You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan
Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan
4.2 stars out of 5 based on 24 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 24

Very disappointedby Michelle

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I followed the instructions in the other reviews (turn down oven temp, cover with foil) and the cakes still failed. A very dry exterior and a molten interior. I wasted 3 four egg sponge mixtures trying to make one hemisphere. I'm an experienced baker but, after the third failed cake, I just gave up and made a plain sponge that I then carved. I won't even be trying the large hemisphere pan considering the problems I had with the medium one. The only thing I can say that's positive is that all three cakes slid out easily from the mould when I used Wilton's cake release.

Published 14 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the cake pans haven't worked for you and will be in touch shortly.

so much funby Nicola Wood

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

My pan arrived yesterday and my 5 year old daughter couldn't wait to make a cake so she designed a hill with flowers on ... The sponge cooked beautifully it did stick a little but I think after a few bakes that shouldn't happen ... I placed it on a round cutter to keep it stable and having something like that stuck on the base would be great cause I was nervous about it being lopsided and that's why it loses a star other than that it's brilliant

Published 15 Jul 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. Sounds like a great design for a cake, hope it turned out well.

Does what it says on the tin!by Elaine

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I bought this today and baked a 3 egg mix at 150C for 70 min in a fan assisted oven. I used Wilton cake release and covered the cake with foil prior to baking. Took out the oven and allowed to cool before turning upside down. Cake came out completely and looks great. Just need to do one more and make a football. Great product! Very pleased I bought this.

Published 26 Jun 2014

Very useful panby pat

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I have the individual , medium and large size and all are of good quality. For the first couple of uses the cakes do not turn out cleanly so beware. With more use they are perfect. The consistency of the sponge is denser than with an ordinary shaped cake but still good. The first time I reduced the heat as recommended on the packaging but now only reduce my fan oven by 15 degrees and the result is much better. Use the knife method to check it is done. The only criticism I have of the medium pan is the recommended mix of 4 eggs is too much, spilt all over the place. Use a 3 egg mix - perfect.

Published 09 Jun 2014

Brilliant!by Lisa

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

Brought medium and small tins and they are fantastic! Was a bit nervous about baking in them after reading the reviews about the cakes getting stuck but they came out perfectly. Followed the 3 egg recipe on here and greased and floured the tins. Definitely need to bake at lower temp for longer. Thanks Lakeland, they are fab!

Published 27 May 2014

loved it, although a bit trial and errorby Catherine

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I love this pan. Have been wanting to buy a hemisphere pan for a while now to make birthday cakes but after reading mixed reviews I thought I'd buy a small one and test it first to see how I got on. In the end I bought the medium as small looked a bit too small for a birthday cake. I used the 3 egg recipe for the owl cake on Lakeland website but used previous reviews to decide on oven temp and time. Cooked for about 80 minutes at 160C and it looked and tasted lovely. Used cake release and didn't have too much trouble getting it out, just slid a silicone spatula down the side to loosen it.

Published 13 May 2014

Wonderful!by Jodie

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I received this cake pan as a Christmas present after swooning over them in-store. Pleased to say that I achieved success first time!! I used a 3 egg Victoria sponge recipe, and greased the tin with butter. I cooked for 70 mins at 150 degrees with foil over the pan, which worked perfectly for my oven. The cake came out really easily, which I was surprised at, having read the reviews! I then sliced the cake width-ways and filled with jam and cream. The cake had a lovely texture and shape - what a wonderful product!

Published 09 Apr 2014

perfect results first time.by Yvonne

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

Bought two of these tins to make a very nice boob cake. I used Wilton cake release and the cakes were perfectly cooked through and slid straight from the tins when cooled. I have also purchased both the large and small ones with my birthday money,so exited to make a huge owl and lady bird. Thank you lakeland for this must have tin x

Published 10 Mar 2014

Brilliant first timeby Mrs ellis

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I used Mary Berry's 3 egg Madeira cake recipe, filled the pan to within 1" of the top. Baked at 160 for 45 mins. Then put circle of baking parchment on top for final 20 mins. I used "baker's grease" to lubricate the pan, use this and you'll never line a cake tin again, works every time. 50g unsalted butter 50g Trex 50g plain flour Beat altogether at room temperature and paint a thick coat onto the inside of the pan with a pastry brush. Store rest in container in the fridge, will keep for up to a month. Can be frozen.

