You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob
Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob
4.1 stars out of 5 based on 8 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 8 of 8

First Impressionsby Philip Murray

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

A smart portable induction hob is difficult to find - especially in Australia. So brought this one back from a recent UK visit. Maybe a gamble reading the comments but OK so far. Unfair to expect it to really sear a steak as think this is to have excessive demands of the technology. It is not a barbeque. Only issue so far is the PDF instructions on the web site is more helpful than the paper copy coming with the device, which is also wrong in the safety instructions. In replacing the plug for an Aussie one, it clearly has no earth wire as claimed in the plug wiring diagram. A serious error.

Published 05 Aug 2014

When it works it's great...by Charles

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

The flat glass construction of this hob is great - attractive and easy to clean. Unfortunately the first unit we had wouldn't switch on at all. The second one worked well with clearly laid-out controls and plenty of power. Unfortunately, as mentioned in another review, when attempting to sear steaks with a cast-iron griddle, the unit's thermal protection cut-out activates long before cooking temperature is reached-occasionally when using a frying pan too. Infuriatingly our unit has just gone BANG and died. Thank goodness for Lakeland's superb after sales service :o(

Published 09 May 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to contact our customer services team/store staff. I'm glad they were able to put things right.

cooking without a kitchenby Mrs Jowett

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

Our kitchen renovation stretched from three weeks to three½ months and without this wonderful hob I'd have flipped! We have an induction hob on our range so all my pans, all sizes, 'worked' ...a wonderful slow-cook casserole on keep warm setting as well as the quickly boiled kettle. It's not going in the loft now I have my kitchen back; it's far too useful!

Published 08 May 2014

Happy Now!by Irene

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

At the second time of trying I have an hob without the rubberised leg missing and the hob is working just fine, although the instruction book is not at all clear, I understand that there are a few errors and missing text from this, and is being re-printed. (I would love a copy of the new instructions when available please) Thanks to the very efficient and helpful customer services I have contacted within the past 2 weeks, the staff whom I have spoken to have gone out of there way to understand and find a solution to any problems I have had. Top Marks to the staff.

Published 21 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're glad that we've been able to sort things out for you. The updated instructions will be put onto the web page for the hob as soon as possible.

good but...by Michelle

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

The replacement hob works fine now but we have had to have 3 to get one that was not faulty

Published 12 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.We're glad that the hob you now have is working fine.

not hot enoughby Linda

2 stars out of 5

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

I bought this as a supplement to our bottled gas hob which does not heat a pan sufficiently well to sear steaks. Unfortunately this did not do the trick either, whenever the cast iron pan began to reach a suitable temperature the induction ring would cut out. I am sure it would be fine for other cooking functions but no good for us. Back it goes.

Published 10 Oct 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product. The hob does have 10 power/temperature settings from 200 to 2000W or 70 to 240°C.Searing steaks should be no problem for this induction hob but please note the power/ temperature can only be selected on the Hot Pot, Pan Fry and Stir Fry by sweeping your finger round the heat control dial. On all other functions the temperature/ power level is pre-set, so you may be able to achieve the heat required with a little tweak .We'll be in touch soon to help.

brilliantby Paul

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

Having started 'project new kitchen' I need to purchase a portable something to reduce the stress level of the boss. First tried an all in one cooker from Lakeland, first time we tried it it tripped the house electrics, all my fault, and it went straight back to Lakeland, suggest that all avoid this product. Whilst at the store noticed this product, the 'project new kitchen' will have a much bigger version of this product, so decided to give it a go, result, go a smile from the boss, would give it 6 stars if it was possible, very quick, boils water faster than a kettle, brilliant

Published 30 Aug 2013

A must have for Aga/Rayburn ownersby John

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Smart Touch Induction Hob

Much a we like our Rayburn cooker the time and cost of heating the top plate up for cooking with a single pan has always been annoying. This induction hob will pay me back inside a year I reckon. It works really well and delivers enough power to stir-fry too. A really well designed and useful product.

Published 13 Aug 2013

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty