You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner
Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner
4.0 stars out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 19 of 19

Not very impressedby Heather

1 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Not sure why but these things don't work for me. We have really hard water and even on our new toilet bowl there are already big streaks and marks... I tried these tablets twice and even tried brushing before flushing like other reviewers advised, but the marks are still there :(

Published 09 Jun 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the results. I'll be in touch shortly.

Marvellous Productby LYNDA

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

I have used these time and time again and find them exceptional. One tablet left as instructed in the bowl and hey presto the bowl is clean and fresh. I don't need to use a brush and we live in a hard water area. One tablet is enough.

Published 27 May 2013

great results overnightby Gill

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

I left one tablet in a toilet overnight. In the morning I scrubbed with the toilet brush for 2 mins and flushed. Perfectly clean toilet - very happy with these results.

Published 19 Nov 2012

Brilliant!by Claire

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

These tablets are fantastic. After trying many hard-core cleaning products and chemicals to remove limescale and discolouration from our toilet, this is the only product that has worked. Once a week I leave the tablets to fizz overnight, and when I wake up in the morning I just flush. The toilet now looks brand new again! I don't usually write reviews, but this is the best cleaning product I have used so far. I will be buying this again!

Published 23 Aug 2012

astonishingly goodby S

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

we have just moved to a house with 5 toilets which are flushed from our rainwater harvesting tank. Although it has three filters on it, and I have done intensive training with my family on how to use a toilt brush.....! the toilet bowls do get a filmy, dusty build up at the water line. Whilst elbow grease and a loo brush do the trick, these little tablets, left overnight, are fantastic, leaving me with sparkling toilet bowls.

Published 31 Aug 2011

Amazing!by Sheila Topham

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Used these to deal with sorting out a distinctly undomesticated male's bathroom, that hadn't been properly cleaned in years. I couldn't believe how they removed limescale and other stains (don't ask!) with the minimum of brushing needed. Thoroughly recommended.

Published 06 Jun 2011

This review is for an older version of this product

Ineffectiveby David King

1 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Gave this product a fair trial by purchasing 2 boxes, using the tablets overnight as per instructions for a mild limescale problem. Alas, no difference! Discovered white vinegar works better so used instead. Not convinced by this so called cleaner.

Published 26 Nov 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry for the disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Excellent Productby Kathryn Revell

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

My elderly parents live in an extremely hard water area and when it came time to sell their house I couldn't bear to leave the limescaled up toilets alone any longer, so for several visits while sorting out the house I left the toilets with one or two tablets of this product in, and it sorted them out! Once the limescale was removed, I had to repeat with one tablet at each visit or it came back, but at this price for a box of 10, it's an inexpensive solution.

Published 11 Nov 2010

Can't see a differenceby Jodie

1 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Tried one for 20 mins as per instruction but couldn't see a difference. Disappointing.

Published 30 Oct 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry for the disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Really amazing Lime scale removerby Mrs Sharon Long

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

I wasn't sure when I bought this as the reviews were mixed. I am so pleased with this product. My husband has spent literally hours scrubbing at the toilet bowl with all sorts of foul smelling abrasive potions. I bought these without telling him and while he was at work one night I popped one in and went to bed. I got up later, gave the toilet a quick scrub and was absolutely gobb-smacked with the water cleared! When my husband came home it was the first thing he noticed. He was suitable impressed, as was I, and we will never be without these little beauties for as long as we can get them. Thank you Lakeland!

Published 19 Oct 2010

Limescaleby Mrs Hancock

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

I have lived in very chalky areas for 49 yrs; my sons still do and use Astonish from my order. The best thing to combat the chalk problem, of course is a water softener, which we resorted to in Oxon. I have now moved to a slightly less chalky area on the Berks/Hants border and have found Astonish to be the best product around for removing serious limescale deposits in neglected WCs, thence keeping the toilets free & pristine with perhaps a weekly overnight tablet.They help to keep the WCs hygienic and very fresh with a light brush before rinsing, & without resorting to overpowering perfume disguises.

Published 14 Aug 2010

Does what it saysby Mrs Tier

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

So impressed with this product. I've used a similar thing by another manufacturer but it wasn't a patch on this one. The ultimate test was when my husband moved into new work premises where the toilet had been left untouched for at least a couple of years. Believe me, it didn't bear looking at! He used several tablets over a week or so and now the toilet is perfect clear and clean.

Published 10 May 2010

So soby Mrs Haigh

2 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

After reading the other reviews I thought I could be wrong but having used three or four tablets now my opinion hasn't changed. I expected the loo to be frothy and fresh but I couldn't smell anything 'fresh' or otherwise and the toilet looked just the same as the night before. Two points though - we don't get limescale and I never leave the toilet dirty so maybe that's the reason I couldn't see any difference. It doesn't explain the lack of freshness though.

Published 28 Mar 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry that the product didn't live up to your expectations - we'll be in touch shortly.

Lornaby Lorna

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Does just what it says on the box! I left our toilet to see how long before my other half took the hint and took his turn to clean it. I don't think I've ever seen him clean the toilet in the 16 years we've been together! He didn't take the hint and I could stand it no more. Used two tablets overnight for two nights and a swish of the toilet brush and the toilet was back to pre-stand-off cleanliness. Resigned to the fact this will be my job forever more. However, no longer seems the chore it was now I've discovered this product.

Published 22 Jan 2010

We were astonishedby Rosie

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Excellent product, would definitely recommend. We dropped two tablets in the toilet bowl overnight and in the morning gave it a light rub with the toilet brush. What a great result!

Published 14 May 2009

The Brand Name Says It All!by Miss Kerry Earl

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Living in an hard water area, these are a god send. Leave them in (2 tablets if it's really bad) for as long as you like and then wash off with your toilet brush. You can't put these in and then just flush the loo, it will need to be cleaned as well. I simply use the duck brush, and this works fine. The toilet bowl comes up sparkling.

Published 09 Nov 2008

You need to brush as wellby F L

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Works a treat in our hard water area. BUT Once it has done its fizzing (overnight is best) you need to brush the bowl _before_ flushing (as on the instructions). We found that just letting it do its thing and then flushing made very little difference. But if you brush as well - hey presto! Years of hard water stains disappear. And such good value for money.

Published 09 Aug 2008

Not for me!!by Mrs Johnston

1 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

I bought this product a short while ago, after being tempted by the review on this site and on the packaging. But, I would not buy or use them again. My toilet bowl was not that dirty, but still, as I had something new, had to use it!! The packaging said can be left for 20 mins, but as the website says leave overnight, this is what i did. I was very disappointed in the morning to find no change what-so-ever. Thinking that this may be a one off, tried again and yet the same thing happened.

Published 04 Apr 2008

A note from the team: We're sorry that on this occasion the product wasn't as expected. We'll be in touch shortly.

Toilet Bowl Cleanerby Jean Brown

5 stars out of 5

Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner

I picked up a packet of Astonish Toilet Bowl Cleaner whilst looking for a Sink Tidy. This stuff is amazing - just one tablet overnight and the toilet bowl is sparkling. I live in an area with very hard water and even though I have a water softener there are still small patches of chalk adhering to the bowl giving the appearance of a grubby toilet. Now I only have to use this product once a week - marvellous.

Published 06 Mar 2008

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty