You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Green Apple Compost Crock
Green Apple Compost Crock
3.8 stars out of 5 based on 24 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 24

Wonderfully kitsch !by Alison

5 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I love this! I hated my old grey "council tub" and bought this so I don't have to try and throw away peelings in one hand whilst trying to open the cupboard under the sink with the other whilst trying to open the lid for the pot! Now I have this out on display as it's looks fab... easy to lift off the lid and put my peelings straight in - annoyed I didn't buy it sooner!

Published 27 May 2014

Initially good but hasn't stood the test of timeby Rachel

2 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I purchased this a year or so ago and to start with I was pleased, however I noticed that over time that it started to craze, I now have what is almost a crack down one side. I have always hand washed the crock so I am sure it is not down to my care. As I said - lovely to look at but doesn't stand the test of time.

Published 30 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the crock is causing problems and will be in touch shortly.

Love the look of it, but....by Louise

4 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

This looks so pretty on my worktop, but it could be so much better: the lip on the pot makes it difficult to empty and to drain when you have washed it out. Same problem with draining the lid. I broke one of the knobs on the side trying to fit the handle on the first one I got, so left it off on the new one as the handle got in the way, kept coming off and did not make it easy to empty (in fact that was how my son broke the pot as he dropped it). We wash the filters and dry them no problem. I like this enough to have replaced it, and if it was just a bit better designed, it would be perfect.

Published 22 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback on the apple compost crock. I'll be sure to pass your comments on.

The Big apple is awesome!by RJ

5 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I was looking something for my food waste and I came across this. Looks very pretty and neat. Such a fine investment it has been. So many people have complimented me and can hardly believe its a food waste container. Would definitley recommend it!!

Published 28 May 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

unable to find a replacement lidby Mrs Ganguly

2 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I have found my apple crock effecively containing the smell. But I have an issue with the lid. The colour seems to come off everytime I hand clean the lid, also due to the ineffective handle we managed to chip the lid and,now can't find a replacement one. I will be happy if you could produce some replacement lids for the product.

Published 17 May 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you've experienced this problem. Our buying team have suggested using a soft cloth with soapy water works well. I hope this helps and will be in touch soon.

Love this crock!!by Peta Bosley

5 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

Having redone our kitchen, I was banned from having a tacky compost caddy in the kitchen (;-0) and then I found this one. It really looks good and is a decent size too. One question though; we have had it for a couple of weeks only and the filter is a bit "furry" - can we rinse this without damaging it?

Published 22 Mar 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

A note from the team: Thank you for your review on the compost crock.Our buyers have advised the filters can be washed providing they are thoroughly dried after washing to avoid excess moisture that may cause mould. Spare filters are available ref 21419 for a pack of 5.

Apple Compost Crockby Mrs Hawthorne

2 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I love the usage and look of my Apple Compost Crock however, I too am disappointed, like a previous customer, to have found white mold on the filter after a couple of weeks of use of the product. Your product details say that the filters last 3-4 months and that they can be purchased. For many years I have been a great advocate for Lakeland, but why state that the filter lasts for 3-4 months when it doesn't. I must add that there is no way this hiccup will put me off buying your fantastic products.

Published 22 Mar 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you experienced this problem. Our buyers have advised you may experience some moisture build up from the scraps. Filters can be washed but please ensure they are thoroughly dried to avoid excess moisture that may cause mould. The Compost Crock is suitable for all food materials with the filter lasting 3-4 months. Bags can be used inside but please make sure they're biodegradable.We'll be in touch soon.

Apple compost crockby Donna Watterson

5 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

Really love this item bought a couple for presents and they loved them too look great in my kitchen instead of the ugly brown compost bin.

Published 29 Dec 2011

Green Appleby Janey

4 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

Love the look - but bits get stuck in the inside lip, when emptying. Not dishwasher proof as paint on leaf and stem peels off in dishwasher - seems OK everywhere else.

Published 31 Oct 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. We don't recommend putting this item in the dishwasher

Apple Crockby Catherine

4 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

Yes, the handle is a little slack, but I haven't bounced it yet. I use news paper in mine, I don't like paying for bags to throw away / compost. You can neatly tuck the edges inside! I also use paper bags that come with purchases and also some organic veg comes in compostable plastic (check the logos) It does have a few chips but a quick dab of nail varnish in an appropriate colour has sorted that. yes, the food does get a bit stuck but I am happy to wash it!!! Goes in after I have washed up to save water. Brilliant and Funky!

Published 03 Aug 2011

I like this but..by Sharn

3 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

The charcoal filter shrinks and then keeps falling out. It would be good if we could buy replacements. I took the handle off soon after buying - it is inadequate for the task.

Published 27 Jul 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Spare filters are available in pack of 5 for £4.29, reference number 21419, hope this helps.

Green appleby Liz Counsell

4 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

Love the pot - it looks great in my kitchen. One criticism, the handle is not secure. Nearly dropped it when it detached this morning. Will be very careful to ensure it's in place before picking up again.

Published 14 Jun 2011

Lovely itemby Mrs Gardom

4 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

We bought this in the red apple design last year and it makes a charming addition to the kitchen and adds a splash of colour. It has been commented on by various visitors. It makes composting a delight! I would warn you to remove the lid before you carry the composter out (or don't use the carry handle as it does become loose) as we've had it fall off and have had to buy a replacement lid.

Published 07 Mar 2011

Apple compost crockby Mr Tremain

3 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

My wife purchased this in your Salisbury store back in September, it quickly became chipped (lid) although we are not heavy handed and carrying across the kitchen today it somehow became unhooked and smashed. My wife loved the design and it was much admired in the kitchen, but cannot see my way clear to spending another £20 on a compost bin. Why couldn't they be made in plastic - would still look great with a redesigned handle. Sorry but very disappointed. Also now left with surplus filters!

Published 15 Feb 2011

A note from the team: I'm sorry to learn of the problem you've had, I'll pass your suggestion on and be in touch shortly.

Happy with my Appleby Mrs Griffiths

5 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I'm very pleased with my compost crock and I only have one small complaint: when it's full the waste touches the filter and makes it dirty. It would be nice to have a piece of washable flexible plastic mesh which could fit inside the cover and protect the filter. Otherwise, top marks.

Published 04 Oct 2010

A note from the team: We'll pass your idea for a filter protector to our buyers, thankyou for your helpful review.

Bad designby Mrs Donnelly

2 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I got this to replace an old crock no longer stocked by Lakeland. This crock though larger than my old crock is not as good, my main complaint is that the lid is not tight fitting and fruit flies can get into the crock, something which never happened with the old crock. I do advise you place a double layer of paper towel in the base every time you empty the crock, just makes life much easier, and remove the handle before use, it's not dependable. I honestly won't buy this item again. Oh, and food gets caught in the inner lip when being emptied, another pain.

Published 03 Oct 2010

A note from the team: Thankyou for your valuable review. We'll contact you to help with the apple compost crock.

Good idea but needs workby Mrs Higgins

3 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I like the previous writer purchased this and on the whole I am pleased. But I have the same problem as the previous writer in that I was putting the lid back on and just touched the lid on the base and a big chip occured, so now I am not so pleased. Also there is the problem of lining it, I use the compostable bags but they either stick out and look unsightly or you fold them in, but have to open them every time you want to put something in it.

Published 01 Oct 2010

A note from the team: We'll contact you straight away to put things right with the compost crock, and we'll pass your comments about a liner to our buying team. Thanks for your feedback.

One "slightly" bad appleby Mrs Thorpe

2 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

Bought this recently to replace the rectangular food waste caddy supplied by my local council as I thought it would be a funky, yet practical, addition to the kitchen. Nice design but the shape means it doesn't hold that much and things have to be scrunched up to go inside - not easy with chicken drumstick bones! Each time it's picked up, the handle falls off and the filter has gone furry and been abandoned. Can't fit a liner in without it looking unsightly so had to constantly wash it out , especially with eggshell pieces sticking to the inside. Now used as a worktop ornament and have gone back to the more practically shaped council caddy and the waste disposal unit!

Published 24 Sep 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry you've been disappointed with the compost crock. I'll be in touch shortly.

Apple composter - to line or not to line?by molly

4 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

This is a fantastic design which I'm sure would cheer up any kitchen. I'm curious as to whether I should use a liner or not? If I choose to use one it'll look unpleasant sticking out of the rim, but if I don't I'll be washing out a very stinky apple.... overall I'm very happy with it. It stands out head and shoulders above all the other designs I came across. It also seems a bit bigger than I'd expected (not such a bad thing).

Published 13 Aug 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. You can use the compost crocks with or without a liner. We'll pass a suggestion for liners that don't need securing over the rim to our buying team.

Great at first but..by Mrs Campbell

2 stars out of 5

Green Apple Compost Crock

I did like this product when we first bought it. It was a welcome relief to be able to recycle my vegetable waste without having a problem with unpleasant smells developing, and I am still very pleased with this aspect of the product. However, I was disappointed with the quality of the material as my husband knocked the base with the lid (not heavily) and this has caused a large chip, so I consider the finish quite poor. However this is not my major problem with this product. The outside of the product has a nice shine EXCEPT the underside which is quite rough and this has caused unsightly scratches on my kitchen work surface. I now have to use a pan trivet under the crock to prevent further scratching.

Published 24 Jul 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry you've been disappointed with the item. I'll be in touch shortly.

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2