You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Cream Compost Bin
 Cream Compost Bin
3.4 stars out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 19 of 19

Rust bucket!by Laura

2 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

This looked good in the kitchen for a short time but quite soon began to develop rust. It is still functional for holding compost but will need replacing soon as it looks unsightly.

Published 31 Jul 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the bin has started to rust and will be in touch shortly.

Save your money and don't buy it!by Guilfoyle

1 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

I bought this and really wished I hadn't wasted my money. The filters you buy have got to be cut to size. The holders that holds the filter in place one of mine fell of. The lid inside as gone rusty. It's really not worth£14.99

Published 18 Jul 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the compost bin has been such a disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Nice Looking But Some Problemsby Claire

3 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

This looks nice on the worktop, is a good size and keeps smells in, but there are issues. Within 2 weeks of buying it the screws inside the lid were rusting badly. We cleaned it up as best we coud and painted with clear nail varnish to stop it deteriorating. Sadly now the enamel is chipping off all round the handle despite being very careful with it. And finally, so much condensation builds up inside the lid that as soon as you lift the lid that drips on the work surface. Frustrated so buying the OXO hinged lid one instead, hoping that suits me better.

Published 21 May 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review.We're sorry the compost bin hasn't been as expected and we'll be in touch shortly to help.

Dissapointedby Mrs Day

1 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

Looks good but very Dissapointed as the lid inside has gone rusty,and the lid is hard to get off;tends to stick. Lakeland don't sell replacement filters to fit exact, and the ones they sold me had to be cut to size. They are thinner than the original one and doesn't really keep the bin fresh

Published 18 Sep 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the lid has gone rusty and will be in touch shortly.

GOES RUSTYby Claire

1 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

Looks great but inside lid goes rusty quite quickly and the clips which hold the compost liners in place drop off. The handle also pops out easily and I have dropped a full bin on way out to the dustbin a few times. Disappointing so am getting a plastic one next.

Published 03 Sep 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the problems and will be in touch shortly.

Disappointingby Mrs Kernot

2 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

There is no reason why this item could not be manufactured to exacting standards and last 30 years but mine is showing serious wear after only a few months. Firstly the handle is coated in a plastic sleeve only held in place by tension. When carrying the full bin out into the garden the handle can give way, spilling the contents. Secondly the screws on the small stainless steel lid handle are not stainless steel. As the inside of the lid is damp, the screws and the inside of the lid rust badly. Thirdly,knocks mark the enamel and if you drop the lid, the rim is damaged and does not fit base.

Published 10 Jun 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the compost bin hasn't been as expected. We're pleased when you contacted our customer services we were able to help.

cream compost binby Mrs davies

5 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

very pleased with my purchase, so much nicer than the ones provided by our local council. recommended

Published 09 Feb 2013

Attractive bin but going rustyby Mary B

3 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

I was previously using an old plastic icecream carton so this is definitely an improvement! It holds a good amount of compost too. However it is going rusty around the edge and at the connection of the handle to the lid and I cannot see it lasting too long. The handle has a habit of falling which has caused a few spills. Lakeland, it would be great if you could source a good looking plastic compost bin that can be put in the dishwasher.

Published 05 Dec 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'll be happy to pass your suggestion on and will be in touch shortly to help.

looks great but ...by VAL

4 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

Bought this caddy on a trip to the Windermere shop in June this year - really pleased with it and it looks lovely but the inside of the lid is going rusty, as are the screws underneath the filter. I suppose it's only to be expected when there is so much moisture, but just thought it would take longer before it did. I still think it's a brilliant item and would recommend it.

Published 30 Oct 2012

Compost Bin - great buyby Mrs Diamond

5 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

Good looking compost bin to sit on the work top. Nice to be able to lift lid with one hand and not have to hold the base. Holds a good amount and easy to clean. No smells or flies so far!

Published 16 Oct 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

not goodby Ms Butler

1 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

I have had one of these for while and at first was pleased with it (although the handle falling off gets annoying) and it matches my kitchen perfectly but now I am disappointed with it as underneath the lid is a rusty mess. Just not good enough I'm afraid

Published 08 Oct 2012

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with the quality of the compost bin and will be in touch soon to help.

A great findby Cath

4 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

I have been looking for some time for a small compost bin to go on the window sill and this is it. The carbon filter in the lid keeps away smells and flies as well. Its easy to empty into my main outside compost bin and wipes clean with kitchen roll. Just one disappoint my original one the handle fell out and damaged the enamel. I contacted Lakeland and as always received excellent customer service and it was replaced by return of post. The new one is again doing sterling service.

Published 10 Sep 2012

Compost binby Philippa

4 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

I purchased this compost bin from my local store. I have been using it successfully for about three months and have there has been no smell at all coming from it and I have been generally pleased with it. However, I am unhappy that there is a patch on the inside where the enamel is showing signs of rust. I did not expect this to happen on an enamelled product.

Published 24 Jul 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Perfectly Practical!by Janet

5 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

I intended buying one of those large white china crocks but spotted this one on the same shelf. It's turned out to be perfect for my composting needs. It's big enough for the amount of compostable stuff especially from the weekend's meals, very easy to clean, it blends in with my kitchen and above all light-weight even when full so it's not a toil to carry it down to the composter at the bottom of the garden! I would recommend this diamond of a bin over all those big fancy ones any day!

Published 04 Apr 2012

Almost perfect!by CHARLIE

4 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

This compost bin looks lovely in my kitchen. The lid fits on nice and securely and there are no smells. However I am disappointed that the handle keeps falling out whenever you touch it.

Published 22 Mar 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I've emailed to help

Huge Improvement on a Bowl !by Deborah

5 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

Before this bin I used a 4ltr bowl for my compost. It wasn't pretty and the flies were a nightmare in the summer (I live in France). This bin is great. Looks terrific, no smells and the lid fits perfectly. A little small for me but it just means I have to empty it more often. Also I line the bottom with kitchen towel as it gets nasty otherwise. Only had it for a week but love it already.Well done Lakeland.

Published 20 Jan 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

clean and smell freeby Mrs Sue Cross

5 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

Very light, easy to keep clean and free of smells, this is a valuable addition tom the kitchen for those interested in recycling

Published 09 Nov 2011

FIRST CLASSby Neil

5 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

This bin is attractive as well as being very practical. It is well made. It is much better than the ceramic type being easier to clean and much lighter. If you drop the lid it does not smash (unlike the ceramic). It is first class in every way. Do not hesitate to buy one.

Published 04 Oct 2011

looks goodby Bridget

4 stars out of 5

Cream Compost Bin

Good looking compost bin to sit on the work top (far better than the grey things supplied by the council) and a nice size.Lid fits well, but had to squeeze the handle together to get it to stop on. Finish on the lid is not wonderful, very bitty, looks as if the colour has been put on over little bits of metal, (but I would guess it might just be on my lid) not all would be like that.

Published 01 Sep 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. We're sorry that the finish on the lid isn't up to scratch. We've sent out a replacement for you. Thanks for your time.

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty