You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Two Tone Cupcake Pan
Two Tone Cupcake Pan
1.9 stars out of 5 based on 15 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 15 of 15

Waste of Moneyby Deborah

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

I agree with another Review, this product is not worth the money or the hassle. It is very messy and fiddly and I would like to know how to keep the colour in the middle, as every time we have tried (and we have tried several ways), but once baked the colour is just not there? What are we doing wrong? I also agree that results could be easily achieved in a standard tin with a pastry cutter or something similar. (once we know how to keep the colour in). Again any help on keeping the colour?

Published 17 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you've had difficulties with the cake pan. We'd recommend making the outer mix a little looser to make it easier to fill the mould and then fill the inner part with a slightly thicker mix. This will enable the two mixes to bake separately and not melt or blend together.

fun timesby Miss Dickenson

4 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

Oh Lakeland what a fun evening I've spent,thanks to this tin,in conjunction with your new flavourings and the large nozzle duo piping set I have made 36 delicious cupcakes, 12 each of rhubarb and custard, banana and Nutella and chocolate and caramel. Yes it is a bit fiddley and yes you could just buy the attachment and use with your existing tins, but it is still great fun and adds a wow factor to your cupcakes. I would agree with another reviewer and say the mixture goes in easily if you use a piping bag. Also I found a 3 egg mix for the outside and a 2 egg mix for the inside worked well.

Published 03 Mar 2014

Disappointing - difficult to use and results not greatby Annette

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

I can't get on with this product. Filling the pans is difficult and getting the divider out of each set produces a mess. You loose a lot of mixture each time. I've experimented with different consistency of mixture and different filling techniques (spoons,piping bags etc) but the outcome is no better than filling with two batter mixes by hand. They product is expensive - you get the bun tin which is just standard size (most people don't need this) and the plastic divider. It's worth noting that this isn't a Lakeland product - it's Wilton who tend to be more about gimmicks.

Published 18 Feb 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the pan has been such a disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Disappointedby Tracy

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

I asked for this from a friend for Christmas without reading the reviews. Big mistake. Lots of wasted mixture as most of it sticks to the insert when you try to lift it out. Agree that really you only need the insert and it should be for 12 not 3. The piping bag did make it easier but not much. Will try again but really disappointed as Lakeland things are usually brilliant.

Published 14 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the tray, I'll be in touch shortly.

Very disappointedby Sarah Besly

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

My daughter was given this for Christmas as she's a very keen cook. Hugely disappointed with it and with Lakeland for promoting (which is what you were doing in our local store when I bought it) such a poor quality product. It's very hard to fill and almost impossible to remove the mould without lifting up all the mixture too.

Published 08 Jan 2014

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and have been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

Waste of Moneyby Sue

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

Normally Lakeland Gadgets are brilliant, but not this time. If I could give this no stars I would but the least you can give is one. I saw this item in your Bromley store and thought it would be a novel way to make fun cup cakes, but try as I might more of the mixture is left on the plastic template. I ended up doing it by hand in less than half the time and got much better results. What a waste of money.

Published 24 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the two tone cup cake set hasn't worked as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Two Tone Cupcake Panby Janet

3 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

Nice idea but quite difficult to use, not as easy as shown on the video. I am disappointed you can't just buy the insert on its on. Rather expensive and unlike Lakeland not to good . Need some more tips on how to make it easier

Published 23 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback and your suggestion of just using inserts, I'll pass this to our buying team and will be in touch shortly to help.

two tone disaster panby Mrs wilcox

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

i thought this pan would be a great alternative as I do a lot of home baking but the cake mixture doesn't go down the pan so you don't know how much is in and when I had finished it looked like a child had done it I cant return it as it is used but I feel I have completely wasted my money and it isn't cheap and I spend a lot of money with Lakeland and have always been very happy

Published 18 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the tin hasn't worked as well as expected. We are pleased our customer service team have been able to help.

Disappointedby Joanne

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

This is the only lakeland product I have ever bought that I have been disappointed with. I have tried two different recipes.The first two fluid and so the two colours just mixed. The second was too thick so lifted out with the insert. Can anyone share a recipe that works ? I agree with the other reviews in that this is very expensive. The only bit you need is the plastic insert as it fits all my other trays. I also agree that assuming I could get a good result would be a much better design if it covered all 12 cake cases in one go.

Published 09 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review.We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with this product and have passed your suggestion to our buying team to consider. We'll be in touch soon to help.

Such a disappointmentby Emma

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

I was so disappointed with this pan. I read all of the reviews and figured it would just take a bit of trial and error to get it right. Nine tries later and I have had to conclude that it is just rubbish! I have tried using piping bags and have varied how thick I make the two mixtures. I really wanted this to work but it just doesn't!

Published 09 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you've been disappointed with the pan and we'll be in touch shortly to help.

Chrisby christine

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

Sorry, this product is not worth the money or the bother. It is fiddly, messy and a lot of the mixture gets stuck to the divider. Loved the concept but I feel it needs to have 12 dividers and I think the results could be easily achieved in a standard tin with anything suitable (eg pastry cutter) in the middle.

Published 21 Aug 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with this product and have passed your suggestion to our buying team to consider. We'll be in touch soon to help.

Frustratingby S Kendra

1 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

I'm afraid we gave up in frustration. Despite using a piping bag it was very difficult to get the mixture in. Once the mixture was in, most it then came out again on the mould. I agree with previous reviewer that a 12 hole mould would make life a lot easier and be much quicker.There are no instructions or help on the box, so it is difficult to know how much mixture to colour. I will try again and write another review if the next attempt is more successful - if not I will get rid of it.

Published 13 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the two tone cup cake set hasn't worked as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Mixed feelings !by Margaret

3 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

I have just used the two-tone cupcake pan for the first time. I found it very fiddly to fill the outer area of the insert and found I needed to wait for the mixture to 'slide down' before I could see how much was in. Would have been better with a 12 hole insert which would fit any standard pan. My normal 2 egg mixture was only enough for 6 cupcakes so had to make a second mix. Then to top it off it wouldn't fit into my oven because of the handle area and I had to transfer the cases to a normal tin (14in wide). The end result, however, was very good.

Published 07 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing a review and for providing feedback to help others. When trying to adapt a recipe for a certain size tin it can be a case of trial and error but does sound like you got a great result in the end. We hope you continue to enjoy using this popular pan.

Fiddlyby Sheila

4 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

My first attempt using the template went a bit wrong but I found that using a piping bag made things a lot easier. I would also have liked the template to be for 12 not just 2. In fact the bun tin part isn't really necessary as the template fits a standard bun tin. Saying that the buns are fun to make and different to marbling in that the two flavours aren't mixed together too much.

Published 30 Jul 2013

Great idea but ...by

4 stars out of 5

Two Tone Cupcake Pan

I was keen to give this a try as my boys have multiple allergies, so I bake all they eat and I love to try new things. No recipes are included but to fill the pan you need a 4 egg/8oz flour mix. Some of the mix remains stuck the mould when you remove it. It works fine but it's fiddly - I recommend making the mix you use for the outer layer looser, to get it in to the mould more easily. I would have given it the 5 stars if the mould was for all 12 holes rather than 3 at a time, as that would have made things much easier. It's very effective and livens up tea time.

Published 19 Jul 2013

Sorting options

Sort results