You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Spider Catcher
Spider Catcher
3.1 stars out of 5 based on 89 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 89

Don't agree !by JENNIFER

2 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I'm afraid that I don't agree with your other buyers - I assembled this and tried it for the first time, put my hand at the end of it, and thought, "there is not enough suction here to trap a spider", and sure enough when I tried it the spider stayed very firmly fixed to the roof ! I reckon it must have had glue on its feet because no matter how hard I tried, that spider just wouldn't suck up ! Ended up having to get the vacuum out to get it off the roof. Sorry, but found this product to be a waste of money !

Published 15 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the performance, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Need power!by Sheelagh

4 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I purchased this some time ago when becoming a single parent I had to deal with spiders myself. It was great and I have been very pleased. However, lately my house appears to be the meeting place for many mutant (i.e. VERY large) arachnids. Unfortunately, it is neither big enough nor powerful enough to cope with them. Could do with a new improved larger version (with a slightly more powerful motor). In the meantime I am trapped in Spider Central!!!

Published 04 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'll be sure to pass on your suggestion.

Easy to use and I now have a fly free conservatory!by Jill

5 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

OK, so I only had two flies in the conservatory, but it was very quick & easy to use and I escorted them off the premises without harming them. Hopefully it will be just as gentle with bees when they next come into the conservatory because those are the little chaps we want to keep in perfect condition.

Published 25 Apr 2014

This review is for an older version of this product

No Suction!by Gemma

1 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

Assembled this item and the suction is so poor it won't even suck up dust let alone an insect. Very disappointing.

Published 27 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the spider catcher hasn't worked for you and will be in touch shortly.

Useless!by Mrs Birnie

1 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

My husband bought me this a few weeks ago in your Aberdeen branch, as I have a fear of the little 8 legged things, but have no wish to hurt them. I liked the idea of catch and release, and have never had the chance to use it until tonight, 2 small spiders needed relocating, but the power on this thing didn't even make them quiver, didn't suck them up, therefore, a pointless device. So I am left feeling somewhat ripped off! I selected 1 star as there is not a zero option.

Published 19 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that the spider catcher didn't work for you. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

A must-haveby Maureen

4 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

My husband bought this for me and it has been brilliant. With very little effort involved, we have removed spiders of various sizes and innumerable daddy longlegs without squashing or killing them. The gadget could be a little quieter which is the only reason for 4 stars, otherwise it's amazing.

Published 08 Oct 2013

Spider Catcherby Mark

1 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I purchased one about 12 months ago. It's under powered and can only pick up small spiders. Perhaps I got a bad one, but basically it was a waste of money.

Published 18 Sep 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Disappointedby YVONNE

1 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I bought this item less than six months ago and it just doesn't have enough suction to remove the spiders. The first couple of weeks it worked beautifully and in spite of changing the batteries the item is useless. The battery compartment is very difficult to access and I have 'lost' more spiders than it as caught.

Published 27 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry that you've been disappointed with the performance, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

STARTED OFF WELLby Ms Allan

3 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

Great idea but the problem partly comes from the difficulty fitting the battery into the very small space. Also I had to tape bits together after a bit as they can fall apart at bad moments. I bought 2 and do use them but can't be sure that they will fire up when needed. A change in battery size would help.

Published 22 Jul 2013

Thought it was just me...by Melanie

1 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I've had one of these for a while-my mum bought it for me as I'm virtually phobic about spiders. When I first used it it seemed flimsy and didn't suck the spider up unless they were just the weeny ones. Over time the suction has become less and less powerful - despite constantly replacing the batteries, and the handle is completely loose to the tube-so I've had to stick it together. I thought it was just me-and as didn't want to hurt mum's feelings didn't complain about it. Now I see many people have had exactly same problem-I wish I'd asked mum for reciept at the time so I could return it:(

Published 20 Feb 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the problems you're having and will be in touch shortly.

spider catcher notby Mrs kennedy

1 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

i have a great fear of spiders so when my sister in law showed me this product she bought a few years ago, i had to have one.MY SPIDER CATCHER HAS A LOT LESS POWER THAN HERS and wouldnot catch a cold far less a spider.The thing wouldnt pick up a small spider ,so its back to the old way.SHOUTING FOR MY HUSBAND OR SON to get the dreaded thing.

