You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Lakeland Sensor Scale
Lakeland Sensor Scale
2.5 stars out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 11 of 11

Wish I'd read the reviews before buying ...by Mrs Lancashire

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

These scales are very sleek and good looking and I was originally well pleased with my purchase. However ... I spent about three weeks thinking there was something wrong with these scales before visiting a Lakeland store in the south of England (without the purchased scales) and trying to get the staff there to discover why they don't weigh in pounds, only ounces. They were fairly mystified as well!! In addition, the display on mine is not the same degree of brightness throughout the numbers. Just a small part of it is brighter than the rest.

Published 15 Sep 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.We're sorry for the disappointment that the scales only measure in ounces and grams and not in lbs and kgs. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Frustrating Scalesby David

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

Very disappointing the unit switches off far too quickly and will not display under 10 grams

Published 15 Aug 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the scales don't meet your requirements and will be in touch shortly.

Not Brilliant!by ANDREW

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

These scales are far from what I expected! if you are trying to weigh some thing less than 10 grams you are out of luck! I make a lot of bread and trying to weigh 7 grams of yeast and 8 grams of salt is impossible. Its reads zero on the scale then you add salt, still says zero, add some more salt, still zero add still more salt and all of a sudden the scales jump from zero to 14 grams or even more. Try removing 6 grams of salt from your flour that's already in the bowl..impossible. So start with the salt in an empty bowl still does the same thing so basically I am guessing. Avoid at all costs

Published 26 Feb 2014

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product. Although these great scales weigh up to 10kg in 1 or 2g and 22lb in 0.04 or 0.07oz increments, they don't register any weight under 10g. We'll be in touch soon.

Great scales, but only reads in oz and gramsby

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

Bought these scales after researching others on the Internet, and looking at various ones in other stores. The platform is big enough to use a very large bowl without obscuring the display, something others don't do. Very clean, modern appearance, and the sensors on the sides mean there is nothing to get dirty. The only issue, pointed out by another reviewer, is that the imperial scale only reads in ounces, so you need to do some mental arithmetic to divide by 16 and get to pounds, and then subtract this multiple from the reading to get ounces, hence only 4 stars.

Published 06 Jan 2014

No good for a busy cookby Tessa Wells

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

The scales only starting at 10g renders trying to measure 7g of yeast or 10g of salt extremely difficult. Displaying only ounces and grams, rather than also pounds and kilos, is unsatisfactory. The mirrored finish is distracting as my face is reflected. But the display going off in the middle of adding something slowly - for instance, ensuring that raisins have no stalks - means I have abandoned these scales in favour of another brand. They might look good in the kitchen, but are no good for a busy cook. Truly disappointing.

Published 17 Dec 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the scales haven't been as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

These scales look and feel good but...by Caroline

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

Staff at the local store were very helpful showing the scales working. They seemed just what I was looking for, they look good, are solidly made, are a good size, have a clear display and use AAA batteries. However, slowly measuring ingredients and they turned themselves off which was irritating as it wasn't as if they had been left standing. The fact that they only weigh in ounces on the imperial setting is irritating too as it turns my quick operation of checking the weight of a joint of meat into a mental maths challenge. The beep is rather unnecessary too.

Published 07 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you've found the scales weren't suitable once you started using them at home. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

High pitched!by Joan

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

I love these scales and I would have given them 5 stars, but my dog has a real problem with the high-pitched beep they make. He slinks away trembling, and hides as far away from the kitchen as possible. Seriously, is there anyway to turn off this sound? It really upsets him. Thanks.

Published 01 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry your dog is finding the beep very uncomfortable. We're sorry to say the beep can't be turned down or off. We will be in touch shortly to help.

Very disappointingby Sally

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

I really like the size and operation of these scales, but they are no use to me. You cannot weight anything less than 10 grams, getting that 5 or 7 grams of yeast is impossible. Also, it does not use Kilo's just grams and no pounds just ounces. So sadley I have to take them back....

Published 08 Apr 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the scales haven't been as expected. When you return them our colleagues in store will be happy to help.

NEED TO BE ABLE TO DIVIDE BY 16!by Kevin

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

Bought these scales a few weeks ago to replace a set that had ceased to function. They are easy to use and have a large clear display. However they have one major flaw: they do not weigh in pounds or kilograms - only in ounces and grams. The latter is less of a problem but the lack of pounds is a serious drawback. Ability to divide ounces by 16 is therefore essential!

Published 05 Mar 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the scales haven't been as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Perfect for teaching my sons to bake!by Denise

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

Two of my sons have resisted all attempts to teach them to bake so far but they are currently fighting over who's going to use these first! Very easy to use,nice slimline design so takes up virtually no space in my kitchen. I work in pounds and ounces but my boys work in grams so its nice to be able to switch between the two so easily especially as some of my more modern cook books are all metric. Would make a lovely present for a techie cook/student.

Published 26 Feb 2013

Excellent scalesby Will Vousden

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Sensor Scale

So far very reliable. Accurate and consistent read-out that is precise to 1g increments, from 11g upwards. The LED display is large, bright, and clearly visible; the mirror finish looks lovely and is easy to clean; the touch buttons are responsive and easy to use. My only complaint is that the scales turn off automatically after 60 seconds and there doesn't seem to be any way to disable this "feature". Obviously turning the scale back on will tare it to whatever you've already added to it, so you can't return to the zero weight you had before it switch off.

Published 31 Jan 2013

Sorting options

Sort results