You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Chef'n® Butter Maker
Chef'n® Butter Maker
3.4 stars out of 5 based on 13 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 13 of 13

High hopes dashedby Angela

1 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

This is the first Lakeland product I have purchased that didn't work. I tried double cream the first time. It didn't make any butter at all. Cleaning it was a nightmare. I've just tried with whipping cream. Nothing happened. It is a real shame.

Published 15 Jul 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear the butter maker hasn't worked for you and we'll be in touch soon to help.

Easy peasyby Kate

5 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

Delighted with my new butter maker, following the instructions the process was much easier than I expected. The buttermilk made the best scones ever.

Published 11 Jul 2014

Like magic!by Richard

5 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

Didn't know what to expect with this item but I was amazed at the results. I actually used whipping cream and experienced no problems at all. I would say it took less than 3 minutes of shaking before I had lovely butter. I'll try double cream next time and hope for the same excellent results.

Published 05 Jun 2014

Butter Makerby Richmond

5 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

I absolutely love this. What a fabulous product, very easy to use, easy to clean and only takes up a small space in the cupboard. I like the fact that the instructions are printed on the side of it so it doesn't matter if you throw the packaging away. Makes tasty butter which you can season with anything you like. Leave it unsalted for cake making or season it. I like to use hot chilli flakes to give it a bit of a kick. Since buying it, I have not bought butter but have made my own each time. Buy it, you wont be disappointed!

Published 23 May 2014

Very disappointing waste of moneyby Susan

1 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

Very disappointing product with poor instructions. Only used double cream after reading other peoples reviews but still doesn't work after shaking for much longer than the three minutes. Bought in a Lakeland store, would like to know how to return without having to go back to store.

Published 14 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Easy butterby Ross

5 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

Was bought this as a present, was dubious of how well it would turn out but worked great. I used double cream (which is the british equivalent to what it says to use) followed instructions and I had butter. You can use the butter milk for cooking other recipes if you store it.

Published 20 Mar 2014

Disappointingby Pamela

1 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

It did not work and all I ended up with after 5 minutes was thick cream and sore arms. It might have turned to butter eventually but by then I was fed up and bored with it. Much quicker and easier to use liquidiser or mixer. Then I read the recent reviews on your website and you say do not use whipping cream. Since the instructions on the box specify whipping cream they are very misleading and need correcting. I wasted two pots of whipping cream trying this out. I might give it another go with thick double cream before I return it to the store. Not as easy to use as it looks.

Published 20 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you've had disappointing results so far. We have passed your comments to our buyers to look into the box instructions about the whipping cream. We do hope your next attempt is more successful. If you do wish to return the maker back to store our colleagues will be happy to help.

Disappointing.by Emma

1 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

We cannot get this to work. We've followed the reviews to the letter, watched the demonstration videos and looked at reviews and it doesn't do anything except make a mess. Having only one ramekin is a bit of a pain, additional ones would be more useful. Really disappointed as it would have been idea for flavoured butters etc. Wouldn't recommend at all and hope I can find my receipt to return.

Published 17 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for your feed back. I'll be in touch shortly to help. The best sign that it's working is the change in the noise inside the container. The temperature is also important, so if you've got a cold kitchen probably best to leave the cream out at room temperature for 6-8 hours. 1. Remove yellow lid from container 2. Pour in one cup (240ml) of double cream, there is a fill mark on the jar if you do not wish to measure this amount out separately. Please do not use whipping cream. Extra thick double cream is fine. 3. Shake the jar vigorously for about 3 minutes until the cream separates into butter and buttermilk. (You will hear the cream changing from liquid cream to whipped cream. Keep shaking and you will hear it change again as the buttermilk separates out from the solid butter) 4. Strain the buttermilk out through the top of the jar. 5. Rinse with cold water and strain through top of jar. 6. Repeat step 5. 7. Collect the butter in to the ramekin and add salt to taste.

It's alrightby S

4 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

This is easy to use, but one does need to use a lot of elbow grease (way more than 3 mins) to get the cream to seperate. I made one batch and yes the butter is lovely. However, it was just as quick for me to get the electric whisk out and do the same job in half of the time. But, don't get dissuaded, for little batches is well worth the arm muscles.

Published 04 Mar 2014

Instructions for Useby Sam

2 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

I found the instructions on the side of the box not very clear and this resulted in three failed attempts. After watching the video I will try again.

Published 04 Feb 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.The best sign that you’re doing it properly is the change in the noise inside the container. The temperature is also important, so if you’ve got a cold kitchen probably best to leave the cream out somewhere else in the house. 1. Remove yellow lid from container 2. Pour in one cup (240ml) of double cream which has been stored at room temperature for 6–8 hours. Room temperature is commonly understood to be anything between 20 degrees and 25 degrees C. There is a fill mark on the jar if you do not wish to measure this amount out separately. Please do not use whipping cream. Extra thick double cream is fine. 3. Shake the jar vigorously for about 3 minutes until the cream separates into butter and buttermilk. (You will hear the cream changing from liquid cream to whipped cream. Keep shaking and you will hear it change again as the buttermilk separates out from the solid butter) 4. Strain the buttermilk out through the top of the jar. 5. Rinse with cold water and strain through top of jar. 6. Repeat step 5. 7. Collect the butter in to the ramekin and add salt to taste.

Excellent!by S

5 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

I love this product. I was amazed how easy it was, and unlike the other reviews, I do find 3 mins, or 3 and a half to be just perfect. Living on my own, I do not use a lot of anything, so I can now just make a fresh batch of butter as and when I need it. Very pleased with this product.

Published 03 Feb 2014

Good fun and really simpleby B ALLEN

4 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

This was good fun and really simple to use BUT it takes a lot longer than 3 minutes. Share the load and get others to help you shake. It needs to whip the cream and then return to a liquid with solids (butter).

Published 24 Jan 2014

marvellouus!by Cheryl Deane

5 stars out of 5

Chef'n® Butter Maker

I love my butter maker! I've had it one week and have made three batches out of 600ml of double cream. I always hated shop bought unsalted butter but now I understand just how wonderful fresh uber creamy butter can be. I use it in cooking (does not burn like shop bought) I use it for spreading (a couple of crack of sea salt for me!) and just love it. It does take longer than 3 minutes to shake it into butter (unless it's just me and I don't think so, I'm a bit of a pocket dynamo, Or maybe I haven't let the cream warm up long enough) but even if its 6 mins of hard shaking its sooo worth it.

Published 20 Jan 2014

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty