You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker
Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker
2.0 stars out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 11 of 11

Waste of time & moneyby Mrs Hibbert

1 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

First thing I noticed when taking it out of the package was that the pan lining wasn't flat, rather slightly undulating. Left in freezer as per instructions on flat surface for 24 hours. When I took it out, the base was bulging slightly which meant it wouldn't sit flat on the worktop, the non-slip ring on base was redundant. Followed instructions for making mixture very precisely, put in freezer to chill for 15 mins. Poured my first half cup of mixture onto the Chef n Sweet, waited 15 secs - and nothing! It didn't go hard except perhaps at the edges.Wish I'd read the reviews before purchasing.

Published 11 Sep 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Sadly disappointedby Sue

1 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

I bought this after seeing it in the window display in Windermrere. I thought it would be ideal as I only have a small freezer. Despite following all the instructions, flat in freezer for 48hrs, exact recipes, the mixture did not go beyond a cold slushy texture, not the ice cream as illustrated in the instructions.

Published 03 Sep 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the ice cream maker hasn't been a success for you and will be in touch shortly. It will help if, after removing the item to use, the ingredients are put on the disc for about 15 secs before mixing.

Not Working for Meby Emma

1 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

Despite following all the instructions, the plate didn't turn the mixture to ice cream. I also put the mixture in the freezer for a couple of hours to help make it extra cold when pouring, but still no ice-cream. May be my freezers settings aren't high enough - but doesn't work for me sadly. The kids did enjoy a very cold milkshake though!

Published 21 Aug 2014

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear it's not proved to be successful and will be in touch soon to help.

Why use the freezing plate ice-cream maker?by Hilary

1 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

Tried using 3 of the recipes and found it very difficult to get the mixture to thicken enough despite following the instructions very carefully. Discovered that just putting the mixture in the freezer (without using the freezing plate thing) produced just as good a result.

Published 19 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone. I'm sorry you'd been disappointed, the staff at the store will be happy to put things right for you.

Disappointing!by Melanie

2 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

We followed the recipe and the instructions to the absolute letter, refrigerating the mixture and freezing the sweet spot for 48 hours flat before attempting our first batch. Unfortunately, as other reviewers have found, the 'ice cream' did not freeze very well at all. It was sloppy when it left the sweet spot and almost liquid again by the time it made it to the table. We are really quite disappointed. It is sitting in the freezer unlikely to be used again as we did not enjoy our partially slightly frozen ice cream!

Published 15 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the ice cream maker hasn't worked for you and will be in touch shortly.You'll need to freeze the disc on a flat surface, pan side up for 24 hours in advance and let the ingredients sit on the disc for at least 15 seconds before mixing. The Sweet Spot will produce soft scoop texture ice cream.

Not as expected!!by Mrs Aziz

2 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

I have been wanting to get an ice cream maker for a while but didnt wanted something too big which would take up so much room in my kitchen. So I came across this and looking at the video I was convinced that this would be sufficient for my needs but I was very disappointed as the ice cream it produced was very sloppy. I had to put in the freezer for a few hours for it to firm up and thats not what I was expecting from this product.I have used it a few times now but still failed. I have put it in the freezer for more than 24 hrs and followed the instructions and recipes provided. Not worth it!

Published 07 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to ring our customer services team. I'm glad they were able to help.

disappointed ..by Mrs Bailey

1 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

Having seen this in the catalogue, my kids were desperate to get one and make their own ice cream like the kids in the catalogue photo. Well, we've had it a week and followed instructions to the letter and it's taking me half an hour to get one very sloppy ice cream portion which then has to go in the freezer for a few hours before you could call it ice cream. This rather defeats the purpose of making ice cream in minutes. I froze it for 48 hrs before first using, and only used exact recipes from the enclosed book but can't get it to work. Not worth the £45 for this and the recipe maker.

Published 05 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're disappointed that the ice cream maker hasn't been a success for you and will be in touch shortly.

Really cool!by Sarah

4 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

It's not cheap, but I got as a present. Having been stung by gizmos before, I steeled myself for another disappointment - I was guessing maybe ice-crystals? But it worked really well! Despite it being a really hot evening, we managed to get 5 1/2 cup servings (using the whole of the recipe pot vanilla) and everyone had different things - I had white choc and raspberry. Yes, it was soft icecream and it did take considerably longer to do 5th serving than first, but I think when it's a little cooler it will work faster and more solidly (like the video demo), but happy to recommend it now.

Published 01 Aug 2014

Dissapointingby Clare Gladstone

1 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

Followed instructions to the letter but it only gave us 2 servings of sloppy 'ice cream' and then it stayed in liquid form on the third go (despite stating you can make 6 servings!). It had been in the freezer on a flat shelf for 3 days before we used it too!

Published 31 Jul 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment with the Ice Cream Maker and will be in touch shortly.

Good Fun!by Sylvia

3 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

And excellent for small quantities BUT not sure if it is actually worth the money. It does make icecream quickly and you can turn it into ANY flavour you fancy but I have never got it frozen enough without putting in in freezer in container to solidify a bit more before eating. Which is what you do when making icecream without any gizmo! It does quicken up the first stages.

Published 15 Jul 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. You'll need to freeze the disc on a flat surface, pan side up for 24 hours in advance and let the ingredients sit on the disc for at least 15 seconds before mixing. The Sweet Spot will produce soft scoop texture ice cream.

Brilliantby Ms Kelly

5 stars out of 5

Chef'N® Sweet Spot Ice Cream Maker

This is great and worth the money. It does take up quite a bit of room in a small freezer as it has to be stored flat but it is worth juggling the food for. It is really easy to use and freezes the mixture very quickly so great if you need to make a few batches. I had purchased the Zoku model first but this one is far superior. I would definitely recommend this and it's great for a single person who wants a naughty treat without buying a whole tub of ice cream. If I had a bigger freezer, I would be tempted to have another to ensure a constant supply of frozen delights.

Published 03 Jul 2014

This review is for an older version of this product

Sorting options

Sort results