5 based on 18 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 18 of 18

Still going strong!by lynne

5 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

I've had my wooden airer for almost 9 years now, and it shows no signs of giving up on me yet! It sits nicely in the corner of he room, taking up minimal space. It was good value when I bought it, and has remained so ever since. Highly recommended.

Published 25 Mar 2013

Not Built to Lastby Derick

3 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

We pay more for an item thinking it is better made and will last without falling to pieces. The rungs, after two years weekly use, are beginning to fall so struggle each time of use to get the rungs back into the slots. Why not secure these rugs using a glue or even screw. Only 3 stars due to poor manufacture construction to give the product stability.

Published 27 Feb 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. It was nice to discuss this issue with you today but I'm sorry you found the clothes airer rungs to be not as robust as expected. Your suggestion to secure them using glue or screws is valid and I've passed your comments through to our buying team to consider.

My worst ever purchasedby Jacqueline

1 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

I am still using this dangerous item.It falls to pieces every time it is erected.the two pieces of wood seem to be added on to make it safe,well it certainly does not.You should take this item out of your stock.

Published 24 Feb 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review.It was nice to discuss this with you today and I'm sorry you were not happy with this item. The airer additional pieces lock across the bottom bar and are there to strengthen the structure and make the airer robust when erected to suit your full drying needs of shirts, smaller items or heavy towels.

Love it but a bit lopsided nowby Lindsay Smetham

4 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

I have had this airer for about 2 years and have been delighted with it. It holds a generous load and can be moved around quite easily even with washing on it. It has now developed a lopsided slant but the clothes are still hanging on it fine.

Published 26 Oct 2011

wooden concertina airerby Laura

5 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

Similarly to one of the previous reviews, i also found this item had lots of rough splinters on the wooden part of the frame, and so, i used some sand paper to smooth these areas. Nevertheless, i am very glad i purchased this item as it is a sturdy airer with lots of drying space for my clothes and i like the traditional design. i am glad to see the rails are plastic which is easy to clean and don't go rotten like the wooden rails of my previous airer.

Published 27 Feb 2011

wooden concetina airerby Monica Sutcliffe

4 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

This is just like my old one, which recently died after many years of daily use. They are no longer easy to obtain, so I was delighted to find a replacement at Lakeland. I am pleased with it. It is very stable, and takes up little floor space. Some areas of the wood, and the supporting slots were rough, and had to be sanded before use. A small niggle, but it makes the difference between good and excellent quality.

Published 29 Jan 2011

Excellentby Sylvia

5 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

Was a bit apprehensive after reading reviews, but it's a doddle - just use your feet to put it up and down and push the bar into the slots, then you can't trap your fingers. I'm retired, so not a spring chicken either!

Published 23 Jan 2011

Brilliant airerby Fay

5 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

I can highly recommend this airer. I find it very easy to erect and easy to store. I love the traditional style, and it is great value for money and much sturdier and safer than many of the metal airers. I even use it outside on warm days; though do have to weight it down to stop it from toppling over if there's a breeze. The plastic doweling rungs are easy to keep clean and don't rot from the wet washing. All in all a great buy.

Published 27 Dec 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review

Not recommended - especially for elderly peopleby Mrs Carole Walsh

1 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

Bought this in May for an elderly aunt who found it too difficult to erect and let down. I swapped it with one of mine for her - and I agree with her. You need to lift it slightly to swivel the retaining wood pieces out of the way and then be a bit of a contortionist by holding it up whilst you hook your toes over the bottom rung to slot into the grooves. It's worse when you are letting it down as you have to swivel the retaining wood pieces out to the side and then try and hook the bottom rung out of the slot with your toe whilst holding it up so it doesn't suddenly drop down. Usually the retaining pieces move back and get in the way. It is also VERY creaky.

Published 11 Dec 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry that the airer has been a disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Good productby M L

4 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

I have had this clothes airer for over a year now and it has provided excellent service. I particularly like the old fashioned wooden cross bars, as these are much thicker than the modern plastic ones so don't leave fold lines in your clothing the way the skinny modern bars do.

Published 04 Dec 2010

Poor qualityby Miss Scott

1 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

I was really disappointed with this item as the wood isn't smooth so catches on your clothes which isn't what you want for a clothes dryer.

Published 16 Jun 2010

A note from the team: Thank you for your review I'm sorry to learn of the problem you've had with the wooden concertina clothes airer - I'll be in touch shortly.

superby laura

5 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

great airer, i've had mine about a year now and it has been brilliant, no problems, even heavy items, it is still on the go, very sturdy. i would recommend this item.

Published 19 Oct 2009

vintage looks but poor qualityby Katharine

2 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

I have just had to put mine on the bonfire and it isn't very old. It simply split the wood cross piece bar as it was standing drying a few ironed sheets. I like the look and I daresay if you never put anything heavy on it it would last longer, i.e. underwear only but I need it for ironed sheets and pillowcases.

Published 18 Aug 2009

A note from the team: I'm sorry you've had such difficulties with the airer. We'll be in touch shortly to put things right for you.

Great productby jenny

5 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

Bought my wooden airer more than a year ago. It has worked perfectly with no problems. I would be lost without it. As I write it has four pairs of curtains hanging on it. It saves me a fortune by reducing tumble drying time and there is less ironing. Hurrah for wooden airers!

Published 11 Aug 2009

Only good looksby Mrs miller

2 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

I really loved the look of this wooden airer, but that is all it had to offer. Very poor quality and the sides kept breaking. It lasted five weeks. I am now back to using a modern metal not so good looking airer.

Published 03 Apr 2009

A note from the team: I'm sorry to hear that the clothes airer turned out to be faulty. We'll be in touch shortly.

disappointing qualityby Mrs Flynn

2 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

Item delivered just before Christmas but already (10.1.09) one of the rails has already come out of its socket and it's a nuisance to keep having to put it back each time the airer is used. Agree it was stiff to put up the first couple of times but this does get better with use.

Published 11 Jan 2009

A note from the team: We're concerned to learn the wooden concertina clothes airer didn't meet your expectations. Our customer services team will be in touch shortly.

Better than first impressiohnby Mrs agius

4 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

Have just read the review regarding the airer, I have just bought my second one as have had the first for 2 years now and have found it really usefull for not only drying items but for hanging ironing as I was doing it. Ordered thje second one as first in regular use but need to wash suite covers and they make a great drying airer for all the covers. Occasioanlly need to push the wooden dowells in place but otherwise has been sturdy. A really essential piece for me!l

Published 30 Aug 2008

Disappointing first impressionby Linda

2 stars out of 5

Wooden Concertina Clothes Airer

Just taken delivery of this item and first impression was none too favourable. Some of the white plastic strips were discoloured, it's very stiff and awkward to put up and the securing bracket at the base does not look very strong. It certainly doesn't look as easy to use as other airer models.

Published 25 Jun 2008

A note from the team: Thanks for writing your review. I was sorry to hear about your disappointing first impression. We'll be in touch shortly.

Sorting options

Sort results