You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Dalek Cake Mould
Dalek Cake Mould
4.0 stars out of 5 based on 22 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 22

Dalek Cake Panby Laura Scott

4 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

Used the Dalek mould for the 1st time yesterday, was a bit unsure about the amount of mixture to use so i went for a 10 egg madeira was a little left over but wasnt to worried about that will still use the same measurements next time, It took just over 1.5 hrs to cook but i like to cook low and slow 150c, left it to cool in the mould and it popped right out this morning :-) I decided to cover mine in fondant turned out pretty well if i do say so myself bit fiddly at times but i didnt let it beat me. I would recommend this product just make sure you put the pan on a tray for stability :-)

Published 27 May 2014

excellent mouldby fiona

5 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

I have just used this mould for my grandson, s birthday, I was totally happy with the way it cake out of the mould best one ever. I used cake release before I put the mixture in and it can out wonderful.....

Published 20 Mar 2014

Brilliant cake mould!by Ellie

5 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

Bought this to make a birthday cake but after reading reviews about the cake cooking unevenly i got scared so I got creative. The result? A giant Dalek chocolate Rice Krispie cake! The mould took 4x a "normal" Rice Krispie recipe to fill but by separating out 1/4 of the mix and crushing the Rice Krispies into a powder and using this for the first layer of the fill all the detail of the mould came out perfectly ready for decorating. 2 cans of edible gold shimmer spray, some black fondant icing and a couple of dolly mixtures later the result was one perfect, delicious Dalek.

Published 25 Feb 2014

great resultby Catherine

4 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

Bought this for my sons birthday cake. I smothered every nook and cranny of the mould with Flora cuisine! I adapted a bero book recipe for the 8 egg mixture. The cake came out in one piece! However, the top was a bit singed so I would recommend a lower temp than 180c and place in on the very bottom shelf of the oven. Also put it on a baking tray for stability.

Published 04 Feb 2014

Darlek Cakeby jonathan

3 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

To help others - 8 egg recipe and cooking instructions is in the pdf on the product page - "how to decorate your darlek cake". Not obvious otherwise and took ages to find a recipe on google . 5 stars for the product 1 star for signposting the instructions.

Published 14 Jan 2014

dalek cakeby Christine

5 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

I have just made a dalek cake. First time I have ever used a silicone cake mould. i read the reviews, used cake release spray ( brilliant). Made an 8 egg mix. In future however I would weigh my eggs as well and make them up to the same weight as the other dry ingredients. My cake was a little short on egg weight and didnt quite fill the mould when risen. ( My own fault). The definition was great. I used milk choc buttons to decorate , plus ready to roll icing,fot the little oblong bits and the bits down the side. Covered them all with edible glue and gold glitter. The result was excellent.

Published 14 Jan 2014

Great Productby Susan

5 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

I love this cake mould. I've made 2 Daleks so far (both plain). As previous reviews have said, make sure the mould is well greased and it works brilliantly. I have used an 8 medium egg recipe both times.

Published 02 Dec 2013

Fab dalekby Vohn McGuinness

5 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

This cake mould is brilliant, with the cake having great detailing. I would recommend - use 8 egg cake mix; cover inside of mould with Wilton cake release; cook at lower temperature than suggested (maybe 160C); and leave in mould to cool before turning out.

Published 26 Nov 2013

really pleasedby Jacqueline

5 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

Bought this to make for my big kid boyfriend. On the back of the box it said to make an eight egg recipe so I just made a Victoria sponge. The result was fantastic it came out easily (which is surprising as I used a oil/butter spray from a well know supermarket) and I love the details. A little buttercream and white icing makes a perfect plain canvas to start adding the finishing touches

Published 04 Nov 2013

Very Disappointingby Judith

1 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

I selected the correct oven temperature, used cake release to make sure it wouldn't stick, made an 8 egg mixture, poured it into the mould, put it carefully in the oven and set the timer for 1 hour. Should have gone perfectly. Except that about 20 minutes in, I smelt burning. When I opened the oven door, I found that the cake had come out all right: it had spilled all over the oven floor, and the mould was tipped onto one side. The oven temperature (180 degrees) had made the mould extremely wobbly and unstable. Not only were all the ingredients wasted, but I have to clean my oven.

Published 04 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to contact our customer services team. I'm glad they were able to put things right.

darlek mouldby Mrs lallyette

3 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

would be better if given a cake recipe. needs 8 egg cake mix, did get stuck first time will try one more time.

Published 25 Oct 2013

A note from the team: We hope you have better luck next time but to stop the mixture sticking you might want to consider cake release. This works so well on all bakeware.

extermicake!!!by Mrs Strick

5 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

easy to use, easy to wash, my son was thrilled with his cake (i enjoyed it too!!!)

Published 10 Oct 2013

Dalek - third-time luckyby Rebecca

4 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

Practicing for party, so 3 daleks in a week: 8-egg sponge twice (first with cocoa, second without) - over-cooked it the first time so it was dried-out but looked good, undercooked the second time - still looked good but raw in the middle (mould is very deep). Fed up with eating sponge cake (and 16 eggs down), tried Edd Kimber's red velvet http://www.doctorwho.tv/whats-new/article/extermincake-try-our-red-velvet-dalek-cake-recipe/ Used fondant icing just for highlights (as box rather than picture here). Melted butter to grease mould, ages in the oven - head may be dry but will look like a dale

Published 08 Oct 2013

EGGSTERMINATE!by Ivy Faith

4 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

Bought the Dalek cake mould as I am a MASSIVE fan of doctor who. I Had no idea how long to keep it in the oven for. I was using a 4 egg recipe which I doubled and put it in at 170 (fan oven). It took, over all, about 1 hour and 20 mins. the top of the cake is a lot shallower than the bottom, so was a little bit burnt, but the bottom was very thick and big but slightly undercooked. I have heard many people have problems getting cake out, but I used a pastry brush and LOADS of butter and it was fine. Tip:WAIT UNTIL THE CAKE IS COMPLETELY COOL BEFORE YOU TAKE IT OUT. But over all very pleased.

Published 04 Sep 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review and for sharing your handy tip.

dalek silicone cake mould excellentby Sally

5 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

Top marks, to make this cake successfully you need to use cake release spray. When cake comes out of the oven put on a wire rack in the mould and LEAVE it there to cool over night completely. Next day release sides by moving them slightly then turn it upside down and sit it on the wire rack. With a little movement and wiggling it should just drop out !! I made a perfect cake and have some great photos of the cake including just as it cake out of the mould. Would love to be able to up load photos for all to see !! Thank you, this is my best cake yet.

Published 14 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review and sending us the photos of your Dalek creation. They look fantastic so we've passed them to our marketing team to see. The only downside would be having to cut into them to eat the cake as they look too good to spoil!

timing needed........by Kathryn

3 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

I bought one of these for my son's birthday cake. I have had a 'dummy run' with it & can confirm that an 8 egg cake mixture is the correct amount & that melted butter was a suitable greasing agent. However - please can you suggest a temperature & timing for the cake? It was cooked well on the outside but very soggy in the middle despite being put back into the oven once de-moulded. (Actually this helped define the sculptured bits). The finished result was more like a heavy sponge pudding and tasted nice with strawberries and cream. No good for a birthday cake though.

Published 13 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We'd recommend baking on 170 – 175c for 70 – 80 minutes, covering loosely with either parchment or foil after approximately 30 minutes. Check the middle is baked through with a cake tester before removing form the oven.

dalak cake mouldby Kath

4 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

Used mould for sons 18 birthday used 8 egg cake mix took ages to cook over an hour but released well from mould which I painted in butter and left cake to cool excellent result with blue and black icing to pick our highlights

Published 13 Aug 2013

Found a good recipeby Ms Spring

4 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

So after some very helpful advice from the good staff at Lakeland I got my recipe and made a cake. Actually I changed the recipe to a marble cake one and it works beautifully! Lots of piped butter cream and I think it's good a good Dalek, and I'm new to cake decorating too. The tin made it easy.

Published 12 Aug 2013

birthday surprise for dr who fanby Rhona

4 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

I had planned on making a tardis cake for my sons 18th birthday but discovered this mould when shopping for icing . The shop actually had a dalek model on display which a member of staff had made. Decided to give it a go ,two attempts required ,head stuck first time around despite extensive greasing. Second attempt success! Excellent definition though when buttercream applied unfortunately much of detail lost. Still very impressive when sugar paste detail added ... One very happy son..

Published 09 Aug 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

Recipe would be usefulby Janet

4 stars out of 5

Dalek Cake Mould

I had no problem with the mould, and my Dalek had excellent definition. I used a spray oil and left the cake in the mould until it was completely cold. However a recipe with the mould would be very useful, as I had to dig around the internet to find out cooking times

Published 07 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review and we're delighted your pleased with your mould. A staff member who has created the Dalek used an 8 egg recipe. We hope this is helpful.

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2