You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Electric Yoghurt Maker
Electric Yoghurt Maker
4.6 stars out of 5 based on 111 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 111

You get Yoghurt, but...by Mr Dodd

2 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Yes it makes great yoghurt but a potentially simple, elegant piece of equipment is ruined by a strange built in cupboard that stores a useless plastic paddle. Fussy and clunky to use but good results.

Published 17 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the comments. The recess on the yoghurt bowl and inner lid holds the spoon to use when mixing and serving.

Perseverance is all it takesby Miss Williams

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

At first, the results were not especially appetising - a bit thin and grainy even when following all the instructions in the booklet - but, after lots of experiments, we are thoroughly happy with our new favourite gadget. I like my yoghurt very thick, but I also like to keep the fat to a minimum. So, I use skimmed UHT milk with a couple of generous spoonfuls of milk powder, a few spoonfuls of shop bought yoghurt and, after straining it the next morning, hey presto! Just don't reuse the yoghurt as a starter as the mixture gets very acidic and doesn't do the digestion any good!

Published 17 Mar 2014

Superb...Well Done Lakeland!by David Hudson

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Firstly, there's no hard and fast rules in yogurt making, the perfect taste and thickness is subjective and differs for us all. I've had this a while so I could experiment first as each review differs in ratio of ingredients and that's so confusing. That said, the previous reviewers recipes aren't right or wrong, they're just right for them. I've found MY perfect recipe is 3-4 Tblsp of yoghurt, bought or previous batch, 2 Tblsp of milk powder and 900ml of UHT milk. I incubate for 9 1/2 hours as I prefer a slight tangyness. Genuine, cheap homemade yogurt not from a pre-made expensive mix.

Published 06 Mar 2014

Soy Yogurtby julie

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

As Im avoiding dairy and was spending a substantial amount on soya yogurt, I decided to make my own with this equipment. I tried many different techniques found on the web, and followed Lakelands instructions. However my most succcessful was my using regular soya milk with added sugar (1 dessertsppon for 750ml). It wasnt as thick as commercial yogurt but the taste was excellent. Can be thickened by using Agar which Lakeland recommended.

Published 04 Mar 2014

Easy to use but could have some design tweaksby Andrea

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

The maker was easy to use and makes reasonable if slightly thinner yoghurt than most bought types. A couple of things in it's design spoilt it's ease of use for me. It instructs to use a pint and a half or 900mls but the scale on the side does not include a precise measure of this, the scale is also hard to read with white fluid in the pot! As milk is sold in whole litres it would have been better to have instructions to make 1lt. I have done and it works fine! The integrated spoon is of little use and creates two ridges inside the pot that impedes cleaning. A lip for pouring would be better.

Published 24 Feb 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'll be happy to pass on your comments/suggestions to our buying team.

MUST HAVE YOGHURT MAKERby steve

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Purchased this with some trepidation, but that was all put to One side this morning, when I got my hands on the 1st batch. This simple to use machine makes stunning yoghurt, which will just want you to make more and more(forget the rubbish in the shops) Stop thinking...just buy it and try it....

Published 22 Feb 2014

Perfect!by Samantha

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Very pleased with this yoghurt maker. I have made one batch so far, following the instructions in the booklet exactly and voila! I used lactose free UHT milk with 2tsp (large) of a branded youhurt as a starter, switched it all on before going to bed and the next morning.......there was a lovely thick creamy yoghurt. We have been experimenting with adding flavours, but it really is great just on it's own. Thank you for a great easy to use product.

Published 20 Feb 2014

Love this gadget!by Caroline

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I got this yogurt maker a few days ago and it has been in almost constant use ever since, producing lovely thick, creamy yogurt. I add 1 litre of whole pasteurised milk to the inner bowl, microwave for 10 minutes, cool and then add a couple of tbsps of Yeo valley organic yogurt (or yogurt from previous batch). 8 hours later and I've got a huge pot of amazing yogurt! I purchased the Cusipro yogurt strainer too and have strained some batches to make Greek yogurt, but I'm not convinced I need it as the yogurt is delicious just as it is. 4 stars as I'd have preferred a dishwasher safe bowl.

Published 17 Feb 2014

excellentby Sue

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I bought the yoghurt maker as I need to watch the sugar in my diet, & this seemed an ideal way to still enjoy yoghurt. I made the first batch yesterday, & it is perfect. I used a full litre of UHT semi skimmed milk with 2 tbls of skimmed milk powder & 2 tbls of starter yoghurt. I pre warmed the machine for about 5 minutes before adding the ingredients, & then left it overnight for 10 hours. The consistency is perfect, & my husband likes it too! I am delighted.

Published 27 Jan 2014

Fantastic must have kitchen item!by Gemma

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I was skeptical that this would work properly and thought it might be a novelty item that I would get bored of using after a while. It is now a kitchen essential. As others have said ignore the instructions in the leaflet and use 2 TABLEspoons of starter. I use my starter and full fast cheap UHT mik and I have beautiful creamy lovely tasty fresh yoghurt. My toddler loves it and I love knowing it has no sugar or additives and if I run out I can make more within 8 hours. I've never had problems with it being too runny or too thick even though I was prepared for them.

