You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Boiled Egg Topper
Boiled Egg Topper
1.6 stars out of 5 based on 13 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 13 of 13

Egg topperby Patricia

4 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

decided I needed to re review this item. I have now got the hang of using it and it is a very useful gadget. You do have to pull the plunger up and let it go with a fair amount of 'welly' but it does work.

Published 28 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone, I'm glad I was able to help. We'd recommend placing the egg in an egg cup put the topper on the the egg pull up the plunger and release, remove the topper to leave a cut shell around the top of the egg.

Extremely disappointedby Jean

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

Have tried this on about half a dozen eggs. Either smashes eggs to bits, or els leaves the egg completely unmarked. Have tried raising the lever and letting it slip back slowly, and also releasing it and having it go down at speed. My dome is hollow, should there be a guillotine or some form of cutting implement in there? Would not have purchased had I seen reviews first

Published 22 Aug 2014

A note from the team: We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.Handy tips:Place the egg in the egg cup, pointed end upwards. Place the Topper on top of the egg. Hold the egg, egg cup and Topper in one hand, the base of the egg cup on a firm surface (such as a table top). Lift the ball to full extent and just release. Remove the Topper. You will see a circular break in the shell, suitable for a spoon/knife to be inserted.The Topper may have lifted off the dome of the shell, but not the egg.

Disappointingby Mrs Prewett

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

I wish I had read the reviews before I bought this. So far I haven't managed one decent "top". Either nothing happens at all or it smashes the egg to pieces and I have a right mess to clean up. And I still have little bits of shell to pick off no matter how well it does it - which is never very well at all.

Published 11 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to hear that you'd been disappointed with the egg topper, I'll be in touch shortly.

What a waste of money!by Kate

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

I really wouldn't waste your money on this. I've followed the instructions meticulously and it simply doesn't work. Now I have to spend money on petrol and parking just to return it to the store. Maybe I'll just bin it.

Published 01 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry it hasn't worked for you and we'll be in touch to help you very soon.

Beginner's luck?by Mrs Catherine Lancashire

5 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

I bought this egg topper before reading all the bad reviews. It worked perfectly first time - no disasters.. Very quick and neat. It may be beginner's luck so I will reappraise at some time in the near future if it all comes to grief .

Published 30 Jun 2014

Terrible!by Joanna

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

It's a complete waste of money. We tried it as stated by the team but it doesn't work at all. I don't want to rate it one star either.

Published 27 Jun 2014

This review is for an older version of this product

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.Handy tips:Place the egg in the egg cup, pointed end upwards. Place the Topper on top of the egg. Hold the egg, egg cup and Topper in one hand, the base of the egg cup on a firm surface (such as a table top). Lift the ball to full extent and just release. Remove the Topper. You will see a circular break in the shell, suitable for a spoon/knife to be inserted.The Topper may have lifted off the dome of the shell, but not the egg.

Using my old egg topper again as this is a disasterby Mrs Wyse

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

Have to agree with the other recent reviews, this is awful. Tried on different eggs pulling quickly and slowly on the handle, it doesn't help when you don't fully understand how it works or when pulling the handle and looking into the dome part nothing appears to happen. Got this as an alternative to my current egg topper which you squeeze and metal teeth appear that cut the egg, at least it works. Very poor for £9.99, it will be going back for a refund not worth 1 star as it's useless!

Published 24 Jun 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing a review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment and we'll be in touch shortly.

Disappointedby Sylvia

2 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

My daughter got this on my behalf as my husband loves topping his egg and has a squeezable one at present. This one is hit and miss and we have given it a little while before reviewing. We have had the egg collapse completely or not take the top off at all. We have followed instructions to the letter, but find it more trouble than its worth. We will persevere for a while to see if we or it improves. Looking at other reviews it seems that we are not alone.

Published 24 Jun 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing a review and discussing it with us today. We're sorry for the disappointment caused and hope you find a suitable alternative.

Not your bestby Angela

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

A surprise birthday trinket that went disastrously wrong. Instructions followed, but the result was nothing, then a 'dead' egg when too much pressure was applied. Not the usual Lakeland quality.

Published 05 Jun 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry the boiled egg topper hasn't worked as well as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help. We'd recommend when using the topper placing the egg in an egg cup and then use the egg topper, rather than holding it in your hand. When you hold the egg topper on the egg, try not to put any pressure down with your hand this could cause the egg to break once the ‘plunger’ is released. The egg topper only needs to rest on top of the egg .

egg topper failure! DO NOT BUY!!by Wendy

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

What a disappointment! This is the first thing I've bought from Lakeland that is absolute rubbish! It just does not do what it claims to do. I will be taking it back for a refund. I have rated it 1 star in order to submit review but really I would give it a big fat ZERO.

Published 03 Jun 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry that you'd been so disappointed, the staff at the store will be happy to put things right for you.

Very disappointed!by Amanda

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

We eat a lot of boiled eggs so I loved the idea of this gadget, unfortunately, it simply does not work. We used it as instructed; it did score the circumference of the shell, but the top part of the egg still had to be picked off in pieces. The rest of the egg shell cracked with the effort of trying to prise the top off! We persevered, but still haven't managed to get it to work so will revert to using a knife.

Published 20 May 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that it hadn't worked as well as expected, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Egg Topperby Mrs Jarvis

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

Doesn't appear to work at all. Did as suggested, - egg in cup and topper placed firmly on top, pulled handle upwards and nothing happened at all. Repeated several times and not even a mark on the shell. I'm wondering if my egg topper is missing something.

Published 12 May 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

egg top removerby Mrs Coles

1 stars out of 5

Boiled Egg Topper

Your having a laugh! Tried this and had egg everywhere. Second time tried holding the hot the egg and then had to peel off the top.A complete waste of my time and therefore useless.

Published 06 May 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry the boiled egg topper hasn't worked as well as expected. We are pleased our customer service colleague has been able to help when you telephoned. We'd recommend when using the topper placing the egg in an egg cup and then use the egg topper, rather than holding it in your hand. When you hold the egg topper on the egg, try not to put any pressure down with your hand this could cause the egg to break once the ‘plunger’ is released. The egg topper only needs to rest on top of the egg .

Sorting options

Sort results