You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Chantry Knife Sharpener
Chantry Knife Sharpener
3.8 stars out of 5 based on 17 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 17 of 17

Excellent!by Nikki

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

Really pleased with this sharpener. I had forgotten how pleasurable & easy it is to prepare foods after having gone for so long with blunt knives.

Published 11 May 2012

Wonderful productby George

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

Bought one of these several years ago, works superbly on both decent quality conventional knives and the Japanese thin-blade types. Just come back now for replacement steels as originals are pretty worn. Relieved to see Lakeland still sell the spares.

Published 11 May 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

Dissapointed.by Karl Lawrence

1 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

I used this on my expensive knives which were blunt. No matter how much or how little pressure I used I could not get it to sharpen them at all. I even watched the video to see if it was me. I am going to return it to get the Raymond Blanc one that seem to get very good reviews.

Published 21 Mar 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and see that you'll be looking at the Anolon Sharpener (item 11546) as a suitable alternative. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Chantry Knife Sharpenerby Mrs Sheila Grant

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

The best ever knife sharpener on the market and so easy to use too, a must have item for any kitchen.

Published 05 Mar 2012

Brilliant!by vivienne

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

Bought this several years ago and have been moved to write a review because I've just finished thinly slicing loads of potatoes, peppers and onions and the whole experience was a pure  pleasure thanks to my razor sharp knife - just  like cutting through butter. I can't understand why some people have said that their knives have ended up with jagged edges, and I wonder whether they have been using the wrong sharpening technique - it's important to read the instructions carefully. Recently bought replacement steels which  were easy to fit and have made it even more effective.

Published 07 Jan 2012

Very dissappointingby David

2 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

Bought this thinking it'd make keeping my expensive knifes sharp easy. Unfortunately it has given all the blades jagged edges and none are as sharp as they were. If you have some cheap blunt knifes in you're draws this will make the sharper, but if you after a really sharp knife, stay away from this product. Awful!! Will be returning it to the shop.

Published 02 Dec 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.I'll be in touch shortly to help.

never have blunt knives againby doris balmer

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

I read with interest all the reviews before I bought this item and was a bit worried as a few mentioned that this sharpener damaged your knives. I don't have fancy, expensive chef's knives, just the middle of the road household type; but none the less I didn't want to have to throw them away because they were damaged. I've owned this sharpener for about 6 months and although my knives do have a few rough edges on them now, I must admit it's not an issue and the fact that I have razor sharp kitchen knives to use every day is fantastic. Just a couple of swipes through the sharpener every few weeks, keeps them in tip top condition.

Published 13 Mar 2011

Good bit o' kitby Mr Grizzly Adams

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

Never used to sharpen my knives; cutting tomatoes was like trying to split the atom. I now sharpen them up with this bad boy, and I tell you what, it goes through those toms like a knife through butter. Imagine what it's like when I actually do put my sharpened knives through butter! Just imagine.

Published 23 Feb 2011

Chantry Knife Sharpenerby Ms WILLIAMS

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

My Chantry Knife Sharpener arrived this morning. It is made by Taylors of Sheffield, one of the most highly respected, reputable and long-standing manufacturers of knives in the country. My knives are extremely expensive - top of the range - and I wouldn't trust sharpening them on anything I couldn't rely upon totally. I'm delighted with the Chantry Knife Sharpener and it's everything it claims to be: my knives are now razor sharp and ready for use. Perhaps disappointed users may have less than superior knives which would make them harder to sharpen (only a suggestion) but I can assure anyone reading this that on good quality steel and sound knife construction, this sharpener WILL produce the desired result. TIPS: Always hand wash and dry your knife/knives immediately after use and put them away; do not allow them to become dull - regularly sharpen them: a sharp knife is a safe knife; do not use your knife for anything other than its intended use; if using a sloping knife block, try inserting the knife with its back resting on the lower part of the slot with the cutting edge away from you - this keeps the blade 'free' and will prolong its sharpness; another way of storing knives is in a professional knife roll which can be purchased from catering companies online; always buy the best knife you can afford and treat it with respect and as one of the most valuable tools in the kitchen. The Chantry Knife Sharpener is HIGHLY recommended by me.

Published 10 Jan 2011

Blunt Knives "No More"by Mary Newton

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

Love this product. Was undecided which sharpener to choose, but thought if it is good enough for a chef it is good enough for me! Knives never been so sharp. So easy to use, even looks good on worktop so always on hand to use. Does work on serrated edges too. Thanks Lakeland!

Published 24 Nov 2010

Fabulous!by Rebeccah

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

Not sure what the fuss is about with earlier reviews. I'm a chef and I love this product. I would not be without it and I have not had a problem with my knives having jagged edges. A few swipes with this machine (as if you are cutting bread) and the work is done...I've been giving these as presents for friends and family and they all love it!

Published 28 Sep 2010

Blading Marvellousby Stuart

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

I too am shocked by these reviews. This is a fantastic sharpener and leaves my knives razor sharp in just a few seconds.

Published 12 Jul 2010

Knife sharpeningby Jane

5 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

I am really surprised at the reviews for this product. I have had one for years and swear by it. I always run my knives through this every time I use them - just a few passes before I start and they are all razor sharp.

Published 26 Jun 2010

Disappointingby Joanne Hake

1 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

I bought this sharpener over a year ago and have been very disappointed with it. It doesn't seem to get my knives very sharp and if you put pressure on the knife whilst you sharpen it you end up with damage to the knife. I have to say that this is the only Lakeland product that I have ever bought that I have been unhappy with. It is a lot of money for an item that doesn't really work very well.

Published 11 Jun 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry that the item has disappointed you. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Disappointedby Sharon

1 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

Was expecting much better results for the price of this sharpener. It seems to make no difference to the sharpness of my knives and I can get much better results using a steel although I ordered this as I thought it'd be easier to use. I have had it a while and have considered it could be that the blade requires replacing but I haven't been impressed with it from the start. Wouldn't recommend.

Published 22 Apr 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that the product didn't live up to your expectations. We'll be in touch shortly.

Jagged edgeby Ellil

2 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

I was so looking forward to testing this out and making my mum's day by getting all her knives in good shape. However, as one other review has commented there is a jagged edge. I don't know if it is my technique or not. Have tried a few knives but do not wish to damage them further.

Published 22 Jan 2010

A note from the team: It's not nice to find out one of our products was not suitable but we'll do our best to straighten things up. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Sharp but Damaged Bladesby Susan Glenn

3 stars out of 5

Chantry Knife Sharpener

I bought this sharpener a couple of years ago. It sharpens my knives but leaves the blade with a fine jagged edge. I thought it was because, at that time, I was using cheap knives. More recently I invested in some professional knives, they too now have blade damage. Not sure if it's the way I use the sharpener or the sharpener itself. My husband wants to go back to a steel, I can't get a sharp edge with a steel!!!

Published 10 Jan 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry you've had such difficulties with the knife sharpener. We'll be in touch shortly to put things right for you.

Sorting options

Sort results