Published 08 Nov 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you've not caught anything, but it sounds as though the catcher may be faulty, so will be in touch shortly to help.

Disappointingby Odette

2 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I bought one of these from Lakeland a few years ago, & it was fantastic, picked up spiders no fuss large or small. When it broke, I bought this one & was really disappointed! The vacuum doesn't seem to be strong enough especially when the extension is on & I amtrying to pick up a large spider! Please Lakeland give the motor a tweak & make it more powerful. My long suffering dh will have to go back to culling the spider population in our house until you do.

Published 28 Sep 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to place your review. We're sorry that the catcher hasn't worked for you and will be in touch shortly to help.

waste of money ....by Miss Turner

1 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

If i could give this product no stars sadly i would , this is the worst product that i have ever purchased from lakeland . The suction is appalling and therefore does not do what the product description says , i have only managed to get rid of one spider using this contraption without it getting away and this was only because i got so frustrated that i jabbed and squished it .I would never recommend this product to anyone , it is a waste of money !!

Published 02 May 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to place your review. We're sorry that the catcher hasn't worked for you and will be in touch shortly to help.

Spider non-catcherby Emma Farrell

1 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

Unfortunately I haven't had a good experience with this spider catcher, so I'm really disappointed that I ordered two of them! The black house spider that i attempted to catch, sat firmly beside the woodburner laughing at my attempts to hoover it into the tube. Eventually it got bored of being tickled and seemed to scrunch itself into a ball, probably hoping I'd go away. I've also tried it on another spider which refused to disappear up the tube, and ran like hell across the floor. So my only conclusion is that I'm using this device really wrong, or I have body-building spiders in my house.

Published 13 Apr 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment so will be in touch shortly to help.

spider catcherby Mrs vipond

5 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

Fantastic product -can I suggest you have the nozzle made wider too for the huge spiders invading my home please!!!!!!!!!

Published 07 Nov 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. I'll pass that suggestion on to our buying team

Best item bought all year!by Berni Rolston

5 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I was delighted when I heard about this product. I have caught dozens of spiders and many wasps since August. It enabled me to have windows open without fear in late summer which was lovely and now to tackle all the spiders trying to install themselves in my house over the winter. Brilliant. Thank you so much! PS - it's so good it got me to leave a review for the first time ever.

Published 14 Oct 2011

Spider friendly!by Deirdre

5 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

Does a quick and efficient job- does take prisoners...doesn't beat them up! Quick release too!!

Published 05 Oct 2011

spider catcherby pauline

4 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I have one of these in every room - they are the best product for catching spiders on the market. I wish you could make them more powerful though as large spiders can escape the suction.

Published 30 Sep 2011

Best ever buy !by Mrs kathleen webb

5 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

Bought one of these some years ago and couldn't believe the difference it made to my terror of spiders. I now manage to not go into sheer panic ! just go get the catcher- " hoover " them up and out the door/window they go ! Have since bought another (though the first still works perfectly) ....and my family have followed suit :) I even take it with me on holiday ..no more fears !

Published 27 Sep 2011

spider catcherby Miss Whalley

4 stars out of 5

Spider Catcher

I'm awful when it comes to spiders but I have caught a few with this. It doesn't work all the well when there is a cobweb involved which isn't handing but works a treat other than that. I don't have a problem with it falling apart as in other reviews as you can pull the tubes apart when emptying instead of hitting or shaking it (this is my partners job though). It hasn't taken the pressure off knowing I have it. Would definitely buy again. Thinking of getting one for the car also.

Published 23 Sep 2011

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 5. Continue to the next .

1 3 4 5

Your basket is currently empty