You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Dossil
Dossil
3.3 stars out of 5 based on 53 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 53

I used to keep the plunger beside the kitchen sinkby Patricia

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

Just the most wonderful product. I used to keep the plunger beside the sink because it seemed to be blocked all the time. Thanks to this product it doesn't happen any more - and I've saved a lot of money in plumber's bills!

Published 14 Aug 2014

Utterly useless - do not buy!by Mrs Mazzotta

1 stars out of 5

Dossil

I purchased 2 of these - 1 for me, another for a friend after I'd raved about having a hair trap in my shower. Sadly my old trap no longer has lugs to hold it in place so I thought that a suction one would be a good replacement. Firstly it was almost impossible to get it to stick firmly in place, as soon as it got wet it started to move. Then very shortly afterwards I was paddling in an inch of water as there was no way that the water could drain quickly enough. A complete waste of money! I have reverted to my old broken trap. Thank goodness I hadn't thrown it away or given my friend!

Published 12 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the performance, I'll be in touch shortly.

Dossilby Julie-Ann

4 stars out of 5

Dossil

Found the dossil works well for collecting even small amounts of hair and couldn't imagine taking a shower without one. My only criticism is that despite regular cleaning it goes mouldy on the underside and I have to replace it at intervals for this reason. I even take it out of the plug hole to drain and dry between uses. Can't they be manufactured with an anti-mould additive please?

Published 20 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We've passed on your suggestion to the buyer.

will not stay in placeby rita hessey

1 stars out of 5

Dossil

bought this item for my mothers shower it will not stay in place. we have all tried with no luck. so phoned Lakeland and they sent a replacement straight to my mother with exactly the same results. it just floats away so I now have 2 Dossils would you like me to return them to you?

Published 18 Dec 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the Dossil isn't suitable. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Dossilby Rachel

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

We use it in our shower and it is wonderful! Its a little shocking how much hair it catches that was previously going down the drain and blocking it up fairly regularly. It looks great, stays in place well and just does a really excellent job! Nice and cheap as well!

Published 01 Mar 2013

Great wee thing!by Miss McCrystal

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

Despite some reviewers saying it didn't stay in place well, I thought it did. It stuck very well once the water came into contact with it and it covers the shower plug perfectly. It also blends into the shower tray. Great product! I bought more

Published 07 Feb 2013

Worth While Purchaseby Laura

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

I purchased this around a year ago, and with a little clean each week it still looks brand new! It seems to stop most hair going down the drain and blocking it, so does what it says.

Published 12 Nov 2012

Dossill Sinkie - no good!by Sylvia Winstanley

1 stars out of 5

Dossil

A waste of money - this dinky little thing's suckers just don't stick to my stainless-steel kitchen sink, and as I tip out the bowl of water and veg peelings, it politely moves aside to let them slip down the plughole!

Published 31 Oct 2012

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon to help.

D0SSIL SINKIE (Small)by CAROLYN

1 stars out of 5

Dossil

Very disappointed with this item, The little suction pads simply don't work at all. One appeared to stick but only for a moment and absolutely none of the others stuck for any amount of time. I would definitely not recommend it.

Published 14 Sep 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the Dossil hasn't worked for you and will be in touch shortly to help.

Doesnt Workby Elaine

1 stars out of 5

Dossil

I was really dissapointed with this in fact I'm going to take it back. I put it in my kitchen sink and when I emptied the water out of the bowl the Dossil just floated away!! hence leaving the gunk down the plug hole. Waste of time.

Published 07 Sep 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for the review, I'm sorry that the Dossil didn't work for you. The staff at the store will be happy to help.

Re-ordering these amazing things!by Kath

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

Just about to re-order 2 or 3 dossils, have used them for years. Perfect. I agree they do get black stained after a while and no amount of cleaning, bleaching will help. I put mine in the washing machine with my towells occasionally, that does help. Other than that, after a few months I simply throw it away and order another! No big deal at the price and imagine the saving not having to un-block hairy waste pipes.

Published 17 Aug 2012

Brilliantby Elizabeth

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

This is great! I bought one just to try it out and was so impressed I sent off for another almost immediately for the second shower. This is perfect for a shower - any hair (I have long hair which gets everywhere) just sits on top of the dossil and can be wiped off to make your shower look clean and tidy again. I would thoroughly recommend these to anyone who hates having to clean hair out of a plug

Published 13 Aug 2012

Brilliant!by Linda

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

Having replaced our bath with a shower cubicle I was for ever taking out the 'trap' and removing goodness knows how much hair, often fishing around with an old toothbrush to catch more of the revolting stuff. If I forgot to do it regularly enough, the drain would begin to block and the shower would take ages to drain... Then I discovered the dossil! It works like a dream, is so easy to clean, looks good... and I wouldn't be without it! I'm not sure how it would work in a bath - but in a shower cubicle it is absolutely brilliant.

Published 22 Jun 2012

Does the job!by Miss SHAH

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

No more avoiding the disgusting job of clearing debris from the plughole. It may slip occasionally, but it really works 99% of the time.

Published 09 May 2012

effective - and looks good too!by Mrs Sermon

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

At last - a plughole insert that fulfills all requirements! I was concerned at first because the suckers on the dossil didn't keep it stuck in place as the plughole my bath is quite deeply set. But despite that, the dossil not only does the job of keeping the plughole clear but you don't end up ankle deep in undrained water AND it even looks good! Excellent little product.

Published 25 Apr 2012

Amazing gadget!by Vanessa

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

This is the first shower plug I have found that doesn't make me cringe when I clean it. My daughter and I have really long hair and this is just magic! Hair stays on top, easy to dispose of when you're done showering. Brilliant!

Published 23 Mar 2012

Suckers don't work but ok for my shower.by Freddie

3 stars out of 5

Dossil

Works well in my shower, although like some people have said the suckers are next to useless and don't fix the device to the shower. I'm lucky that the shape of the shower waste is such that the dossil sits without needing to be fixed, and doesn't move or rise much. If it did it'd be totally useless as is the experience of some people.

Published 09 Feb 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry for the disappointment and I'll be in touch shortly

Good idea but...by Mrs Finlay

3 stars out of 5

Dossil

I bought 2 dossils, one for use in the shower and one for my kitchen sink. Unfortunately, the dossil does not fit my sink as the plughole is too large so the dossil does not suction down all the way round. As a result when I empty my washing up bowl it unsticks and washes away making it useless in the sink. However it is working very well in the shower and is trapping all the stray hairs nicely!

Published 30 Jan 2012

Great Gadgetby Mrs Bennett

5 stars out of 5

Dossil

I bought one of these last April for a new shower unit and it's been used every day for 9 months now. Great for trapping hair. It did start to collect mildew after a short while but it cleaned off easily, now I just lift it up after each shower and give it a shake to dry it off, no more mildew. Surprised to see comments about it floating out of place - I've even used it upside down (can't wear glasses in the shower!) and it still does the job. I'm just about to buy another for the over bath shower. I would recommend it, inexpensive and does what it says.

Published 20 Jan 2012

Worked well but hard to cleanby Jose

2 stars out of 5

Dossil

I used this in our bath/shower and it worked great. However, after a while it began to look so filthy that I had to bin it. I tried soaking it, scrubbing it, I even used a toothbrush and bleach, but nothing seemed to get it clean. More trouble than it's worth.

Published 26 Oct 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to hear of the problem you've had I'll be in touch shortly.

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 3. Continue to the next .

1 3