Published 27 Jan 2014

Very hit and missby Ann

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I have used this yogurt maker 4 times now. First attempt I used semi skimmed milk with 2 tsps of starter. I brought the milk to just under boiling and let it cool as instructed before adding to pre warmed maker. Result was thin slimy yoghurt. Next semi skimmed milk with 2 dessert spoons of milk powder. Boiled milk, let it cool and added to 2 tsps of starter. This was a little more successful, but lumpy.3rd attempt I used full fat UHT milk, bring up to 38/40C before adding to starter.This was a disaster, disgusting & runny. Now trying for 4th time, full fat milk 2tbsp starter. We will see

Published 06 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment. A handy tip would be to try 2 tablespoons of starter and see if this works. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Great little gadgetby Julie

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I totally love the yogurt this little maker makes, always lovely and creamy and works out a lot cheaper than buying shop bought yogurts and at least you know what goes into it

Published 31 Dec 2013

So easyby John

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I received the item yesterday and I wanted to try so I decided to make only a quarter of a litre just in case it did not turn out right. I had a tub of no fat natural so I used two desert spoonfuls of that as a starter. I took a quarter of a litre of semi skimmed pasturised milk and heated it to nearly boiling and let it cool to about 105F. Then I mixed in with it a tablespoon of powdered milk, added the starter and gave it a slight stir. Then into the inner flask and into the outer. I did turn the machine on for 10 mins before all this. Then 8 hours-Perfect. I also like the spoon.

Published 03 Dec 2013

Brilliant don't give up on it read my review!by Janina

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Like others I had many false starts but I have a foolproof way for thick creamy yogurt. I tried full fat milk, I tried semi-skimmed with 2 tablespoons of dried milk powder but the results were a thin yogurt, not what I like to serve at my B&B. The method now I use is straining yogurt through the muslin, which sounds fiddly, but is not. Our B&B guests commented on the tasty, creamy yogurt this morning and were amazed when I said I'd made it. Don't give up, please try this method. Ignore the video of this product, as it is misleading and shows a small amount of milk being used, not sure

Published 05 Nov 2013

A bit disappointedby Tina

3 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Nice quality maker, and doesn't take up a lot of worktop space, but no success so far... I used full-fat UHT milk at room temperature and two teaspoons of live yogurt. (as per the booklet instructions and the video). It took 12 hours, and seemed nicely set, but when served, it had a slimy texture and not a very nice flavour. I see from some of the reviews that Lakeland are now suggesting 2 TABLEspoons of starter yogurt, which is different to the instruction booklet. Some people have been adding powdered milk too, but I'd prefer not to as it's not as healthy. Can I please have a refund?

Published 23 Oct 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and hope you find a suitable alternative.

A fun, useful, good buy!by Lorna

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Just made my first batch with organic UHT milk and a starter of pro-biotic yogurt. Followed the instructions to the letter and I'm very pleased with the consistency and delicate flavour. Will try using some dried milk powder in the mix next time, even though I intend to stick with UHT milk. The 'Team' recommend 2 tablespoons of starter although the booklet that comes in the box clearly states 2 teaspoons (10ml). I would suggest the actual yogurt bowl has a marker for the 900ml. Very keen to make my next batch with a couple of variations. A great little bit of kit that produces a great result!

Published 15 Oct 2013

Greatby Marie

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

No longer buy yoghurt. Homemade is now a firm family favourite. Visitors are really impressed! Use long-life 4% milk, a couple of spoonfuls of semi-skimmed dried milk powder and two teaspoons of plain yoghurt (from previous batch). Plug it into a timer for eight hours. Delicious, especially when strained through a sieve lined with muslin. If drained for a while it becomes very firm and like soft cheese. Use the whey (the liquid) for bread making. Very versatile in savoury and sweet recipes and homemade ice cream. Also delicious with the addition of the fruit squirt toppings.

Published 18 Sep 2013

A truly great productby patricia

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I live in France and all the yoghurt makers I've come across here are twice the price, with fiddly little pots. Got this yesterday, and had to use pasteurised milk with a starter from a pot of Greek Yoghurt. Had to use a thermometer to check, but otherwise went without a hitch. Will switch to UHT following the other reviews, and possibly will also try Evap. Great design agree the spoon doesn't add anything. Fits nicely in my fridge. Really pleased with it. :)

Published 11 Sep 2013

Yoghurt Makerby Dr Michael Rutter

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I have been making yoghurt with this maker for ten years ,actually I am on my second as the first eventually died. I make a litre at a time using long life milk and prewarming for two minutes in the microwave and adding three tablespoons of dried milk powder before adding the culture, works every time and I would not like to think how many times the inner has been through the dishwasher with no harmful effect.

Published 22 Aug 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

Yoghurt makerby L D

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Buyers should be aware that the inner container - where the yoghurt is made - is not dishwasher proof and must be washed by hand.

Published 15 Aug 2013

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 6. Continue to the next .

1 3 4 5

Your basket is currently empty