Published 03 Mar 2014

This review is for an older version of this product

Need a bit of practice but pleased with first attemptby April

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

The packaging said to use a 4 egg mix but I found this made too much, I overfilled the pan which I think caused the cake longer to cook than stated and burnt slightly on top, I trimmed this off as there was plenty of excess and all ok and quite moist inside. Next time I'll try a 3 egg mix and cover the top with foil or baking parchment. I sat the pans on a muffin tray which stopped them from falling over in the oven. I think after a few more attempts I will love this product and overall I'm impressed.

Published 24 Feb 2014

worth buying!by Emma

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I was unsure whether to buy this after reading some of the reviews but I am pleased that I did. I lined the tin and covered with greaseproof paper for the entire cooking time. I cooked at 170 degrees and it took 1 hour & 10 minutes but the sponge was still moist by the time it was cooked. However my 4 egg mixture filled the tin to the top so I had to take some out. I would probably use a 3 egg mixture next time. My first attempt became a hedgehog cake for my niece and I am sure it will get plenty more use. Definitely worth giving it a go!

Published 24 Feb 2014

Don't botherby Mrs Goldsmith

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I had been so looking forward to getting these tins and am bitterly disappointed. I bought the medium and small and go the cake release to go along with them. I followed the owl recipe for the medium pan and I has turned out to be an absolute failure twice. The top is so crisp it is like a biscuit and the bottom and sides stuck to the tin. It took significantly longer to the cook than the recipe said. All in all, I've wasted a lot of ingredients and an entire afternoon.

Published 23 Dec 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

BRILLIANT!!by Rebecca Stoker

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

LOVE this tin and I've made so many things....well done Lakeland another fantastic product

Published 23 Oct 2013

Great in theoryby Alixandria

2 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

Was really looking forward to using these tins and was so disappointed. Tried to use them to make ladybug cakes for my son's birthday. Was not impressed with this as I did everything that I was meant to, used cake release and reduced temperature when cooking, but the cakes stuck to the tin. Tried it a number of times with different recipes and didn't work. Would not recommend

Published 07 Aug 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and have been disappointed with the hemisphere cake pan - We'll be in touch soon.

Excellent!!by Mrs Strick

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

Brilliant little 'pans', made 'boobie' cake for a friends birthday, and a hedgehog from the bigger pan, would highly recommend, easy to clean, wonderful!!

Published 30 Jul 2013

Yet another brilliant idea from Lakeland!by Emily

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

I simply love this cake pan! I used it to make the top of my Minnie Mouse cake for my daughter's birthday. I turned the oven down to 140c and baked for about 1hr 10m and the cake was surprisingly moist. Just be careful to let the cake cool completely before turning out - on my practice run it came out in two halves!! I found groundnut oil worked well to grease the pan. Overall a fantastic product, would highly recommend.

Published 18 Jul 2013

Lakeland you really do think of everything!!! Thank Youby Miss Chamberlain

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

Eek I love this product so much . My tips are: *Use cake release spray *A cooks ring to keep the pan still on tray *low & slow on oven temp & time (to stop uneven cooking or burning, its worth the wait) *leave to cool for a while before turning out onto wire rack

Published 27 Mar 2013

Great buy!by Mr Ellis

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

Having brought this tin last week to experiment ideas with, I have used it for 3 customers cakes already: 2 footballs and a bbq cake. Just wish I had brought the larger one as well

Published 01 Mar 2013

Practice makes Perfectby Claire

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

Had this for Xmas, and finally got the time to use it today. Pro's.... Fantastic shape and size pan, can be used for a whole range of designs. Cons... My cake stuck, even though I greased the pan. Although I put this as a con, I am a firm believer that practice makes perfect. Next time, I will line it.... Someone who is thinking of buying one of these, read the reviews, take advice, Eg. Make sure you drop the oven temp, make sure you place on a baking ring. I am very happy with this product, it is new, so I think as much feedback and tips or recipes from bakers can only be a positive.

Published 27 Feb 2013

A little need of improvement!by Mrs thwaytes

2 stars out of 5

Lakeland Medium Hemisphere Cake Pan

Great idea - perfect for what I was looking for, however had a catastrophe when cooking. The tin appears to topple over a little whilst in the oven therefore either cooking an un-level top of on one occasion 1/2 the mixture spilling out!

Published 06 Feb 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We'd recommend placing the pan on a heat proof cutter or cooking ring when baking in the oven. This is shown on the demonstration video. We hope this helps you gain better results.

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2

Your basket is currently empty